Poltergeist reviews

Poltergeist

1982 American supernatural horror film directed by Tobe Hooper and written by Steven Spielberg, Michael Grais and Mark Victor from a story by Spielberg. Website

Approval Rate: 51%

51%Approval ratio

Reviews 40

Sort by:
  • by

    dreaming0616

    Mon Nov 21 2011

    I've never really actually seen this movie. I did sneak in to the family room when I was about 5 years old and try and watch this movie when my parents were watching it. Only thing I remember was something about eating the worm....my Mom said at that part she saw me run past the couch and run outside and started throwing up.... I haven't had the need to see it since, so I can't give an accurate review....

  • by

    djahuti

    Fri Jan 07 2011

    Spielberg should stick to the saccharine shit that's his specialty...that way I won't waste my money on it.An Amityville Horror rehash with one or two weird scenes hidden in a morass of cliche.

  • by

    noosebaum

    Sat Jul 11 2009

    TV people. Spooky.

  • by

    mdsult

    Wed Jun 17 2009

    It took a little longer to receive this movie compared to others I've ordered. But, the DVD arrived in good shape and plays without interruption. I would consider another purchase from this vendor.

  • by

    mryanfairbank_s

    Mon May 25 2009

    Love it or hate it (and who could hate it?), Poltergeist is one of the most thoroughly entertaining and iconic horror movies ever created. From start to finish, this movie is a perfect blend of horror and comedy that is further enhanced with a phenomenol cast and great special effects. Poltergeist is the tale of a suburban family whose lives take an unexpected turn when their daughter Carol Anne is taken into another dimension by malevolent ghosts that plague the home. After enlisting the help of psychic Tangina Baron to help them retrieve Carol Anne, they find that the battle against the sprits for their home, and their lives for that matter, will wage on even after their daughter is rescued. Remember the scene where the tree attacks Robbie? How about when the parapsychologist tears his face off in the mirror, or when the Diane turns around and finds all the chairs stacked upon each other when a second earlier they were neatly arranged on the floor? Or when the ghosts all come d... Read more

  • by

    pamela_murray

    Sun May 24 2009

    I heard some freaky things happened in relation to some of the characters in this movie in real life rather they are true or not I don't know but pretty creepy.

  • by

    penpanda

    Fri May 22 2009

    My teenager loves horror flicks so I got this for her collection. I figured she should have the classics.

  • by

    keithmirenberg

    Tue Apr 28 2009

    Poltergeist was an unconditional five star experience for most of us and I just wish to add my name to the list of satisfied customers. No need to say anymore.

  • by

    stugots

    Tue Mar 17 2009

    This movie is amazing, and it still shocks me even today. Its a must own if you like ghost stories. Love it

  • by

    mcchido

    Sat Sep 20 2008

    I HATE THIS FUCKING MOVIE!!

  • by

    jamie_finn

    Wed Sep 10 2008

    they're here

  • by

    blueoctober

    Sun Jul 20 2008

    Very scary movie. Especially the scene where the Mom walks back into the kitchen, and all of the chairs are stacked up on the kitchen table. Creepy! I also really enjoy the sequel.

  • by

    monkey11611

    Fri Jul 11 2008

    watch now me shall

  • by

    spike65

    Sat Jun 28 2008

    Very well written and constructed horror film that involves the entire family. One of the best special-effects film of the time. Recommended.

  • by

    unknown6240849_7

    Fri Jun 27 2008

    I saw it when I was a kid, don't remember much about it

  • by

    jamicena

    Thu Jun 26 2008

    That litle girl is s adorable!

  • by

    jennifer

    Sun Jun 22 2008

    This movie is a classic! It still freaks me out! I never get sick of this movie!

  • by

    rose9d3d

    Sat Jun 07 2008

    Like the only movie that I will not watch because of how much it scared me when I was a kid.

  • by

    nash_god_is_in_the_rain

    Sat Jun 07 2008

    I am still afraid of mirrors!! damn movie

  • by

    matt_and_kayla

    Wed Jun 04 2008

    talking television.

  • by

    myspace_365158273

    Wed Jun 04 2008

    I was scared to watch t.v. @ night after I watched this and I had to get rid of my stuffed clown!

  • by

    genghisthehun

    Mon Apr 14 2008

    I like JoBeth Williams, so I nudge this up to a three. Otherwise, it would be in danger of sinking out of sight.

  • by

    trebon1038

    Mon Apr 14 2008

    Loved it! The sequels were mediocre, but the original was great!

  • by

    lmorovan

    Mon Apr 14 2008

    I am not sure this movie should be under the "horror" category. Nevertheless, it is one of the best Spielberg movies, and the acting is impressive. Spielberg is the all time genius in working with kids and make them so... believable. I still feel shivers when watching the scene when Carol Anne's spirit passes through her mother's soul. Brilliant.

  • by

    fb780405083

    Sun Nov 11 2007

    ridculous

  • by

    cherokeebetty

    Thu Sep 14 2006

    This is a very scary movie!

  • by

    jeremy00081

    Wed Sep 13 2006

    What's not to like about this film? I can't believe it's not rated in the top 10. Not even the top 20! Take "The Lost Boys" or "Halloween" out of that list and put this one in.

  • by

    silver_eagle_252

    Wed May 17 2006

    Plenty of scary parts and great fx. When I was younger, I used to judge a horror movie by how many sleepless nights I spent after seeing the movie. This one was a five star, two thumbs up, gives me the creeps movie. Still hate clowns to this day.

  • by

    frogger20190

    Mon Apr 24 2006

    Spielberg's "family friendly" touch spoiled an otherwise good haunted house movie. That family was SO annoying in a way only Spielberg can create that I was glad to see their house haunted!

  • by

    dumbblondecowg_irl

    Tue Apr 04 2006

    Yes....I have to say this movie was one of the creepiest I watched as a child. It ruined clowns for me too.

  • by

    poisonkiss29

    Thu Sep 15 2005

    that movie was suposed to be scary? the only thing scary about it was what happened off camera....u know what i mean....

  • by

    feek_sparksr1

    Thu Aug 11 2005

    that movie was full of surprises!!!!

  • by

    kattwoman

    Fri Jun 17 2005

    i never thought this movie was all that scary. now the things that have happened to the cast and crew of the movie is just a little too spooky for me.

  • by

    lost48

    Fri Apr 15 2005

    OK, wasnt really scary though

  • by

    mystic_mango

    Thu Nov 25 2004

    Very creepy! I agree, a great family movie. But after you see it the first time, it's a bore.

  • by

    jmoney52

    Fri Sep 24 2004

    A HORROR MOVIE FOR THE WHOLE FAMILY. MORE SUSPENSEFUL THAN SCARY, IT WILL MAKE YOU SHUT THE TV OFF BEFORE YOU GO TO BED.

  • by

    jamie_mcbain

    Sat Jun 19 2004

    One of my favorite horror movies. Still scares me everytime I see it.

  • by

    ladyshark4534

    Sat Jun 05 2004

    This movie has always creeped me out. Heather O'Rourke was perfect as Carol Anne. May she rest in peace.

  • by

    heaven_leigh_23

    Sun Sep 21 2003

    Scared the crap out of me as a kid and only gets better now that I'm an adult.I loved CarolAnne!

  • by

    afterglow70

    Sun Aug 10 2003

    I am rating this from a 12 yr olds state of mind since that is when I saw it for the first time. At that time, I lived in Evergreen, Colorado in a huge log cabin surrounded by tons of trees. It just so happened that I had a tree just outside my bedroom window. I wouldn't sleep in there for wks.