topic image

Peanuts

Legume crop grown mainly for its edible seeds Website

Approval Rate: 78%

78%Approval ratio

Reviews 50

Sort by:
  • by

    ladyjesusfan77_7

    Mon Jun 11 2007

    The comics would not be the same without good old Snoopy and the gang.

  • by

    trebon1038

    Fri Feb 24 2006

    An all time classic by an all time classy guy. Shultz was a great story teller. I read some ratings that people thought he got bland but new generations keep finding Peanuts and it is a timeless classic.

  • by

    cherrysoda99

    Mon Jan 30 2006

    One of the most commomly read comics. Charles was truly a genious when he invented these characters. Everyone loves Snoopy right?

  • by

    wronghero

    Sun Jan 29 2006

    The cult of Peanuts peaked in the 70s, and after a good solid 25 year run, Schultz began running out of ideas, but the strip is significant as the last one introduced during the heyday of the comic strip, and as such, it hearkens the end of an era of giants, and a new beginning of downsized, more modest strips, of which it was the unchallenged champ for many years.

  • by

    chitown_reader

    Sat Jan 14 2006

    It was a pretty good strip in the 70s, but a lot of the story lines became very bland thereafter.

  • by

    djahuti

    Sun Dec 04 2005

    Pretty bland as a comic strip.When animated it is enhanced by the jazz in the background,which seems to somehow set the perfect mood.

  • by

    kairho

    Mon Oct 17 2005

    The classic cannot be denied. Arrrggghhhh!!!

  • by

    genghisthehun

    Tue Sep 13 2005

    An American classic.

  • by

    ryper065

    Fri May 13 2005

    A classic yes but one that has dated badly in places and is much less funny if you aren't american. Lots of repeated jokes as well (though this is to be expected for such a long running strip)

  • by

    orangecharlie

    Thu Mar 17 2005

    How can this not be at the top of the list????! Peanuts is the best ever written! I have always loved Snoopy!

  • by

    mtbmlb

    Thu Mar 10 2005

    I don't see how people can say anything bad about this strip. Charles Schulz is one of the best.

  • by

    sfalconer

    Tue Nov 02 2004

    A classic comic strip that will endure forever.

  • by

    mad_hatter

    Sat Oct 16 2004

    I'm with McBain on this one. Snoopy does rule.

  • by

    thedesertfox

    Fri Jul 09 2004

    A total classic, with some of the most memorable characters ever put on paper, namely Snoopy. R.I.P. Charles Schultz, he was a great man.

  • by

    jamie_mcbain

    Tue Jun 22 2004

    Snoopy rules!

  • by

    molfan

    Fri Mar 19 2004

    Peanuts is a classic. I grew up reading the Peanuts strips.they are kind of a nostalgia to me. I also watched the specials on tv. Charlie Brown Christmas, and It's the Great Pumpkin Charlie Brown are shows my kids now watch and enjoy. I loved reading about Snoopy's adventures and his wild imagination. And Poor Charlie Brown, who always seemed to have to bad luck. I know I could relate to Charlie Brown.I am glad that my kids are now Peanuts fans.

  • by

    virilevagabond

    Wed Feb 04 2004

    Peanuts has no real pizzazz. The comedy is bland and rarely cerebral. The concept isn't too bad, namely a hard luck kid (Charlie Brown) surrounded by a cast of characters who seem to only torment him further, including his dog Snoopy whose imagination takes him places that Charlie Brown could never dream of. Linus is the only member of the gang with any substantial philosophical leanings. The bottom line is that Peanuts was and remains average at best, but to its credit, the strip has been consistent over the years.

  • by

    helen_mc

    Sat Aug 09 2003

    It seems that not only are some terrible strips stacking the vote, they're getting their friends to vote badly for Peanuts,- one of the truly great strips of the world- so they look good by comparison. Disgusting.

  • by

    rosemd

    Sun Aug 03 2003

    This one has run its course. When the creator dies, it's time to stop.

  • by

    forgotten_hero

    Sat Jul 26 2003

    I guess I was born about twenty years too late to actually enjoy this comic strip. Why does everyone have to be so mean to this Charlie Brown kid? I give this one two stars because it is one of the original comic strips.

  • by

    kolby1973

    Wed Jul 02 2003

    This comic strip is the worst comic in print. Not only is it negative, but it teaches kids how to be mean to other kids that are different and out of the norm. Most of the kids in this comic strip were always really mean to Charlie Brown, and made fun of him. Even Snoopy had some attitude that I didn't care for. It really was just never a good strip. I don't recommend it to anyone. TOO DEPRESSING.

  • by

    ergignac

    Mon Jun 16 2003

    A great comic strip and a great man. One of the most influential comics strips to date! ~Erg!

  • by

    bud_neill

    Mon Jun 02 2003

    I've changed my vote to give Peanuts a leg up against those bunko artists (Chris Browne, Bill Holbrook, etc) who are trying to stack votes for their vastly inferior features. Such a stunning lack of respect doesn't deserve to succeed.

  • by

    tototoo

    Fri May 23 2003

    Peanuts is the BEST. I can't believe it's not #1. Snoopy alone makes it perfect.

  • by

    ilovefoxtrot

    Sun Apr 27 2003

    i just don't find it funny... you can identify with the charachters and everything but it's just cute and not funny. also, people only like it because it lasted fifty years, it's like garfield... people like it because it's cute but not a good comic strip. it dosn't deserve to be above foxtrot. i suppose it was funny for it's time. definitely it is a classic, but not a good one.

  • by

    analyticaldave

    Thu Apr 24 2003

    As with anything, you can argue both sides. So, instead of fawning, I'll play detractor and rag on my all-time favorite strip for a bit. What bugged me like that irksome relative that you nevertheless love unconditionally? I think Snoopy "blew up" a bit too much and became too human and too marketable for my tastes. So did the other characters. Get Met - It pays (uugh!). The characters seemed to lose their defining traits in the 90's. Lucy wasn't LUCY anymore. With that said, break out your Fawcett Crests and crank up the Vince Guaraldi, Sparky was a genius and the bittersweet world he created is a great gem of American pop-culture that will never die.

  • by

    philc01b

    Sat Apr 05 2003

    Is there any other comic strip?? Life wouldn't be the same without Snoopy!

  • by

    lunablu

    Sun Mar 16 2003

    I remember loving Peanuts as a kid, but rarely read it anymore. But it's a heck of a lot better that Raising Dunkin. I call Shenanigans!

  • by

    j7778b28

    Sat Mar 01 2003

    it's just cool! read it and you will find out.

  • by

    buzzdav4

    Sun Feb 23 2003

    Okay, Mr. Schultz has gone to his reward. It's time to put the strip in the history books. It's unfair to repeat all the years of this strip; this robs valuable slots for developing comic strips. Peanuts was one of the best; it will live forever anyway.

  • by

    nanda859

    Sun Feb 23 2003

    I appreciate it for what it did for comics, but am disappointed it's still in most papers when there are so many good strips that can't get in.

  • by

    sharpshooter

    Sat Feb 22 2003

    come on its the peanuts, it needs to be higher on the list

  • by

    fbmce7f4

    Thu Feb 20 2003

    One of the few comics (along with "Blondie") that remains current no matter when. Fortunately the kids in some comics don't change even though the kids in real life do change from generation to generation. It keeps us seniors thinking young!

  • by

    amt103

    Thu Feb 20 2003

    Tired and old. Make way for something relevant to today's life.

  • by

    jayne1e2

    Wed Feb 19 2003

    I have never ever liked this comic in the newspaper or on television. I must be the only one who hates Peanuts. Doesn't make sense to me a child with such low self-esteem and dog that is more popular than he is. Sorry, JMHO

  • by

    jdubrates

    Tue Feb 18 2003

    Still the most beautiful thing on the comics page. Schulz set the bar so high most other strips just run under it, without even needing to duck.

  • by

    classic_steve

    Tue Feb 18 2003

    Had trouble staying funny in the later years -- too much exact repetition, for one thing -- but the characters were developed and often cute.

  • by

    chunkylover53

    Sun Feb 16 2003

    Peanuts deserves ten stars! It has always been a favorite of mine. It is always fun to read and it never ran out of steam during its 50 years of publication. The characters were all fun and seemed like the kids you went to greade school with. To top it off, there was Snoopy, the beagle with the imagination the size of Jupiter. I also love the cartoon specials, especially the Christmas one. Peanuts forever!

  • by

    jason1972

    Fri Dec 13 2002

    Classic comic strip that will never fade away. Even the specials were good. The late Charles Schultz created lasting magic that will always be in my heart. I love the Peanuts gang.

  • by

    lukskywlkr

    Thu Dec 05 2002

    One of the all time great strips. I'm glad that newspapers have elected to keep running "classic" strips, even though Charles Schulz in gone. The paper wouldn't be the same without it.

  • by

    dan_the_no1_ma_n

    Mon Nov 18 2002

    I love Snoopy and the rest of the Peanuts gang. How can you not love them? Snoopy and his dancing? Is that not great!!!!! All the holiday specials and great cartoons both in print and on screen. My favorite. ;)

  • by

    hrod4688

    Wed Nov 13 2002

    The only reason "Peanuts" is in fourth place on this list,is because most of the people who are rating are young wet-behind-the-ear whipper snappers that don't know S--T about the great Charles Shultz.

  • by

    misspackrat4je_sus

    Fri Nov 08 2002

    This has to be THE BEST COMIC STRIP EVER!!!! Anytime I read the comic section of a newspaper, "Peanuts" is the first strip I look at. In my opinion (this IS the OPINION NETWORK, isn't it?!) Schulz's "Peanuts" comic strip was EDUCATIONAL as well as ENTERTAINING!!! Thanks, Charles Schulz... you are a RARE GEM!

  • by

    747braniffplac_e

    Wed Oct 23 2002

    Peanuts was funny--up to about the mid 1970s. Then they quit introducing new characters and the comic strip got stale. They used the same old gags--Charlie Brown losing the baseball games, Schroeder playing the piano, Peppermint Patty being a loser in school but doing well in sports, etc. The comic strip seemed to become a front for all the merchandise--the dolls, the stationery, the greeting cards, the TV shows, the games, the decals and more. A little later on, the comic strip changed from four evenly-sized panels per day to three, two or one panels. I have never been able to figure out why the creator of Peanuts let the comic go stale and use the same gags (?) again and again for the rest of its use. I also am not sure why so many newspapers chose to rerun Peanuts comic strips after the creator of the strip retired in late 1999. (I think the name of the Rerun character, introduced in the early 1970s, was a warning from the creator of the way the strip was going to go.) When the cr... Read more

  • by

    snowbunny

    Sun Sep 29 2002

    I don't care for this comic.

  • by

    rustyfe0

    Tue Jun 18 2002

    What a classic. Linus is my favorite character.

  • by

    the_waffler

    Wed Jan 09 2002

    Always a favorite. May Charles Schultz rest in peace.

  • by

    galomorro

    Tue Nov 27 2001

    I don't understand what people see in this comic strip. What's funny about it?!

  • by

    lord_of_the_waves

    Sat Oct 20 2001

    one of the most boring comics ever. not funny at all. after schultz died why do they still have it in newspapers?

  • by

    ellajedlicka21

    Fri Oct 19 2001

    A classic. It's too bad that Schulz died.