topic image

Tropic Thunder

2008 satirical action comedy film directed by Ben Stiller, who wrote the screenplay with Justin Theroux and Etan Cohen Website

Approval Rate: 100%

100%Approval ratio

Reviews 14

Sort by:
  • by

    michaelhamel

    Tue Jun 30 2009

    This movie was so freakin halarious. If Robert Downey Jr. was the only actor in the film it would still be great. I love the idea of an actor getting stuck in character or in a certain state of mind.... Robert Downey said something like, "After I played Lance Armstrong they found me in an alley trying to re-renter the Earth's atmosphere in a cardboard box." And Ben Stiller, "I have a home now, and a child." I didn't see the Director's Cut, but I highly recommend the actual release.

  • by

    one_linefilmreview_s

    Sat Jun 27 2009

    The Bottom Line: Not all of the humor in Tropic Thunder works (obviously this applies to basically every comedy, but the "Simple Jack" stuff falls embarrasingly flat) but the characters are interesting and likable, there are a bunch of belly laughs to be had, and the film is enjoyable enough to be worth recommending even if it's not the end-all be-all of comedy.

  • by

    ohdopeyme

    Sat Jun 27 2009

    I did not think I would be surprised by the twists. I was thankful for these as they covered up my disappointments in where the script really dragged on painfully slow. It was good enough to make me laugh, and say more then once, "No way! They did not just do that!"

  • by

    costaricakim

    Wed Jun 24 2009

    This movie is so funny, it is a must if you love Ben Stiller and Jack Black- and the characters that Tom Cruise and Robert Downy Jr. play are totally unrecognizable from the actors. Amazing. The movie is raunchy in parts, but really great.

  • by

    musik48

    Mon Jun 22 2009

    This is a brilliant, hilarious satire/commentary on the Vietnam-era war movie genre and on the movie business in general. See it. Great cast!

  • by

    twansalem

    Fri Apr 10 2009

    Tropic Thunder was a crazy comedy, but it worked. Robert Downey, Jr. might have been the funniest of all, with his over the top attempt to play a black man. " I know what dude I am. I'm the dude playin' the dude, disguised as another dude!" is probably my favorite line from the movie. As much as I dislike Tom Cruise, I'll give him credit for his part in this one. It was well over halfway through before Mrs. Twan and I realized that Grossman was played by Cruise.

  • by

    shawn_mcguire

    Sun Apr 05 2009

    Another one of those movies I just love. Come on Jack Black, Robert Downey Jr., Ben stiller you can't go wrong.

  • by

    edt4226d

    Mon Jan 26 2009

    I wasn't necessarily as enthusiastic as Magellan or Irishgit were about this film, or the gay janitor at work who nearly begged me to see it, as it was "the funniest thing I've ever seen." Perhaps my expectations were too high as a result of the intense recommendations. Don't misunderstand me, though-- I laughed throughout. If a drama is judged on how it stirs up emotion, if a horror movie is judged on how scared we become or how "thrilled" we are after viewing it, if an erotic movie is judged on how "aroused" we become, and a comedy is judged on whether or not we laughed...ok, "Tropic Thunder" worked, because I laughed...pretty constantly, in fact. It's hard to put my finger on why I'm not according the film 5 stars instead of 4. I've always had mixed feelings regarding Ben Stiller. At times, I think his talent borders on genius; at other times, his "comedic" sensibility leaves me cold. I have to say that I find humor that pokes fun at "retards" disturbing-- I understand that Stiller ... Read more

  • by

    magellan

    Sun Dec 28 2008

    Fall down funny.  Unbelievable performances from Robert Downey Jr as a Russell Crowe character playing a black sargent ("i'm the dude playing the dude playing another dude"). and Tom Cruise as the ruthless Hollywood producer - his "you don't know me like that" dance at the end almost killed me.  Ben Stiller playing Simple Jack for an audience of heroin smgglers, over and over was pretty damn funny as well.  One of the funniest movies I have ever seen.

  • by

    irishgit

    Wed Nov 26 2008

    Utterly politically incorrect and utterly piss your pants hilarious.  Didn't see it in the theatre, but just rented it and laughed uproariously throughout.  Fine acting all around, great parodies, fine script, and some utterly offensive annd absolutely gutsplitting comedy.

  • by

    canadasucks

    Mon Nov 17 2008

    I didn't think Hollywood had the guts to make politically incorrect films like this anymore.  Love Cruise's offensive cameo of Harvey Weinstein/vicious Hollywood producer that you will never forget.

  • by

    frankswildyear_s

    Mon Nov 17 2008

    This movie did two things, it made me laugh out loud and it made me reconsider my assessment of Tom Cruise as an actor.  It's been a while since I saw a movie that did either off those things.

  • by

    astromike

    Thu Sep 25 2008

    It had a few funny moments,  but it was a lil too off the wall for me.  Especially Jack Black's role.

  • by

    lena7358

    Mon Aug 18 2008

    So, I should preface this review by saying, this film is NOT for the easily offended. The humor is fantastically low-brow, but that will likely polarize the audience (and I think it already has). However, it is a must-see for anyone who has seen a lot of war films or who can appreciate a satirical view of Hollywood. Going into the film, I was expecting it to be sort of slap-stick comedy, but it really only goes there a few times (with serious gross factors too, I might add :D yay!). The references to other films like Saving Private Ryan and Apocalypse Now are quite on point, and the criticism of the industry in general adds depth to the film. You have to give some credit to a film with the self-deprecative power to both mock product placement while using it throughout the film. Additionally, this is probably the greatest role Tom Cruise has ever played because he finally escapes the realm of taking himself so seriously that it comes across as annoying. Robert Downey Jr. steals the s... Read more