topic image

Team America: World Police

2004 adult puppet comedy film directed by Trey Parker from a screenplay co-written with Matt Stone and Pam Brady Website

Approval Rate: 57%

57%Approval ratio

Reviews 26

Sort by:
  • by

    abichara

    Fri Oct 21 2011

    "America, Fuck Yeah!" That seems to be what our foreign policy boils down to nowadays. Whatever else is true, it's striking how most government sanctioned national celebrations and collective pride rituals now involve dancing around the corpses of people like Gaddafi. Not even Trey Parker and Matt Stone could satirize this to its fullest extent.

  • by

    medgarevers

    Wed Nov 11 2009

    A bit dark

  • by

    robertihedges

    Mon May 18 2009

    "Team America World Police" is a political satire from Trey Parker and Matt Stone about their perceptions of America's role as the world's policeman. Made with "Thunderbirds" style marionettes, the plot springs from the destruction of much of Paris while pursuing terrorists, where an elite U.S. counter-terrorism group loses a member; the replacement turns out to be an actor with a boatload of emotional baggage. Before long North Korean crackpot Kim Jong-il plots world destruction with the help of the Film Actors Guild, lead by Alec Baldwin. An assortment of leftist actors sympathizes with Kim and believes everything to be America's fault. Satire can be the best indicator of reality; certainly this is one of those times as the film satirizes the arrogance, naïve, and simplistic attitudes so prevalent in the chic Hollywood political activist circuit. The film is somewhat libertarian in attitude, as it mocks elements from all political factions from Derkaderkastan to Hollywood. By far ... Read more

  • by

    shawn_mcguire

    Sun Apr 05 2009

    Not everyone can get into this movie but I think it is excellent, this movie is actually really deep

  • by

    bri719

    Thu Mar 26 2009

    Team America, F*** YEAH!, is about all you need to know from this movie. it's puppets people. puppets!! that said, I find it hilarious, and need to break it out on DVD from time to time. this is a one of a kind movie in so many ways, that will never be done again. the music and songs from South Park the movie (Bigger, Longer, and Uncut) are probably a tad better, but overall this is a good flick that attacks things from all sides. Indubitably. Matt Damon.

  • by

    davideroof

    Sat Mar 07 2009

    The creators of Southpark really showed their stars this time. It doesn't matter what side of the political isle you're from, there is humor for everyone here because this movie makes fun of everyone and everything. No one is lesft unscathed. It will truely open your eyes to how riduculous we all look when we get too political. If you like gross perverted humor, you're going to love this movie.

  • by

    pumpkinman6392_1

    Sun Mar 01 2009

    This is a very funny movie from the creators of South Park! I love all the jokes about the F.A.G. actors, the terrorists, the song about AIDS, the puppet sex, and much more! It's a fun movie to watch. The leader of Team America named Spottswoode hires a brilliant stage actor named Gary Johnston to help them retrieve information about WMDs. Gary and Lisa fall in love, but Sarah is mad about that. Soon, the whole team is taken by Kim Jong-il's men. Gary tries to help stop him from carrying out his evil plan. If you love comedy, puppets, and Trey Parker & Matt Stone's humor, you'll love TEAM AMERICA: WORLD POLICE!!!

  • by

    dscott8649

    Thu Feb 26 2009

    This old school marionette action/adventure format first visited on baby-boomer kids, is hysterically funny. However, this isn't for kids! It's for grown-up boomers who can appreciate the awkwardness of an outrageous marionette sex scene. Just as Parker and Stone's "South Park" is an equal-opportunity offender, so is "Team America." Expect extreme stereotypes and un-P.C. behavior. And a lot of good--if sometimes guilty--laughs.

  • by

    darklordzden

    Sun Feb 22 2009

    At once an homage to the work of Gerry Anderson, a sardonic commentary on US interventionist policies, and an hysterical cavalcade of scatological humour. It's profoundly wrong and very, very funny. Highly recommended.

  • by

    serpentsmasher

    Tue Sep 25 2007

    perverted puppets. what idiots think up this stuff? take something basically by its nature wholesome and innocent and ruin it with violence and sex. these creators are just demented... thanks hollywood for giving us this garbage.

  • by

    xagent

    Fri Apr 13 2007

    It's a classic. Between "the sex", Kim's singing, and the marvelous speech to upstage Alic Baldwin it's a must have. Almost forgot, killing the Film Actors Guild. Matt Damon!

  • by

    irishgit

    Thu Apr 12 2007

    I think once the novelty wore off, it became clear this was just a bad film. Probably has too many topical elements to stand the "cult film test of time" as well.

  • by

    mad_hatter

    Thu Apr 12 2007

    So stupid and badly made that it was worth watching. (If that makes sence)

  • by

    canadasucks

    Thu Apr 12 2007

    Sorry, but a puppet of Kim Jong-Il singing "I'm so l(r)onery" was damn hilarious. . .

  • by

    planetarygear

    Tue Sep 27 2005

    I was not impressed with Matt and Trey's effort here, they missed a golden opportunity for relevency, and instead went for the juvenile approach. If there was a message to this movie, then it must have eluded me.

  • by

    alpepper

    Mon Jun 06 2005

    I think Njal23 comments below hits the bull on the ass with a shovel. I was disappointed because I was DYING to see this movie and waited almost a month to get the DVD from Blockbuster. At first, I was laughing -- not belly laughs -- but amusing. But then the gross and vile little puppets and their antics grow thin in a hurry. The movie was just not any funnier than an average South Park episode -- and it's stretched to 98 minutes. I did get a laugh every time one of the liberal Hollywood traitors suffered a violent and humiliating demise, and the song, Montage, played during the montage was cute. I would have given it a 3 if it was by a couple of unknown hacks; but I expected better from Parker and Stone.

  • by

    jkooks

    Mon May 23 2005

    Trey and Matt have struck gold once again. Now don't go into this one expecting Shakespeare or clean, wholesome, or otherwise safe family entertainment (yeah, you know who you are). Never in my life have I laughed so hard in a theatre, nor have I ever been to a movie that got such an overwhelming reaction of chestpain-inducing laughter from everyone in attendance. The audience reaction was so overwhelming that it was at difficult to hear the dialogue at times. Parker and Stone are right on the money in their criticisms of all sides of the war on terror: everything, from kneejerk patriotism to Hollywood's delusions that they can change the world with their acting and how the rest of the world gets caught in the crossfire. Their representation of Sean Penn's Iraq visit reminiscence is spot on. Just like South Park, this work is far more intelligent than meets the eye. Parker and Stone have further perfected their formula of taking a relatively serious issue, hitting it with a dash of cle... Read more

  • by

    nanaki

    Fri Feb 11 2005

    Wow, did this movie surprise me! I saw this in a theater with my friend, all prepared for a stupid film that we could make fun of. But it seems that the creators WANTED us to make fun of it. The puppeteering was actually really good, although it has scenes where it looks stupid, but they do it on purpose. I love how the movie would appeal to smart and dumb people alike. And of course, in typical South Park fashion, it turns into a satire making fun of political events and hollywood actors and the world around them. Hell, the Soundtrack of the movie is worth going to see. Try not to think of this as a serious film (practically impossible to do) and you'll be fine. Go see it and have fun!

  • by

    russelljcoll_erjr

    Tue Feb 08 2005

    Gigantic artistic effort. Wonderful satire of the Hollywood 'activists' & has a sing-along soundtrack as good as 'South Park: Bigger, Longer, Uncut.' Can't wait for the DVD. One caveat : If U love the cannibalistic deranged torturers who run North Korea, maybe it is not for U.

  • by

    njal23

    Sun Feb 06 2005

    I must give this movie the 1 star because it commits the greatest sin a movie can. It's boring. Apart from an occasional South Park style laugh, this film has no point except to make fun of something without telling you why. Once you get over the novelty of puppets trying to walk you may find yourself staring at the wall beside you wondering how much better your life could have been had you not gone to this film.

  • by

    seraph

    Mon Dec 06 2004

    Offensive, dumb, and hilarious. I was in stitches the whole time, especially during the opening scene where the terrorists (speaking in Arabic which is just like Derka derka derka! Muhammed jihad!) attack Paris with WMD's, to be stopped in their tracks by the bazooka-toting Team America. No one is above ridicule in this movie, and I liked how both ends of the political spectrum were attacked. It spoofed how right-wingers tend to go a little gung-ho in hunting terrorists, how left-wingers tend to blame America and side with whatever country America's fighting, and how we all think America's at the center of the world and every other country is just a one-dimensional caricature. It can get pretty silly at times (the puppet sex scene is more goofy than erotic), but that's the point. Just put your views behind you, and laugh your ass off.

  • by

    opinion585

    Sat Nov 06 2004

    The fact that it is little puppets on strings is enough to make me say NO WAY!

  • by

    kamylienne

    Sat Nov 06 2004

    If you're expecting political commentary, you'll be disappointed; there's not much. Though the puppeteering was excellent, and the movie had its moments, Team America wasn't that great. A specialized (well, kind of) group goes around fighting terrorism around the world (and destroying national treasures while they're at it). The story circles mostly around gay jokes and a really bad love story. It's supposed to be cheesy, and it's supposed to be stupid, but even taking that into account, it just wasn't all that entertaining.

  • by

    daccory

    Tue Oct 26 2004

    Started well and some very funny parts...by the middle it was getting less of a spoof and more partisan. By the end I thought it had greatly deteriorated. Fans of South Park might like it but it will find limited audiences overseas where they might not get the satire.(obviously) All my American friends I saw it with were rather embarrassed by it.

  • by

    eschewobfuscat_ion

    Tue Oct 26 2004

    ORIGINAL POST DELETED, also. I understand a movie that sounds like it's for kids, but isn't.

  • by

    donovan

    Tue Oct 26 2004

    I did not see this movie and with Dick Dirk's review now read I know I do not desire to, even though in the use of his delicate rhetoric I believe he said he did enjoy it.