topic image

Vancouver, Canada

Major city in western Canada, located in the Lower Mainland region of British Columbia Website

Approval Rate: 83%

83%Approval ratio

Reviews 46

Sort by:
  • by

    kif17e07

    Sat Dec 26 2009

    The city is beautiful from certain viewpoints. But certainly not from Downtown East Hastings. Nicest people I have met here are from other parts of Canada. Pay rates here are a joke, I mean $8 an hour minimum wage. Im from Australia and have been here for 2 months. The bars are so boring, very anti - social. Hardly any places to head out for a drink. Food is really pretty second rate, at least compared to what Im used to back home. Coffee is deplorable here too. Perhaps its only because it's different to what I am used to, therefore people from other parts of the world may enjoy it more than other Aussies. But to be honest if you are from Australia I would suggest only staying for a couple of days unless you want to be bored s*** less.

  • by

    cannotwest

    Thu May 14 2009

    Vancouver is at first glance a beautiful city. It is surrounded by sweeping vistas and a dramatic skyline. The climate is moderate. Spend some time here and scratch the surface and it becomes far less attractive. It is a city that is divided politically, it is parochial, narrow minded and shallow. The people are characterless, flakey and disingenuous. Vancouver is the scam capital of N. America, a skill set for which the local population is particularly adept. The are times when I am certain that Vancouver is something straight out of Conrad's Heart of Darkness. It is a cold place. People in the same business do not interact of share information they do not network or help each other. There is an almost a Darwinian or Hobbesian social culture. Vancouver is a empty void. The criminal element is growing. The black economy is larger than most people realize. It is the only city in N America where you will find someone begging on just about every street corner in the downtown core. The c... Read more

  • by

    chalky

    Thu Oct 16 2008

    I'm taking my first trip to Vancouver this November.  From everything I've read, it's a 4.  I'm really looking forward to it.  I'll let you know how it goes.

  • by

    jimorama

    Mon Aug 18 2008

    Hongcouver. Some of the best meals of my life....

  • by

    cyqing

    Sat Nov 10 2007

    nice skyline, but not much to do...a little overrated. Definitely not as good as San Fran.

  • by

    redskii

    Wed Aug 15 2007

    I have never been to such a crime ridden city before.I stayed at a hostel on main street.Pot smokers drug addicts everywhere.But no one is high. No other city I have been to is so full of coldness, snobbery,suspicion, paranoia, ect.I have been to NYC, Los angeles,ect.It was a shock. I can not see how the USA could ever become like this.In three days I saw things I havent seen in a lifetime in the US.Gays and lesbians displaying their sexual vulgarity in parks and public areas as if loving to be watched. It was very sick.A surreal feeling of human degeneracy I had never seen before.. I was falsely accused of stealing a hat, and instead of the clerk asking to lookin my bag, he grabbed it and tore it open. I called out for the police and he ran. So Strange.The manager told me he would take care of it.But he did nothing as far as I could see. All in three days.Watch out for con artists also.They work the tourists.Don't go. If you do, have fun! But don't say I didn't warn you.

  • by

    martininsydney

    Fri Aug 10 2007

    I lived here for a year and loved every second of it. A city with stunning water views plus a backdrop of gorgeous snow-topped mountains. A vibrant restaurant culture with a wonderful Asian influence, exciting shopping streets, great parks, friendly and interesting people with open minds to the rest of the world. Panoramic viewpoints and winter ski-parks only 20 min from downtown. The only negative is the high proportion of rainy and overcast days ... compared with my home town of Sydney Australia, anyway.

  • by

    ajnm38a0

    Tue Mar 13 2007

    World Class city!!! I absolutely love Vancouver BC. Its like being in Europe without leaving the continent. Liberal, progressive, freindly, and clean. Again I'm a pacific Northwest guy so I have to give it up for Vancouver. Vancouver=Seattle=Portland

  • by

    narendar

    Wed Feb 14 2007

    Vancouver is a lovely looking city, however it's quite small and if your not into nightlife much or outdoor recreational type activities, then it can end up feeling a bit cold and empty. It's not the easiest place to make friends, as is with most sprawled out cities, but the majority of people are very friendly although I wish the two prominent cultures, Asian and Caucasion would mix a little more. The only real drawback to Vancouver if you decide to come and live here, is that it can be quite a challenge finding even the most mundane jobs as there is a large number of unemployed skilled people and not enough jobs. Story of the west coast I guess so be prepared to have a thick skin if you don't land a job straight away. Other highlights are the food and weather. Yes I said weather, despite what you hear about the constant rain, it's actually no worse than England's and at least it isn't glooomy here when it does rain. It's milder aswell in winter.

  • by

    jenn331

    Sat Dec 30 2006

    Somewhat overrated, how people find this city better than Toronto is beyond me. It's not world-class, but it's on the verge. Great scenery, but there's something missing...the nightlife can be dull at times.

  • by

    ahpook

    Fri Nov 17 2006

    I love this place. Don’t visit here until after the Olympics though. The traffic problems someone mentioned are only worse now because of the construction. Our city really needed this as a kick to improve our infrastructure. I’ve noticed over the past few years some great concerts come through here. Great night life though it ends early. All in all a clean place to live but we definitely need to get rid of the bums.

  • by

    drew_13

    Tue Mar 07 2006

    I think that for it's relative age and size, Vancouver is a great city that has lots going for it. It's truly a unique city for North America. It still has various issues it needs to deal with though such as becoming a cheaper city to live in, cleaning up the east side, improving transportation, building up its cultural amenities, and providing more available activities to both tourists and locals during the rainy seasons. However the positives still greatly outweigh the negatives and most of Vancouver's worst problems are slowly but surely being dealt with. The current cost of living is mostly high due to a temporary trend which will settle down not too long after the 2010 olympics. Two new rapid transit lines will be complete before 2010, bringing the total to 4 lines with the greatest length of any rapid rail system in Canada (even greater than Montreal's or Toronto's - excluding streetcars) and so should greatly help transportation in the region. Vancouver has a great mix of cultur... Read more

  • by

    vicsailgarden

    Wed Feb 15 2006

    I like Vancouver alot, but then I only go up there (from Seattle) about once every two years. All the negative things I see written here are probably true unfortunately. The shopping is good. The dining is OK to good (more expensive than Seattle, but quality the same or maybe slightly lower). So . . . why even bother. It is a pretty city and it does have that Euro feel that Seattle just doesn't have! Shopping is fun but expensive. We take the train up and party (lightly) all the way.

  • by

    irishturtle

    Tue Feb 14 2006

    I was surprised with how much I enjoyed Vancouver! What a beautiful city! Upon arrival from the USA I saw a huge differences between US cities and Canadian cities. Vancouver is a beautiful and clean city where people are bustling and running, giving it a true cosmopolitan feel. Diversity here is great, lots of asians, muslims, irish,etc. all living together and adding life to this city. The art scene here is thriving and self-publishing is bountiful here. The location is great! Beautiful parks, mountains, and waterfront location reminds me of San Francisco, but more lively. Like all cities there are social problems here, but the positive overweighs the bad. There is so much recreation here for kayaking and boating it is a water lovers dream. New condos are being built left and right to make way for a quick fad in real estate prices before the Olympics. There are also many independent businesses here which make it feel uniquely Vancouver, appears to be a great place to live if you have... Read more

  • by

    eric100

    Thu Nov 03 2005

    Fabulous scnery but very boring!

  • by

    turcois

    Wed Nov 02 2005

    I have been living there for 3 years (after having moved there from Germany). It is a city with 2 extreme faces. It can be gorgeous when the sun shines (due to its scenery and outdoor possibilities) and incredibly depressing in the rain. To me, one of the most overrated cities in the world. When it rains (which can last for up to 3 months non-stop!!!) it becomes obvious that this is a pure fair-weather city. When it rains there is simply not much to do compared to the many interesting cities in Europe or the U.S.. And as the rain is prevalent for most of the year, well, Vancouver is really just OK. Many many bums, and above all, aggressive bums, who don't just sit there but really molest passers-by or guests dining on a restaurant patio. And if you don't give, they often get aggressive. This is a huge problem all over the city. Huge drug problem, especially downtown eastside, but not only there. You basically smell stuff and see screwed up people all over the place. As someone a... Read more

  • by

    abichara

    Mon Sep 26 2005

    Vancouver has a great location. Situated on a bay surrounded by very green, high mountains, this city is very scenic. Very diverse as well; apparently it is one of the most fastest growing cities in North America. Last time I was there about 4 months ago, there were tons of new condo projects going up, many financed by money coming in from Asia. The climate is mild, but a bit too rainy, thus making the atmosphere there somewhat drab.

  • by

    russusa187

    Tue Sep 13 2005

    Love this city! Lots of things to do even when it does rain. And just like Hollywood always seeing stars all over the place. No wonder they call it Hollywood north. Great dining aswell. Reminds me alot of San Francisco. Two thumbs up.

  • by

    jen808

    Fri Jul 22 2005

    More negatives than positives in this city. I have been all around the world many times over and can definitely say that Vancouver needs some major upgrades to be considered Best city in the World by Conde Nast. Best? C'mon now. Why does the Canadian Government just basically let the East Side of Downtown Vancouver resemble all the filth of the World so many times over. Must be the French influence in Canada. Sure the Park is pretty nice and big, but did you ever notice the unreal traffic going over the poorly constructed traffic pattern through the Lions gate Bridge? Totally unreal again. Again, probably the French influence: THE DISGUSTINGLY AGGRESSIVE DRIVERS. Why are all the drivers such assholes here? Must be because they are Unhappy living in Vancouver.Go to Hawaii and witness the nicest drivers around. Yes, they may drive a little too slow there, but hey, at least they are nice and generally safe drivers. The streets in Vancouver are so small (narrow lanes) compared to normal ... Read more

  • by

    k_man414

    Fri Apr 08 2005

    I live on Vancouver Island and have visited Vancouver many times. What is great about Vancouver is that it has very mild weather compared to other Canadian cities. It is not too warm and not too cold. Although the constant rain can be a bit depressing.

  • by

    kateb233

    Mon Jan 17 2005

    It a really beautiful place to visit but living here is really expensive and it feels cut off from the rest of the country. The drivers are very aggresive so if you like to ride your bike or walk to get places please be careful because many drivers here don't have much respect for pedestrians. The constant rain is quite depressing after a while.

  • by

    dankrup

    Sat Nov 27 2004

    great place to ski.

  • by

    daccory

    Mon Oct 18 2004

    I thought this was the best city in Canada...bright lights, a buzz, beautiful views and great scenery. Felt more interesting than Toronto.

  • by

    pop_n_fresh51

    Thu Sep 02 2004

    What an awesome city! Screw Toronto, Vancouver is the world within a city!

  • by

    troy22

    Wed Jul 28 2004

    One of the most beautiful and exciting cities on the planet

  • by

    omarmorek

    Fri Jul 16 2004

    Vancouver is Awesome!

  • by

    pwright1

    Thu Jul 15 2004

    One of my favorite cities. Live in Seattle but drive to Vancouver often. By far the most cosmopolitan city in the pacific northwest and the most beautiful. Vibrant, clean, pedestrian friendly downtown with some of finest collection of stores in North America. Excellent restaurants, world renowed Vancouver International Jazz Festival is a must, absolute breathtaking natural beauty, great parks. By far my favorite city in the pacific northwest and one of my all time favorite.

  • by

    blanconino

    Fri Jul 09 2004

    Vancouver, along with Seattle, is one of my 2 favorite cities. It's never too warm or too cold. There are plenty of skyscrapers and buildings for you city goers, but theres also lots of parks for the nature lovers. You're right on the water, which is always good. Also, you are in the mountains at the same time. You can swim and hike in the same day! Or ski. Whistler mountain, the best ski resort in north america, is in Vancouver. There is also a great marina and a horbor perfect for sailing. And, to top it off, Vancouver has the widest selection of food and cuisine anywhere. So, no matter what you are into, i guarentee you will be into Vancouver!

  • by

    cmoc78

    Sat Jul 03 2004

    One of the most beautiful settings out of any city I've visited (granted I haven't been outside the continent) Stanley Park adjacent to the city is awesome...like Central Park on a bay with hills. The city center is vibrant and safe, and was filled with people at night. A true urban neighborhood. As for the nightlife, the bars were packed but there were lines EVERYWHERE. BC has a weird crowd control ordinance- it appeared that some people just wait in lines all night. Shopping isn't exactly world-class and the urban areas are actually a bit dirtier than I was expecting from a Canadian city (Portland is cleaner) but people are fun and friendly and very approachable. Would love to visit there again.

  • by

    calenc67

    Tue Jun 08 2004

    its so funny reading these comments. there all so different. some people say that its clean some say its dirty. some say the people are nice some nay. i think that shows how diverse this city is. i live here and i know this is the best city in the world. yes it is really dirty and there is alot of crime and your car will probably get stolen if you come here. so dont come here this city has enough people already. just kidding you can come here but your car will still probably get stolen. but you can choose from more pho restaurants than if you were in vietnam, and the girls are hotter than in your home town. and yup we are smug, but we cant help it , you would be smug to if you lived here. there are beutiful beaches caressing a huge bay linned with twinkiling lights of the city and mountainside houses. in the summer you can swim in the ocean and rivers. it never rains, and you can eat on the patios of some of the best restaurants in the world. in the winter it rains, but not as much as ... Read more

  • by

    enkidu

    Tue Feb 17 2004

    A delightful city in a location of singular beauty, with also probably the finest climate in Canada. Green year-round; parks everywhere; sublime wilderness areas within a short drive. There are some seedy areas, but what city has none? Last time I was in Vancouver I hated to leave.

  • by

    westcoast

    Sun Feb 01 2004

    Vancouver my hometown. Voted best city in the world twice.. a great city with unique flavour... and great beauty.. this city is the Beauty of Canada... Nestled by the Pacific Ocean and beautiful Mountains. Vancouver has been given a great repuation as one of the best in cities in the world. Largest shipping port on the Westcoast, of North America. A hustling business and a growing city at an alarming rate. Vancouver's population tops at 2 Million people. Expensive because of its beauty and nature and well worth the price. I love my city. see Vancouver at the 2010 Winter World Olympics and the World Junior Hockey Championship. Westsiiiiiiide!

  • by

    canadasucks

    Tue Dec 30 2003

    What on earth are people whining about? Vancouver's women alone warrant a three-star rating. . .

  • by

    kolby1973

    Fri Dec 26 2003

    Even though Vancouver is not as vibrant as Toronto, it is still a wonderful overall city. The fantastic and stunning beauty of Vancouver will make you forget about all the small annoyances the city has to offer. The people are downright polite and actually have pride in where they live and there is nothing wrong with that at all. If I lived in Canada, this would be my 2nd choice city to live in....

  • by

    johnathonb

    Thu Aug 28 2003

    lived and visited - I love this city!

  • by

    stanuzbeck

    Mon Aug 25 2003

    Gets a three out of five from me. The scenery is incredible, but Vancouver has one of the highest crime rates in the country, it's the most expensive city in the country, and the people are really annoyingly smug about everything from their city to their rampant veganism to their lax marijuana laws. Give it up, Vancouver, most people just aren't in love with your city the way you all are. There is a lot of poverty and drug addiction and filth in large sections of the city. It's like Rio in that way, except the people in Rio are much nicer.

  • by

    bluestar100

    Fri Aug 08 2003

    Vancouver sucks. It rains all the time. There is nothing to do. The people are boring.

  • by

    sugarbear

    Thu Jul 03 2003

    vancouver is a great tourist city as long as you stay for only a few days . ok the scenery is nice but It really sucks to live here though the people are polite ( very brithish like) but not very freindly. most are into solo activites outdoors it is extremely difficult to connect with others. city council controls everything and resttics the city from holding festivals, street parties. most main streets i town are dead after 6pm. extremely boring and ideal place for the newly wed or nearly dead. if you're looking for a city with energy like montreal , london, paris rome, new york , boston ... forget about it. I'm outta this prison

  • by

    observer

    Tue May 13 2003

    I lived in Vancouver for a while and found the people friendly and outgoing. The natural beauty of Vancouver is breathtaking, but I thought "Canada Place" was almost a carbon copy of the Sydney Opera House. Unfortunately, it rains in Vancouver for about 9 months of the year and the sky is often a dull grey with a steady drizzle (which seems to go on for months!) and you often can't see the beautiful mountains. Plan your holiday around the weather! If you get great weather during your holiday, you will experience all the beauty this city has to offer.

  • by

    poostyles

    Wed Apr 30 2003

    vancouver is the greatest city in the world. you can do anything that you want here. toronto licks nuts, and don't even get me started on windsor. too far west? good, i would want you to make the effort to venture out to my city and ugly it up.

  • by

    philadweller

    Tue Apr 01 2003

    The most overrated city in NA. One of the ugliest cities I've ever laid eyes on. The architecture is hideous at best. If you dont believe me check out my photos. http://www.pbase.com/dolf/vancouver It is in a beautiful setting despite the crappy buildings.

  • by

    knowltz

    Wed Dec 25 2002

    Vancouver sucks, its too far west, and away from everything.

  • by

    golgo_thirteen

    Thu Nov 21 2002

    It is a strikingly beautiful setting for a city. Probably the most beautiful in North America. Try taking a trip up into the mountians to see some true natural beauty. I really enjoyed my stay there, not to mention that the food was excellent.

  • by

    ilovevancouver

    Sat Oct 12 2002

    Van City is the bomb!

  • by

    milehijp

    Mon Jun 18 2001

    I love Vancouver. I fell in love with it the first time I visited. It one of the most beautiful big cities in North America in my opinion. It's very clean and has such a progressive spirit to it.

  • by

    sharkie

    Fri Jun 08 2001

    Beautiful city! lots of outdoor activicties and attractions. Luv Gastown!