topic image

Whitney Houston

American singer and actress Website

Approval Rate: 77%

77%Approval ratio

Reviews 49

Sort by:
  • by

    domingoalbertou547

    Wed Aug 02 2023

    Whitney Elizabeth Houston was born on August 6, 1963 in Newark, a city located in the state of New Jersey. She was the daughter of the well-known soul singer Cissy Houston and John Russell Houston. When he was only 11 years old, he joined the children's choir of the church of his native Newark, New Hope Baptist Church. A spectacular voice that many of us miss, but his musical legacy remains among many.

  • by

    sooofine

    Mon Oct 04 2004

    Whitney has been my favorite since the first time I heard her sing. She has been often called as the Greatest Voice of all Time or the Voice. She may be having problems for the last couple of years but she is doing her best to deal with it. Let us give her the chance to start anew. We have to remember that she's not the only superstar who is suffering addictions..MAriah too used to be an alcoholic which really ruined her voice. Whitney is just one of those celebrities who was blinded by fame and fortune. She made a mistake and her career and personal life suffered and now, she's just been to rehabilitation to clear out of drugs. Like others, she deserves a second chance after all, she made a great contribution to the music industry. I was, am and always will be Whitney's fan. She may not have the vocals as she used to have but she can still belt it out and deliver. She is truly the Greatest.

  • by

    mihaapavl495

    Mon Jul 24 2023

    My favorrite song from her is "I have nothing" <3

  • by

    twansalem

    Fri Jan 02 2009

    Whitney definitely has (or at least had) an amazing voice, but I was never a fan of her music. And no matter what anyone says, no one ever sang "I Will Always Love You" better than Dolly Parton.

  • by

    ejerzeygirl

    Thu Jun 12 2008

    can't stand this crack whore but she is good a making pop hits

  • by

    exoticsarah

    Tue May 29 2007

    Whitney Houston once possessed the most beautiful female vocal of any popular music star on the planet. Due to her vocals, she received the most rewards and honors out of any female singer in the world. I find her voice brilliant and although, it has changed due to her drug addiction, she is managing to try and get her life back together. She was so effortless in her prime, however; even though she isn't effortless now, she possesses more soul and emotion, than she possessed in the prime stages of her life. Regardless of what the critics and theorists say, Whitney is a popular music legend. If I had to choose a favorite song, I couldn't because she has quite a few amazing songs that I love.

  • by

    bassman44113

    Tue Sep 19 2006

    Whitney is divorcing Bobby!!!! Its about time ! I gave her a 5 rating, believing that her life may now begin to get back on track, and once again become the great singer that we all know lives inside her! Best of luck Whitney, we're all rooting for you!

  • by

    survivorfan1

    Sun Jan 29 2006

    I used to really look up to and admire Whitney but I have lost all respect for her. The fact that she had an awesome voice and was one of the great pop superstars of the 80s and early 90s is now overshadowed by the fact that she is now a shell of her former self. She really let herself go after marrying Bobby Brown and is nothing more than a washed-up, coked out has been. 15 years ago she was singing the most famous and triumphant version of the National Anthem at the Super Bowl, today she is a punchline and is seen looking dishevled at an Atlanta gas station at 3 a.m.

  • by

    empress_scorpio

    Sun Jan 08 2006

    Whitney has always had a wonderful singing voice but she seemed to never be genuine until later in her career. When her songs made sense, I got the feeling that someone else wrote the song and passed it on to her. But when she finally started singing songs that seemed to mirror her personal life, it seemed sort of elementary. One good thing about adversity is that you can really grow and morph into the person you should be. If that happens to her then I believe she would be amazing. Here's to hoping for the future Whitney.

  • by

    miketou

    Thu Dec 15 2005

    I never really cared for Whitney Houston. I'll be the first to admit that she has one of the best voices in the business. However, there is a coldness and arrogance about her that I don't find too appealing. Technically, her music and delivery are superior, visually she's very attractive, but for some reason she just doesn't do it for me. I'll take Diana Ross anyday over Whitney. While Ross is by no means a vocal acrobat, I find her music and persona more interesting. She may be a diva/bitch, but's she's an interesting diva/bitch!

  • by

    inhumanmonster

    Sun Nov 27 2005

    Nice voice, great looks in her prime

  • by

    tylove86

    Tue Nov 01 2005

    The Queen!!!!

  • by

    kinjaro2002

    Sat Oct 29 2005

    Whitney is slowly but surely gaining back that healthy and fresh image as was indicated in her unannounced appearance at 2005 BET Anniversary Party. She is resilient and will bounce back and fully recapture her divas of all divas title as she did before in the past.

  • by

    torontosucks

    Wed Oct 26 2005

    Great voice. Very little heartfelt emotion in her music. It's just all so textbook.

  • by

    focuse24

    Sun Oct 23 2005

    Very sad. All that talent gone to waste.

  • by

    sirif2dc

    Sun Oct 09 2005

    Ugh!!!! What happened to this woman??????? She went from pure class to pure trash. The best to a mess. And her voice????? OMG! She is a walking advertisement for why people shouldn't do drugs. Crack is whack Whitney. Put the crack pipe down.

  • by

    rjy22751

    Wed Sep 28 2005

    This coke head can't sing and can't act either!

  • by

    chance

    Fri Jul 22 2005

    Well we all know of fallen Angels be it (singers, actors, actress, activists etc), but instead of critizing, why not pray for her and Bobby to find peace with themselves and any demons they may have in order to rid themselves of the drug abuse. None of us truly knows what haunts them and what its like to live their lives. What we do know is that she is talented and has contributed to the world musically. I don't condone their behavior, but I do have empathy, because of critical people who like to judge others. The bottom line is that they both need help! Lets not forget that people sometimes can't distinguish between love and abuse. You don't know their life history, stop spectulating and just pray for those two. I hope she can make a come back.

  • by

    sabasimba

    Mon Jun 20 2005

    Great voice and range.

  • by

    pac1494e

    Thu Apr 14 2005

    I think Whitney should do herself a favor and drop that bum of all time Bobby Brown. That version of Greatest Love with the piano in the background, is nice.

  • by

    x_factor_z

    Wed Apr 06 2005

    As a singer I always thought she was boring and unexciting, very dull. She is even a worse person. She probably would rather get stoned than work on her craft. A real diva's diva' in an AI time when the divas are fading fast. Very over regarded as a performer.

  • by

    37102002

    Sun Apr 03 2005

    One of the best voices in pop music history. Could have had Madonna or Michael jackson - like success except for the Beast, aka, Bobby Brown.

  • by

    semon330

    Sat Feb 26 2005

    dam she's da queen !

  • by

    skizero

    Tue Jan 25 2005

    drugged out ho-bag. would rather take a punch from Bobby Brown than try to save her career.

  • by

    juliet73

    Sun Jan 23 2005

    I think McGowan needs to go back to school because its obvious that she isnt familiar with the English language. Whitney Houston has (or had) a beautiful voice, but I dont know what's going on these days. She used to be great. Beautiful, really talented, everything.I cant believe that she threw it all away. Hopefully though, she can make a comeback.

  • by

    mcgowan

    Sun Dec 19 2004

    A BIG ZERO!!Her singing has always been insufferable ,her personality has always been screwy as soon as she became a big success , and her egomania wraps it all up in one big snotty ,ugly package . Anything but bright or smart , either ;when she recorded her straight-from-hell version of I will always love you , neither she ,nor any of her entourage,or producers, musicians,friends/hanger-ons ,knew that Dolly Parton originally wrote and recorded it TWENTY YEARS BEFORE!!!!And worse , when she heard of Dolly performing it , the stupid , egomanical bitch was actuall going to sue her , before someone finally informed ms. bitch of the facts!!!!!Dolly Parton should be allowed to kick her snotty , ignorant ass to a pulp!!She's always had more class and likeability under one of her finger nails,than Whiney ever has in her whole body , and ever will!!!!And like so many black stars ,has to have an entourage of at leats 50 bodyguard/THUGS/hanger-ons with her at all times, everywhere she goes,as w... Read more

  • by

    numbah16tdhaha

    Sun Dec 19 2004

    Haven't heard much lately with the exception of a sniffing sound and whatever Bobby keeps bouncing off her head. Sad.

  • by

    mariusqeldroma

    Sun Dec 19 2004

    A great talent wasted by drugs and her husband. Ditch Mr. Brown, get in rehab, and get that voice back I remember from the 90's.

  • by

    southparker9

    Thu Nov 11 2004

    A singer in which others should want to be measured by. Great vocal range. The drugs and hectic lifestyle only hurt was been a really good career.

  • by

    hevensgurl

    Fri Jul 23 2004

    Amazing singer but lay off the crack pipe already

  • by

    north_starr

    Wed May 12 2004

    sniff, sniff, sssssnnnnnniff. Do I have any on my nose?

  • by

    nickkicksass

    Mon Apr 26 2004

    Despite all of her troubles, nobody can deny her that amazing voice. Another of the best singers ever!

  • by

    mikey123

    Thu Apr 08 2004

    What happened? I used to love Whitney as a singer/performer...until she started acting like a fool and lost her voice. Every performance I have seen her do in the past couple of years pales in comparison to her previous work. She doesn't have that spark anymore and can't hit a high note to save her life. We all know she can get HIGH though...too bad it's with a pipe. Wasted talent if you ask me....

  • by

    coleslough

    Fri Apr 02 2004

    druggie

  • by

    handy16f

    Tue Mar 23 2004

    Great voice--what a waste of such talent. She used to be great--before marriage and drugs and abuse. She also was pretty nasty to Dolly Parton, refusing to allow Dolly to singer with her on a song that Parton wrote herself.

  • by

    orangecharlie

    Sat Dec 27 2003

    Probably one of the saddest out there in the business. I saw her live in 87 and she was exceptional and had such potential. Now she's a complete mess in a continuing downward spiral.

  • by

    kolby1973

    Tue Sep 16 2003

    She had one or two good hits in the 80's that I loved. But other than that, I can do without her. Sure her voice is nice, but she is just boring as all get out. Her open display of drug addiction is quite nasty too, can live without it. And anyone stupid enough to stay with that idiot Bobby Brown does not deserve my respect...time for a new career Ms Whitney !

  • by

    fhaskins

    Mon Sep 15 2003

    Can't nobody sing like Ms. Whitney!!

  • by

    afterglow70

    Sun Aug 10 2003

    She has lost it. Respect from her fans is gone. As long as she is married to her loser husband, it won't get better.

  • by

    sounddude

    Sun Jul 13 2003

    Such a sad thing to happen to someone who actually has real talent. One of the best voices of all time in pop music. But after marrying a total loser, ruining her life with drugs, she is a waste. Her craft is gone and her life will be too if she doesn't get help. It's so sad that she comes out of a home that was filled with Gospel music and hope, to end up ruined, drugged out and on her way out. Just a shame! But her talent, in it's day, can not be denied!

  • by

    joy228d8

    Wed Jun 11 2003

    I remember the first time I song in front of my family it was a Whitney Houston Tune. Know one's perfect and we all make some mistakes. I still love her and her voice is heaven sent.

  • by

    twinmom101

    Sat May 31 2003

    What a waste of a great voice. Just saw her and her washed-up husband make complete a$$es of themselves in Isreal recently. When asked to describe Israel, she said it was "Home. Just home" Did she even know where she was or was that just the cocaine talking?

  • by

    phanumatrassam_ee

    Tue Apr 22 2003

    A loser of the year! she has nothing interesting more than news about drugs.

  • by

    president_x_d

    Tue Apr 22 2003

    I can't believe that TV "interview special". They did nothing but apologize for this drug addict who WAS HIGH AS A KITE DURING THE INTERVIEW! this woman needs to work on her problems, not have a major TV network apologizing for her! Shame on ABC.

  • by

    jaugust

    Sat Apr 19 2003

    Whitney has one of the most beautiful voices! Some of her choices may have hurt her selling potential, but I am sure in time she will overcome her personal issues. What really matters is that she is a great singer that puts out great cd's.

  • by

    pat_trick

    Thu Mar 27 2003

    Clearly the most talented and gifted singer of all time and for the record the best selling female artist / vocal performer etc, etc, etc. So why is it that so many people talk about and criticize Miss Houston on matters other than her singing? As if the entire general public know's her so personally? Yet, no one can ever trash her beautiful voice and that is the only thing the public population has any real "exposure" or truth about her. Get a life and leave her alone all of you Glass house perfect morons. Like the entertainer or don't. No one forces you to listen or buy the music... put yourself in a celebrity's shoe's.. whether she wakes up on the left side of the bed, smoke's pot, buys a 14K diamond ring, what do you care? There are soo many people in the slums of our cities stealing/ drugging and read the newspaper.. spend half as much time on the real problems with evidence and back off of the "elite" gifted artists like Whitney Houston that only provide so much positive ... Read more

  • by

    sktmps

    Sat Mar 22 2003

    a model, actress, singer, producer wife & mother Truly one of the best in our and any other times even though she might be on drugs & other hangups should be out touring so her fans can show some love Major props for surviving the biz for almost 20yrs! 5 great songs at least

  • by

    brownin

    Tue Feb 11 2003

    Once a very talented and gifted singer.. but sadly because of the excessive use of drugs not too mention the mis-guidance of her no-good husband has lost her once beautiful voice and possiblly "herself".

  • by

    rcjacobs

    Thu Jan 30 2003

    On My Own, her new single coming up shows that the Whitney we know has not gone away. Her music to me, if you listen to the new songs tell very revealing stories we can all identify with. Just like My Love is Your Love, Just Whitney is just that: the voice of a generation....love that voice!