Pete Sampras

American former world No Website

Approval Rate: 84%

84%Approval ratio

Reviews 46

Sort by:
  • by

    carrdea

    Thu Sep 11 2008

    Pete is by far the best server in the history of tennis. That tool along made him the holder for most grand slam title. But if he had played head to head with Roger 10 times, Federer would have beating him at least 6 times. Once in a while, when Pete is on fire, he will be unstoppable.

  • by

    srikanthvenkat

    Sun Dec 09 2007

    he is the god of tennis. no one has played a game so intelligently as pete.

  • by

    houari

    Sun Jul 29 2007

    Best player and Dominator Of Dominators...

  • by

    victor83

    Wed Jun 27 2007

    As the career of federer progresses, one has to wonder if he will one day be the consensus "best ever" on the men's side. As of now, I don't see how anyone could disagree that Borg is the best of the open era. That said, I would say that Federer and Sampras are in a tie for second place all-time. He was a truly great player.Update: With Federer on the scene now, Pete is not even the second best anymore.

  • by

    djdb6deb

    Wed Jun 27 2007

    no doubt about it pete is the best of all time

  • by

    gpd1969

    Sun Jun 10 2007

    I can make this real simple. All the players on the list have tremendous talent but what seperates the greats from the best of all time is the ability to step up when your in a championship match and go to another level...like Michael Jordan in basketball etc. This was Sampras' greatest asset...when the match was on the line he got even better...that is what seperates the greats from the greatest.

  • by

    bt585ed8

    Fri Jun 08 2007

    SIMPLY THE BEST EVER!!!!!!!!!!

  • by

    cttennisanyone

    Sun Apr 29 2007

    Best Overall Player

  • by

    sg0f1773

    Thu Apr 26 2007

    Pete Sampras, in his prime, possessed more weaponry than any player in the history of the sport. While he wasn't a dominant returner, he didn't have to be. His serve allowed him to bide his time and conserve energy. And he could raise his level of play at critical moments in matches both on serve and when returning. And I strongly believe that when Sampras played to the peak of his skills, there has never been a player who could match him. He was wickedly talented and mentally tough as nails. Only his chronic physical issues (bad knees, thalassemia minor) prevented him from being more dominant than he was. Despite these issues, he ruled the tennis world with an iron hand and ruled Wimbledon like no one ever had before him in an era of big servers and strong serve and volleyers (Edberg, Rafter, Becker, Krajicek, Ivanisevic, Stich). His 8 US Open final appearances over a 12 year period is a tribute to the talent of the man. He could do it all. While it may be true that the mi... Read more

  • by

    shko89c6

    Mon May 29 2006

    Undeniably great. Cannot be regarded as the greatest as he never won the French Open. In fact he hardly ever won a clay court title. Thus he has been over-rated at times.

  • by

    rahul_swi2006

    Sat Jan 28 2006

    He forced me to watch The Tennis.

  • by

    drummond

    Sun Jan 01 2006

    Don't like the guy, and don't find his tennis interesting to watch. But by virtue of his domination, he was probably the best player in history.

  • by

    bmf940

    Tue Sep 20 2005

    I'll say this, Pete Sampras made me wanna give a look at tennis, and I became a fan.

  • by

    hgdiu456

    Wed Jul 06 2005

    sorry bur its not the best!

  • by

    chancemel

    Sat Jun 18 2005

    He is the BEST EVER.

  • by

    j5961628

    Thu Jun 02 2005

    good player, for his time... very borim to watch... its like a robot, no feelings...

  • by

    striker

    Tue Feb 15 2005

    people often they pete lived in an era that lack competition or if he had lived in an earlier era he wouldn't be as dominating. however, if you take a closer look at it, you'll notice that if it hadn'nt been for pete, the 90s would have produced as many greates as the 80s or 70s. that's why pete is the GREATEST.

  • by

    airmaxxxer

    Sun Feb 06 2005

    What a great player! he won the most single-majors. he had this tramendous serve that made it easy to be always a bit in advantage. great volley. also great groundstrokes. a bit a shame that he hadnt that real opponent. so he nearly never was proved to show ALL. i m rememering that close match when he played becker at his last masters final over five sets. this was amacing. but that was the exception. becker was in his final years and most not really worked out. agassi, perhaps his biggest natural rival also was looking for his physical and mental shape that time. but at least: this is not sampras problem. one of the greatest, but in my feeling not the best one ever.

  • by

    gerulaitis

    Sat Dec 25 2004

    He is one of the best ever but not the best because on red clay he wasn't very strong. For what he did at wimbledon is comparable to borg and the us open to connors or mcenroe;but he never reach even the final at french (he has only a semifinal lost in straight sets to kafelnikof).I'm sure he woudn't win a set to Borg on red clay.

  • by

    tennisguru

    Sat Jul 03 2004

    It's a pity we have to mention Pistol Pete's name among he reatest yet even i would accept that he has a place here. Pete has been a great beneactor of modern technology. You put him against a guy who serves faster and more consistently than him, then Pete has no clue. I saw him play the best tennis of his life in going down to richard krajicek at wimbledon in 1996. It was no contest because Krajicek served hard had volleyed exquisitely. In fact Krajicek beat Pete so many times that he made the pistol look like it was shooting blanks. Pete had an immensely powerful game and little else. that is why he couldn't compete at the french where all one's skills are probed.

  • by

    nikhil_eye_on_dezine

    Fri Jun 11 2004

    Nikhil Pete is without doubt the greatest player ever. Its not about the grand slams ,its about the game that he had.No past player and I am sure no present and future player will come ever come close to playing like him. If he played any of the greats before him, his game would be too strong for them

  • by

    pghjosh

    Sat Jun 05 2004

    He never won the French Open and was never particularly good on clay, so I can't call him the greatest of all time. He's got the greatest serve and greatest running forehand of all time, and Agassi, his greatest rival, often did bring out the best in Sampras. He was great, but would not have dominated earlier eras before the technology started producing 150 MPH serves.

  • by

    eka12c76

    Wed May 26 2004

    He has won more Grand Slams than any other men's player in an era that had a lot of solid players, unlike the 80's where you had Mac, Connors and the Swedes and not much else. Also, he played an all-court game at a time when baseline bangers were beginning to take over the game. Old school stuff. Big serve and volley, one of the most devistating backhands of all time, and heart like few others.

  • by

    tennisplayer4l_ife

    Thu Apr 15 2004

    PETE SAMPRAS IS THE BEST TENNIS PLAYER EVER! look at the facts people...hes won more grand slams than any other man...EVER! His game is so classy and aritistic...I LOVE watching him play. and when andre agassi was asked to name the top three best tennis players EVER (ANDRE AGASSI) he sai PETE SAMPRAS, PETE SAMPRAS, PETE SAMPRAS for once this andre sais sumthing intelligent! I <3 YOU PETE!

  • by

    kinkykinks

    Tue Apr 13 2004

    i give him a five because he beat andre aggasi last year and andre aggassi is very hard to beat

  • by

    comedyfreek

    Fri Nov 28 2003

    truly the greatest tennis player ever.on and off court. everyone who rated sampras below four i have sixwords for u you dont know jack about tennis. his service was brilliant and i dont think tennis will ever see a player as good as him.. no matter which part of the court he was on, if he was at the net or on the baseline he was great to watch. people keep saying he never won all four grand slams but there is also the point that if he had played earlier when there were more grand slams with grass courts he wudve kicked ass. i true sportsmen and an icon.an inspiration to all budding talented tennis players

  • by

    gerardo

    Fri Sep 26 2003

    Just the Greatest

  • by

    i_am_divine

    Wed Sep 24 2003

    Sampras is the greatest of all time, without question.

  • by

    marcoe299

    Tue Sep 23 2003

    People should not even be allowed to rate Sampras lower than 5. He is the greatest athlete of all time. Sampras took his sport to a higher level than anyone has taken any sport and ever will. His game will beat anyone, anytime, PERIOD.

  • by

    momo66

    Sun Jun 29 2003

    I don't know if he is the best player of all time, but his record is sterling and he treated opponents and fans with respect. My fantasy match would be for Sapras to play either Borg or Laver when they were in their prime.

  • by

    aenzhru

    Wed May 28 2003

    Without doubt, the greatest men's tennis player ever. Not just because of his record 14 grand slams, but his game was superb in every facet: He could volley, serve, and return extremely well. The most complete game ever. Some people found him 'boring.' That's too bad. He may not have been very flashy or shown much emotion but his tennis game was awesome to behold. He was always a great role model, also.

  • by

    tarthpeigust

    Tue May 06 2003

    He's the best of all time. His achievements are so many, his faults so few. You could point out his failure to win at Roland Garros a la Agassi, Budge, and Laver, but it's just about the only thing. And you can't say he can't play on clay; the Davis Cup victory over Russia is proof of his mad skillz. 6 straight years at number one, 14 grand slam titles, 6 Wimbledon titles in 7 years: the numbers don't lie. It's also easy to forget how much off-the-court stress he went through. The arrest of his childhood coach and the death of Tim Gullickson are examples. I, for one, am thankful that I was around to see him play in his prime.

  • by

    southga

    Thu Apr 10 2003

    Pete Sampras is by far the best of all-time. Marriage, a normal part of life, has facilitated his demise, along with age. He will win one more!

  • by

    alyosha

    Sat Mar 15 2003

    He is so clearly the best player of all time, and also a hottie!

  • by

    ljjjjjlj

    Sun Nov 03 2002

    he's the all time gr8. hope he doesn't retire...snif.

  • by

    chaka990

    Sun Nov 03 2002

    he has always let his raquet do the talking for him...and talk bout media-darling...he isn't at all snobby and very care-free...he's the best role-model and is very hard-working. congrats on his win esp since he was almost written off..sheesh! :) yay pistol-pete!!

  • by

    aper422

    Sun Nov 03 2002

    I'm straight out sick of this dork. Can't wait tell he retires. Boring and disgusting to watch. What kind of person throws up on national t.v. Dude, its just a game man, if your sick don't play. He is #1 in my book on one thing, the most boring player of all time.

  • by

    marianne5

    Sun Sep 22 2002

    One of the greatest players in tennis today. I hope he has more years in him to play his best!

  • by

    bob_falange

    Fri Jul 20 2001

    Pete Sampras is a terrific player! Living in England, my only experience of his personality is what we see at Wimbledon, when he comes across as a superb professional and a real gentleman - an excellent role model.

  • by

    magellan

    Fri Jul 20 2001

    I get so tired of the "Sampras is boring" comments. All Sampras has done is to win more Grand Slams than any player in history, set a new standard for Wimbledon dominance, and carry himself with class and grace. One of my last memories of Jimmy Connors was during his last big US Open. There was a controversial line call and Connors, at the "mature" age of 32 or so, called the linesman an abortion at the top of his lungs. Is this what we want our sports stars to be? Is this interesting? Why isn't it enough for Sampras to dominate on the court, treat his opponents and fans with respect, and keep his private life private? I will never get it...

  • by

    samprasfan

    Sun Sep 10 2000

    Pete Sampras is the best men's tennis player of all time. Even with his losing the 2000 US Open he is still the best and his records prove that. It would be great for Pete to win a French Open but it is not mandatory for his legend to continue.

  • by

    john6233om

    Fri Apr 28 2000

    No one in the history of professional tennis could Pistol Pete if he's playing on top of his game. At least on grass and hardcourts... clay would be a different story.

  • by

    hu_h1303om

    Wed Nov 17 1999

    I'm really impressed with Pete's personality and and his image. He's not too fancy.

  • by

    nwc_at_751om

    Wed Nov 10 1999

    Another no brainer. This guy is the most dominant male tennis player of our era. If he does not get a 5, no one should. He is tied for the record for most grand slam wins in singles competition. Agassi cannot hold his jock strap. He also dates better looking women than Agassi.

  • by

    saz_at_749om

    Wed Nov 10 1999

    the most dominant male player of the last 30 years. For all the glory of McEnroe, Borg, Connor and Lendl- none of them has accomplished what Pete has.

  • by

    supe992om

    Mon Nov 08 1999

    Pete Sampras is way too cocky, rude, and unnecessarily arrogant.

This topic is on the following list(s)

Add to new list