topic image

Trading Places

D Herschel Weingrod Website

Approval Rate: 85%

85%Approval ratio

Reviews 31

Sort by:
  • by

    rjohnson71

    Tue Sep 22 2009

    This is an awesome movie. It showed Jamie Lee Curtis topless. People liked that. The Duke brothers experiments with two people's lives (Dan Aykroyd and Eddie Murphy.) They disgrace Louis, the man who runs the Duke's company. They frame him by putting PCP on him. They then hire Billy Ray who is a con man to run the company. Later Billy Ray learns that he's going to lose his new job so he and Louis team up to get revenge. The Dukes are planning to make a fortune by getting the crop report early. But after nearly getting shot by Clarence Beeks, they get the crop report and give a fake crop report to the Dukes. The fake crop report bankrupts the Dukes. It was funny when Randolph Duke collapses after being ruined. They tell Mortimer that his brother needs help but Mortimer says "Fuck him!" That was funny. It was also funny when Beeks was molested by a gorilla. This was a very good movie. I give it a 5 star rating.

  • by

    craigconnell

    Sat Jun 06 2009

    I was pleasantly surprissed how good this looked on Blu-Ray. Sometimes the "older" movies don't measure up, but this looks sharp and is impressive. The story is still very entertaining, even if it has the stereotypical characters Hollywood likes to present, such as (1) the hooker who is beautiful and has a kind loving heart; (2) the black guy who, despite no training, all of a sudden is smarter than all the white guys in the financial world; (3) all rich people are snooty while the lower class are nice and good-hearted and, (4) several cheap shots at Christianity. Despite all the baloney above, this was an extremely entertaining and funny movie, start to finish. All the actors in here are fun to watch and there are a number of laugh-out-loud scenes. Of course, with Eddie Murphy and Dan Aykroyd, that's not surprising. Murphy gets the bulk of the laughs. It's really his movie. For the guys, however, Jamie Lee Curtis is one to remember here.

  • by

    1trucker

    Tue Apr 28 2009

    What's to say? Trading Places in Blu-Ray high def.....it just don't get any better than this!

  • by

    tcoleman60757

    Sun Apr 12 2009

    forget the stupid and insipid works of this decade or much of the '90s. This along with 'Animal House' and its elk still stand as comic gold to this day. I'll find it somewhat impossible to find that anything now will hold a candle to what has come out from the past. Than again, the Black & White 'His girl Friday' is truly a classic that still has the side splitting gold to hurt me every time I watch it!

  • by

    galina36500

    Sun Mar 22 2009

    Whatever happened to John Landis, the man who is responsible for such gems as Animal House (1978), The Blues Brothers (1980), An American Werewolf in London (1981), Thriller (1983), Coming to America (1988)? He is desperately needed now when the situation with the comedies in Hollywood could be described as tragically horrible or horrifyingly tragic. Now when I think of it, even his less successful Spies Like Us (1985) and Three Amigos! (1986) were very funny and enjoyable. Landis has also directed nine episodes of the cult TV show, the first Sex and City, Dream On, and believe me, Dream On was fabulous. Of all mentioned films, Trading Places is one of the best, at least for me. I can't count how many times I've seen this funny and clever comedy. Trading Places tells the story of two men who were far from each other in any possible way as yes and no - one Harvard graduate, a successful snobbish commodity broker, the financial wizard with bright future in front of him, and great present... Read more

  • by

    chalky

    Thu Feb 12 2009

    For some weird reason my favorite part of this movie is where Aykroyd's character is in jail, and the guy played by James Eckhouse says: 'let's go Winthorpe.'

  • by

    scottmichaels

    Sun Feb 08 2009

    Interesting to note that the producer is mentioned not even once in the extras. Perhaps because of his activism in his last years ?

  • by

    spike65

    Sun Feb 01 2009

    One of the rare Eddie Murphy vehicles in which he was pretty good. Once he became a big success in films he rarely ever chose a good or funny film role again. Too bad he had great potential both as a comedian and an actor. Worth a rental.

  • by

    lisa465

    Thu Jul 03 2008

    Great actors!!! Very funny!!

  • by

    serpentsmasher

    Mon Sep 24 2007

    dan akroyd isn't terribly funny, except maybe in ghostbusters

  • by

    canadasucks

    Wed Aug 01 2007

    Kudos to the person who put this on the list- one of the best comedies of the 80's. . .when the guy finds out the bet was only for a dollar the look on his face is priceless. . .

  • by

    loerke

    Sun Mar 04 2007

    A fairy tale which makes you think (like most fairy tales). Definitely a reflection of Reagan's '80s, but timeless, too. The scene midway through the movie in which Dan Ackroyd's character "wakes up" from his nightmare, only to see Eddie Murphy's face, is a classic. Murphy really hit his stride with this film. He has a lot of good ad libs, like, "When I was growing up, if we wanted a Jacuzzi, we had to fart in the tub." Other SNL actors ably fill out memorable roles. Al Franken has a small part as a doped-out baggage handler in the train sequence.

  • by

    megmeg

    Tue Oct 18 2005

    In my opinion, this is the funniest film I have ever seen, it is intelligent humour with some unexpected twists to keep you laughing the whole way through. I would definitely recommend this film to all.

  • by

    trebon1038

    Mon Oct 10 2005

    A funny movie that will go down in the classic department. Everytime I see it I still laugh and I love movies that friendships develope in the strangest places!

  • by

    james76255

    Sun Jun 12 2005

    The movie has held up fairly well over time. A great cast that stretches over generations, from the young Eddie Murphy to the Don Ameche. Also one of those movies that is fun to watch for the bit parts and cameos, with Al Franken, Tom Davis, and Jim Belushi all jumping in along the way. A great look at the World Trade Center long before it's destruction near the end of the movie as well.

  • by

    kattwoman

    Sun May 15 2005

    it was a good movie and it had some funny parts but not the of neither eddie murphys movies or dan ackroyds

  • by

    mr_evangel

    Fri Oct 08 2004

    stupid

  • by

    indio70

    Wed Apr 28 2004

    Eddie Murphy and Dan A. are great contrasting characters, representing the haves and have nots in the eighties in a very comical view.

  • by

    irishgit

    Wed Dec 24 2003

    Generally pretty good, largely because Murphy and Ackroyd are kept in check and prevented from going way over the top as is their habit. The closing sequence in the trading pits is very good.

  • by

    ponerse

    Mon Jun 02 2003

    Always a pleasure to watch Trading Places. Most all of Eddie Murphy's early movies were great, and this is no exception.

  • by

    redoedo

    Sat May 24 2003

    A classic comedy with a great cast. Eddie Murphy at his best!

  • by

    philc01b

    Sat Apr 12 2003

    This was a very funny movie - and thought provoking too.

  • by

    callmetootie

    Fri Apr 13 2001

    Trading Places is an extremly funny movie. Dan Akroyd is a rich, wealthy man who trades places with a poor con artist, played by Eddie Murphy.

  • by

    notebbert

    Thu Mar 15 2001

    Very creative movie; original. Jamie Lee Curtis' topless shot didn't hurt, either!

  • by

    ebrain1

    Tue Feb 20 2001

    Fantastic Movie- Good story, script, acting and very humorous... .....

  • by

    mwilson

    Fri Oct 20 2000

    This movie was great. It gave you the chance to see how people on different sides can come together.

  • by

    cynchic36

    Tue Oct 10 2000

    About a bum that was taken off the street and put in the place of a rich guy, and could see anybody could do anything.

  • by

    wiggum

    Tue May 16 2000

    Possibly the best movie Eddie Murphy ever made. Who wouldn't want to hang out with Billy Ray Valentine? "Whisky... All you want!"

  • by

    jen_now

    Tue Apr 25 2000

    I thought this was an awsome movie.

  • by

    munson

    Thu Mar 02 2000

    Classic Eddie Murphy. Looking good, Billy Ray...Feeling good, Louis.

  • by

    kyll3705et

    Mon Feb 28 2000

    Eddie Murphy and Dan Akroyd at their absolute best..Jamie lee looks incredible, and is quite sweet as the "hooker turned girlfriend". This movie belongs on every list or classic comedies. Still makes me laugh today!