topic image

Terminator 2: Judgment Day

1991 American science-fiction action film directed by James Cameron, who co-wrote the script with William Wisher Website

Approval Rate: 94%

94%Approval ratio

Reviews 49

Sort by:
  • by

    chineseguy

    Thu Feb 24 2011

    Now the fact that they have explained Sarah Connor's future and who her son will be, back in the first movie, looks like the summary of the film was sort of a 'TURNING A NEW LEAF' way, making the Terminator who was supposed to assassinate her , turns to a good guy, then John Connor appears, and then a new cyborg appears that was sent by Skynet comes to kill them both. Though the ending is quite sad, but then some people say that out of the entire Terminator Quadruology (via Tetraology) , the second one was the best, though you can compare it to 'Terminator Salvation', I think this version is probably recommended for entertainment purposes frequently, rather than focusing on the main validity of the film.

  • by

    venacava

    Tue Aug 17 2010

    Nailed it!

  • by

    thatoneperson

    Thu Dec 31 2009

    not as good as the first or third but still good

  • by

    fb1473765476

    Fri Sep 26 2008

    "Sayonara, baby"!

  • by

    jennifer

    Tue Jul 22 2008

    Fucking awesome movie!!! Maybe his best....

  • by

    haji849

    Tue Jul 22 2008

    I love the teminator movies they're awsome and I think the only person that could paly the terminator is Arnold.

  • by

    trebon1038

    Sat Jul 19 2008

    I thought it was pretty good. I liked seeing Arnold come back as the good guy this time.

  • by

    lmorovan

    Thu Jun 26 2008

    Judgment day was a logical necessary continuation of the Terminator, since many loose ends were left open and the story was incomplete. As good as the first, and in some instances, even better, it didn't look to me like the kind of sequel done just to squeeze more money from the viewers of the first movie. It was a logical, necessary continuation and extremely well don and acted. Of course, the theme of time travel, left it open for another sequel, which was mediocre, but the seed of potentially more episodes is there. Terminator Salvation:  The Future Begins is the next delivery, scheduled to come out in May, 2009.

  • by

    spike65

    Tue May 06 2008

    Best of the series. Don't know how you would do a better sci-fi action film than this. Arnold at his peak.

  • by

    asereuhbergerg

    Fri Nov 17 2006

    dönertier of sraarr

  • by

    cherokeebetty

    Wed Sep 13 2006

    I liked it as much as the first one. That is rare in a sequel.

  • by

    jeremy00081

    Wed Sep 13 2006

    This is one of the best movies ever made, and it may be the best sequel of all time. Action-packed, thought-provoking, energetic powerhouse of a film. Gotta love it.

  • by

    edt4226d

    Thu Feb 09 2006

    Like most sequels these days, this was just an expanded version of the first designed to make still more money, but unlike most sequels these days, I actually enjoyed this one and had a good time, and what more can you truly ask from a movie coming out of Hollywood these days (certainly nothing challenging or progressive)? Computer generated special effects don't impress me at all as a general rule, but they work well here. Hard to tell if Robert Patrick is really a good actor, but he certainly succeeds in projecting icy, determined menace and Schwarzenegger, while not as sexy as Kristanna Loken in the 3rd version, excells in playing the role he was born to play as surely as Frank Sinatra was born to play the role of Angelo Maggio in "From Here To Eternity"--namely, an emotionless, freakishly muscle-bound robot. I enjoyed this film so much that I didn't even mind the heavy dose of schmaltz at the very end. Good job...

  • by

    genghisthehun

    Sat Nov 19 2005

    This is a worthy successor to "Terminator." I am always a sucker for the story-line of defeating the previously unstoppable force, and the underdog coming out on top. Both are in this flick, and they work! The liquid metal terminator is really clever, and the specials are, well really special!

  • by

    jtm6d308

    Sat Nov 19 2005

    If nobody knew anything about movies and entertainment and all of a sudden Hollywood came out with the 9, 10, 11 thousand movies that have ever been made all at once, and I could see a preview of what all the movies were about, with every movie hitting the big screen at this very time with ticket prices at $50 or higher, Terminator 2 is the very first movie I'd go and see, because it would have the most stimulating appeal upon the way I think of entertainment. Dramatized action scenes, sheer adrenaline and sustained momentum all throughout the movie. A sci-fi storyline in a real world setting. Brilliantly pieced together. A genuine masterpiece. To say it's not my favorite movie would be like saying the sun's surface is kind of warm.

  • by

    iamopinionated

    Thu May 26 2005

    This is my favorite of the three. It's clearly better than the third, and I liked it a whole lot more than the first. It's got enough action to satisfy just about anyone, and all of the action is reasonable in my opinion. Plus there are more than three characters that play an important role. I think it's a well-made thriller.

  • by

    37102002

    Wed Apr 13 2005

    ehh the new terminator streched the realm of the believable in all his comebacks from being blown to 1000 bits.

  • by

    jontheman

    Fri Apr 08 2005

    Watching Arnie expend a seemingly endless supply of ammo fending off the virtually indestructible T-1000, inevitably blowing up many vehicles in the process, is supremely enjoyable. Oh, and the rest of the movie ain't bad either.

  • by

    rater1006

    Thu Mar 31 2005

    Best film of the trilogy. This has a great story. Although unoriginal now it has the greatest twist of all the films - Arnold is the good guy.

  • by

    maomania

    Sun Feb 27 2005

    By far the best Terminator. Well written and great special effects. Arnold Schwarzenegger in his prime.

  • by

    gentle_jude

    Wed Feb 16 2005

    In terms of action, movie quality and the story line, I would give this a 5 (great). Terminator 2 has far more action then Terminator, and the T2000 is an amazing android. I used to love watching this movie and used to get a power fix watching this movie, especially when I felt that the girls in my high school didn't like me. I would imagine my self as the T2000 impressing the girls and beating up the bullies. BUT now that my morality has grown and I am an older Christian, the morality of this movie puts me right off. It is violent, depressing and sent out a very disturbing, unGodly signal to me as an impressionable teenager, that violence and physical strength was true power and the answer to my problems. That is far from the truth and the teaching of Jesus. In reality, we should be loving our enemies, trusting in God and turning the other cheek. I liked the ending to that movie, when the T2000 pretty well beat up the Terminator, but the Terminator gathered the last bit of his... Read more

  • by

    truthordare

    Fri Aug 27 2004

    My favorite of the Trilogy. Ah-nold transformed the role from that of an uncaring machine into a machine with a soul. Rise of the Machines was good, but predictable.

  • by

    wargamefan93

    Mon Aug 16 2004

    I like the sequel, really entertaining and has a lot of action, good characters

  • by

    finfrosk

    Sun Aug 01 2004

    Ooh, what can I say? It is the best movie ever, hands down. It is so INCREDIBLY goooood! Love it! Out of 5 stars, it's a 1000!

  • by

    deshaddow

    Sun Jul 25 2004

    When I first saw this movie in the theater, I was shocked and amazed by the special effects. The direction was pretty good, however the writing was okay. I couldn't have done it better, though.

  • by

    ansgard

    Fri Jul 09 2004

    The best of the trilogy for sure ! Really well made...Schwartzy is always cool

  • by

    conhusk

    Fri Apr 16 2004

    I'LL BE BACK and it gets boring and boring, though it's pretty classic because of the classic arnold in uniform, at least I like the GNR soundtrack of it. watching it once would be enough.

  • by

    profchaos

    Wed Mar 17 2004

    I love this movie. One of the best action movies ever.

  • by

    irishgit

    Thu Dec 18 2003

    Not the equal of the first, but very strong. The series should have stopped with this one.

  • by

    tvtator

    Sat Nov 15 2003

    Awesome special effects, terrific storyline and Robert Patrick makes the film as the T2.

  • by

    deathrattle

    Tue Oct 28 2003

    One of a few sequels that one could say was better than the first one. Definitelt among the top 25 best action movies of all time. This movie has it all, great plot, action, special effects, acting, etc. There is never a dull moment in T2.

  • by

    monstercheese

    Sat Sep 13 2003

    1 uv my favorite muvies uv all time great graphics and sound ive watched it over a hundred times i own both muvies but this 1 is much better than the 1st an i plan on ownin the 3rd 2 my collection if u havent seen it c it right now terminator rules

  • by

    shebacaf

    Fri Jul 25 2003

    This movie rocked and raised the bar for action and special effects. Not only that, but it was actually better than the first one. Linda Hamilton was a bad ass, and it is nice to see her character evolve to an independant woman from a damsel in distress. Good twist on Ahhhhhnold character. Also, show's that a bad guy (Robert Patrick) doesn't have to be 6 feet tall and muscle bound to be strong, effective and intimidating.

  • by

    forgotten_hero

    Thu Jul 17 2003

    I would have never thought that it was possible for a movie to make you have such strong feelings of compassion for a machine. The special effects were terrific, even by today's standards. The acting was just as great. This movie stands the test of time. One of the few sequels that is better than the original.

  • by

    william_nabaza

    Tue Jul 01 2003

    im saving the 5 star for terminator 3, the best movie i've watched that's better than the original, the liquid metal makes it more exciting as his enemy outwitted him just because of this metal, Arnold did his best to melt him for that's the end of the liquid metal man, comes the liquid metal woman in part 3.. stay tuned! how about a liquid metal family versus a family of terminators...

  • by

    redoedo

    Sun Mar 02 2003

    Terminator 2 was one of the only few movies that was actually better than the original. This movie had it all- great acting, great directing, awesome special effects and great music. Terminator 2 redefined the movie industry with its special effects. Robert Patrick's portrayal of the evil T-1000 was excellent, and I was very happy to see the "Terminator" as a good guy rather than a bad guy. The film itself causes you to have an emotional connection to the machine, which makes the ending all the more depressing. A great movie- a classic!

  • by

    oreo_man

    Wed Jan 22 2003

    As good as it gets. This sequel to one of the best movies ever is just as good.

  • by

    lukskywlkr

    Thu Nov 28 2002

    Unreal special effects, especially the new liquid Terminator played by Robert Patrick. My favorite scene has got to be the "milk carton" scene. Anybody who has seen it will know what I'm talking about.

  • by

    jase7d39

    Wed Nov 27 2002

    A comercialised sell out kiddie film. Great effects.

  • by

    callmetootie

    Sat Apr 14 2001

    The Terminator 2: Judgement Day reunited Linda Hamilton and Arnold Scwartzenegger, in the same roles, only this time Arnold plays a good cyborg who is after the bad one. The movie is no different then the original really.

  • by

    olrac047

    Mon Jan 15 2001

    This movie is great. I think it was even better than the first movie. It's just full of action. Plus, Arnold Schwartzenegger plays a better good guy than a bad guy. Once again, the special effects stood out, especially when the T-1000 changes into different people.

  • by

    smiley

    Tue Jan 09 2001

    This movie rocked, it was even better than the first Terminator, and sequels never do as good or are as good as the first. The visual effects were awesome. I can't wait for Terminator III, as I heard it's in the making and I hope it's even better.

  • by

    timmy3ad

    Sun Dec 17 2000

    Brilliant sequel, for once a follow up film that doesn't leave you wishing they hadn't bothered. As you would expect from Cameron it's edge-of-your-seat stuff pretty much all the way. The casting is spot-on, except Edward Furlong can be a bit too squeaky & annoying at times, but it's not that bad. Arnie is in his element playing the android that has to adjust to his role as protector rather than nemesis, and the interplay between the T-100 & his ward is often amusing. Robert Patrick is frighteningly good as the psycotic T-1000 & the special effects are pretty awesome, even more so when you consider this film is nearly a decade old, although everyone seems to forget that you first see this effect in 'The Abyss' (another Cameron movie).

  • by

    paradizer21

    Tue Dec 12 2000

    This movie is old, but it's also one of my favorite movies. I like the way they made those robots destroy everything with no mercy. I wish they had a Terminator 3 though.

  • by

    prez6721

    Sun Dec 10 2000

    Terminator 2: Judgement Day is a cool movie. It is one of the earliest movies to employ truly great special effects, especially the T-1000 liquid metal Terminator. Lots of blood and killing and stuff. Hopefully my PC won't become super intelligent and try to kill me.

  • by

    agent05

    Sun Dec 10 2000

    This is a great movie. There is a cool plot and it had great looking SFX for its time and set a beginning to the standard that is continually rising in SFX today. Very good movie. See it, if you haven't.

  • by

    lukeb21d

    Fri Dec 08 2000

    I think if you see this and Cameron as great BECAUSE they introduced Edward Furlong is plain ridiculous and sad. T2:Judgement Day should be respected (especially the Ultimate Edition DVD) for visual effects galore. They revolutionized the industry more than you people realize!! Think back to movies of old, including the '70s flicks (Star Wars, Aliens) and looks at those effects compared to the T-1000's medamorphesis to a man in a cop uniform. Then, you have to look at the fact that The Matrix effects were somewhat made the same. But, those aren't the only great things I admired about T2, it was every little joke made by Arnold, George Thoroughgood's "Bad to the Bone" which is like the best song attachment to any movie, and the way Cameron causes to emotionally attach and love the terminator, the end was enough to make every break down crying. Good acting, unrateable visual effects--they're that good! Definitely buy the Ultimate Edition DVD of this sci-fi masterpiece.

  • by

    nassty

    Wed Nov 22 2000

    This is my one of my all time favorite movies. James Cameron is the best SciFi/action director of all time. One liners galore. He introduced Edward Furlong.

  • by

    49er_fan

    Tue Nov 21 2000

    This movie is one of the greatest sequels over made. It has awesome special effects and an intriguing plot that twists and turns. It is a non-stop thrill ride from start to finish.