Shaun of the Dead reviews

Shaun of the Dead

2004 zombie comedy film directed by Edgar Wright and written by Wright and Simon Pegg Website

Approval Rate: 72%

72%Approval ratio

Reviews 33

Sort by:
  • by

    jameswcornwel_l

    Tue Jun 16 2009

    It's a zombie movie, yes, so of course I am going to like it. It's a comedy too, sweet. Chocked full of references to other movies, and with a circular script, by this I mean, things said earlier in the movie will be said again, later, and in reference to different situations, but used correctly just the same. Some may think it's cheater, but I enjoyed it, and will watch it more just to see if I can pick out more instances. If you like zombie movies, you like this one, if you like satirical comedies, you'll like this one. If you think Simon Peg is hot . . . well, you're strange, but he's there too. If you like Hot Fuzz, you'll like this one even better.

  • by

    gadgetnerd

    Thu Apr 30 2009

    Great movie is all i can say mostly. I can watch this movie over and over again. Got to also add Amazon with there amazing fast shipping!

  • by

    anarchynight

    Tue Apr 07 2009

    Amazing that I liked it. I don't do horror. The best zombies ever were in the Michael Jackson video Thriller. I should say I like vampires and werewolves and licans, etc, but Night of the Living Dead was scary. My son walked away from this movie on TV, left it on, I happened along and sat down and started laughing. So I recorded it and watched it the next night with my husband and daughter. Both of them hated it, and I loved it. Like the other reviewer said, it's intellectual humour. Amazing. I'm going to rent it without commercials and the hack job Comedy Central did on it and try it again. I told my family, when you take out the non-scary zombies, it's just a story about a guy and his friends/girlfriend. That's what I liked about it.

  • by

    crickett6797

    Mon Apr 06 2009

    they didnt mention in the summary that this item was scratched all over the back. it does play though, so i really cant complain

  • by

    williambdwinn_elliv

    Thu Mar 05 2009

    The basic plot: Shaun, a ne'er-do-well, finds his dead-end life interrupted by zombies taking over Britain. What follows is his attempt to save the people he cares about, in the middle of an undead apocalypse. This movie is very, very funny. The writing is smart, and includes "inside" references to any number of horror/scifi movies. The main character and his buddy are reminiscent of Earl and his brother, Randy, from "My Name is Earl", but this movie takes the time to occasionally get serious, especially towards the end.

  • by

    edt4226d

    Wed Nov 12 2008

    As a fan of horror movies who also enjoys an effective comedy movie (there are fewer effective comedy movies than there are effective horror movies, in my humble opinion), I'm not a big fan of the blending of the 2 genres. In my experience, it very seldom works ("Abbott and Costello Meet Frankenstein" is one of the few successful mergings that comes immediately to mind). "Shaun of the Dead" is a good movie-- I laughed throughout-- but it's a good comedy movie; the "horror" part is sort of peripheral to the rest of it. Make no mistake-- what horror there is is pretty gruesome (you won't find more explicit "gut-chewing" scenes in "Dawn of the Dead"...well, ok, you will; but the gore that there is in "Shaun of the Dead" is pretty explicit), but this is a comedy movie, not a comedy-horror movie, and certainly not a horror movie. Make no mistake about it. Part of the fun...for me, at least...was in relating to the characters; I could imagine that these blokes might well have been me and my ... Read more

  • by

    kamylienne

    Sun Oct 26 2008

    Liked the movie, but it's not anywhere near a "horror" movie, hence the "1".  As a movie in and of itself, it's a "4".

  • by

    brittan_y

    Thu Oct 02 2008

    LAME SHIT IS NOT A SCARY MOVIE

  • by

    smokeyvision

    Wed Oct 01 2008

    funny horror movie, who would have thought

  • by

    trippytease

    Sun Sep 28 2008

    FUCKIN' HILARIOUS! Love it.

  • by

    jamie_finn

    Wed Sep 10 2008

    kinda dumb

  • by

    jennifer903

    Wed Jul 23 2008

    lol.....great:)

  • by

    snoopdaddi

    Tue Jul 22 2008

    this movie sucks!!!!

  • by

    logfan0820

    Sat Jul 19 2008

    not at all scary very boring

  • by

    ron334

    Fri Jul 18 2008

    not a fucking horror movie its a fucking comedy movie retards

  • by

    monkey11611

    Fri Jul 11 2008

    haha, really? love it

  • by

    debbie325

    Fri Jul 04 2008

    eh looks stupid.

  • by

    bella552

    Fri Jul 04 2008

    best zombie movie ever

  • by

    jahnnie

    Sun Jun 29 2008

    Sooooooooooooooooooooooo much fun!

  • by

    spike65

    Sun Jun 29 2008

    Cool, funny, scary sometimes.What is with people rating films they haven't seen? They should be deleted immediately.

  • by

    desiderium_in_carmen

    Sun Jun 08 2008

    Sorry Phillip!

  • by

    matt_and_kayla

    Wed Jun 04 2008

    hehehe...funny w/ zombies.

  • by

    myspace_365158273

    Wed Jun 04 2008

    I laughed my butt off!

  • by

    hondarider91

    Sat May 31 2008

    I just saw this on TV today and I didnt even realize it was a comedy.  Seeing it the first time, I thought it was more action/horror genre.  Could have been funnier.

  • by

    genghisthehun

    Mon Apr 14 2008

    This flick has some good zombie lore, but I never got into it. I know that the critics got the vapors over it, but I remain critical.

  • by

    drkseph

    Tue Jan 01 2008

    I dunno, personally british comedy has the same effect on me as british porn, dry and awkward. And it wasn't even a horror movie but I'll give it a decent rating out of spite, since it was better than most of the actual so-called "horror" movies on this list, like the steaming pile of film that they call the ring.

  • by

    fb525724752

    Wed Nov 28 2007

    a lot of fun

  • by

    jeremy00081

    Thu Sep 14 2006

    I thought this film was overrated at first, but after seeing it again, I realize why so many people love it. It's funny and greusome, though some of the intended comedy misfires. Most of it is right on cue, though. One of the better zombie films out there...4 and a half stars

  • by

    cablejockey

    Sun Apr 23 2006

    Fresh and funny look at the zombie genre. I really enjoyed this movie. Who would have thought the undead, blood, and gore could be so funny!

  • by

    esmladypimp210

    Tue Nov 22 2005

    This was a comedy, and it was pretty funny too, It just wasn't a horror film.

  • by

    dragonman

    Tue Oct 04 2005

    This is one my favorite movies. It has everything, comedy, romance, gore, drama. Shaun and Ed are so likeable you can't help but be amused by them. This cant be classified as pure horror though.

  • by

    magellan

    Tue Oct 04 2005

    This is a real sleeper movie, and had me laughing out loud throughout. My favorite scene: a hung-over Shaun wanders out of his house to go to the store. Still unaware that zombies are overrunning his neighborhood, he brushes off the approaches of the undead, saying "sorry man, i don't have any change." As someone who is approached by zombies (usually of the crack variety) every single time I step out of my apartment, I could relate to Shaun's confusion.

  • by

    kooky_4_kirk_hinrich

    Thu Jun 09 2005

    It was more of a funny movie!!!