Purex

Approval Rate: 74%

74%Approval ratio

Reviews 25

Sort by:
  • by

    melinda15yahoo_mailcom

    Wed Oct 13 2010

    What I like about Purex is it smells good and what I don't like about Purex is it don't work very good and the reason I say I don't like is because it don't clear away stains .

  • by

    gsil7477

    Tue Sep 21 2010

    I've been using these sheets since they first arrived at Walmart's. Initially I LOVED THEM, so convenient and easy to use. After 40+ years of doing laundry I thought "finally, someone came up with something useful"! For clothes like mine and my husband's, NOT heavily soiled, it did the job. Then I began noticing "spots" here and there, mostly on my husband's solid color long sleeve dress shirts. Thinking HE soiled the shirts I 'spot treated' them. I soon realized shirts that went in to the washer WITHOUT STAINS, were coming out WITH STAINS! I too am furious, mostly I am tired of treating each shirt with every 'stainremover' product on the market and also trying every 'home remedy' known to woman....i.e. baking soda, baking powder, vinegar, lemon, salt etc. The hard work and multiple washings seems to be paying off, stains are fading and clothes are looking better.....the lesson I've learned.......NOT GONNA USE PUREX DETERGENT SHEETS ANYMORE!

  • by

    andi2928

    Fri Mar 05 2010

    Not a very strong soap, very mild actually. I use Tide for everything but my delicates, in which case I use Purex HE, the after the rain scent, love it! Its not great at removing stains but it gets not so dirty clothes clean!

  • by

    cet2d914

    Fri Nov 20 2009

    I don't need my clothes as bright as the burning sun. I don't need my clothes as soft as...well, something extremely soft. And I don't need my clothes smelling like a flower shop. I just need my clothes clean and comfortable! Purex does the job, and for a good price. I have sensitive skin (general itchiness, eczema), especially when cold weather starts to creep in. So, to help me fight my battle with the itch this winter, I decided to switch to as many fragrance free and hypoallergenic products as I could find. I chose Purex Free and Clear for my laundry, as the scented varieties have always cleaned my clothes well enough. But would this "Free and Clear" be up to the challenge? Is it inferior? I put it to the test, washing a load of my clothing, some of which was stained with greasy itch creams, some of which smelled kind of rank because my itchy, irritated armpits had to go without deodorant for a few days while they healed. And guess what? My clothes came out...CLEAN. Nothing more... Read more

  • by

    rubyslippers01

    Tue Mar 17 2009

    I am a mom of three and do lots of laundry! In the past, I just had to use all the expensive, sweet smelling detergents thinking more expensive the better. Well I have learned through experience over the years that Purex is THE BEST VALUE when it comes to performance,price and smell. After trying just about EVERYTHING, Purex does the job wonderfully hands down! It's a very reasonable price, it has a nice clean soft scent, not overpowering. And it is not so over-concentrated that I need to re-rinse my clothes again like some of the more pricier brands. It also keeps our clothes looking newer longer, and get's my kid's stains out Great! I love the smell of all of them too and it leaves my clothes soft feeling without any fabric softener (that's a plus). I used to think that clean clothes meant bubbles galore, but if you just use the recommended amount, that's all you need. I recommend you give it a try.

  • by

    shaunte

    Sun Nov 09 2008

    THIS DETERGENT STAINS MY CLOTHING I AM NOW IN THE PROCESS OF SCRUBBING OUT THE STAINS THAT IT HAS LEFT. I HAD A HARD TIME TRYING TO FIGURE OUT WHAT WAS GOING ON AND I DID AN EXPERIMENT AND SURE ENOUGH IT WAS THE PUREX STAINING MY CLOTHING...LOTS OF CLOTHES DESTROYED IF I CANT GET THE STAINS OUT. I AM SO UPSET I CANT STAND IT...NO STARS FOR THIS CRAP, EVEN THO I HAVE TO.

  • by

    philip002

    Thu Jun 12 2008

    The Natural Elements Purex UltraConcentrate product purports to be natural. I know enough about chemistry to know that detergents may start as Coconut Oil, the various reactions that follow depart from Mother Natures intentions. Saliva is the only surfactant that is natural. Aside from that the product stinks and actually forms a crust at the bottle neck. Knowledgeable consumers should protest the ubiquitous use of the word natural. The term isnt regulated and corporations desperate for any marketing claim will make ridiculous and erroneous suggestions.

  • by

    rating2help

    Tue May 13 2008

    I used the newer formualtion that uses plant-based cleansers (no petroleum). It is the Apple-Melon scent which is mild and natural smelling. I cannot use fake scents since they make me have migraines, so I'm very pleased with this mild scent.  I purchased this bc the Arm & Hammer Essentials was unavailable.  I will continue to buy either/or of these brands. Very nice not having all the petroleum based stuff in the environment. Invest in coconuts, bc that's where the trends will go. :)

  • by

    jahnzee

    Sun Feb 10 2008

    I've used Purex for years. I recently switched from the regular stuff to the HE stuff because we have a front loader. Regarding stains, I typically kick myself for stains, not the detergent, so no complaints there. My daughter wears cloth diapers and they come out fresh & clean with no odors, but usually stained, which I'm fine with.

  • by

    daisyblend

    Sun Sep 23 2007

    I bought a huge container of the liquid stuff hoping that inexpensive didn't mean poor quality. I never even finished the jug (I'm working on it - using it to spray directly on stains, which helps a little). The recommended amount hardly cleaned, didn't get smells out and left a residue - I increased until I'd doubled the amount and was still disappointed. I'm still on the hunt for a good detergent. ~wife of carpenter/mechanic/outdoorsman & mom of five-under-eight-yrs (two in cloth diapers!)

  • by

    brendie

    Fri Jul 06 2007

    this one is good, especially with fragrance in it.

  • by

    twansalem

    Sun Sep 24 2006

    Reasonably cheap, works well, and smells good. That pretty much covers all you need in a detergent.

  • by

    rizon518

    Sun Sep 24 2006

    This is a detergent that is a step above average. I found it cleans clothes and leaves a fresh smell behind a little better than Arm and Hammer, but I think Purex has since changed their scent formula. The Purex Original and Moutain Breeze seem to leave a musty smell to my laundry, the After the Rain is the only one I will use.

  • by

    excelsior30

    Thu Sep 21 2006

    Gives a good smell, but in some cases, it does not do well. For college students, this would be the brand of choice if they want to wash every week.

  • by

    blessedbesiame_se

    Fri Aug 25 2006

    I have tried this in the past because of it's low price and I honestly don't think I even finished the bottle. I thought it did a lousy job of cleaning my cloths and it was...I can't even remember it's been so long, but I will never ever buy it again!

  • by

    plumfarmer

    Tue May 23 2006

    Purex Classic may not cost much but there's a reason - it takes more to do the job, the clothes don't feel clean, and there is always a white residue left in the tub after washing.

  • by

    jinxycat

    Fri Apr 14 2006

    I used this detergent when I first moved out. It has a great smell and you can't beat the price. I have since started using a different detergent. Not beacuse this is a bad detergent, rather I like trying new things.

  • by

    jacki913

    Thu Feb 24 2005

    I love the smell of purex and it is a really good detergent.it is cheap, but it works great!

  • by

    tlsmth101

    Sat Nov 06 2004

    The detergent itself does it job and cleans the clothes, but they never smell clean. The clean clothes don't smell like anything. My boyfriend is a pizza delivery driver so his clothes absolutely reek of pizza. Purex does not get the full smell out of his work clothes which makes me give Purex a 3 for at least cleaning them.

  • by

    conrader

    Tue Oct 26 2004

    Purex tabs are great! We use just one in our HE washer and it does the job and smells good too. The only drawback is that the Dial company quit making the tablets. ;-( Hopefully enough people will express interest in the product to bring it back on the market.

  • by

    randyman

    Sat Aug 21 2004

    I don't do the laundry, my wife does, and this is the one she uses. I trust her judgement. If she uses it then I guess it a good product. I don't have any complaints about the laundry, so it works for me.

  • by

    doctor_of_madness

    Wed Jul 28 2004

    To those who think that a lower price means low quality , in this case you are wrong. Purex is the best detergent available.

  • by

    apollon

    Fri Dec 05 2003

    Purex is just as good as all of the higher priced detergents, my clothes come out clean and smell good, too!

  • by

    starla71

    Fri Feb 14 2003

    PUREX RULES! Cheap,cleans great! I like the new free and clear version best. Purex is a great product.

  • by

    pigwiggle

    Sat Jan 04 2003

    It doesn't work as well as some other name brands and I think it sometimes leaves my clothes looking dingy and faded.I only buy this when I can't afford anything better.

This topic is on the following list(s)

Add to new list