Monsters, Inc. reviews

Monsters, Inc.

2001 American computer-animated monster comedy film produced by Pixar Animation Studios for Walt Disney Pictures Website

Approval Rate: 91%

91%Approval ratio

Reviews 33

Sort by:
  • by

    idccyou

    Sat Sep 05 2009

    From the Academy Award®-winning creators of TOY STORY comes this new computer-animated comedy that opens the door to a world of monsters and mayhem. Monsters, Inc. is the largest scare factory in the monster world and the top kid Scarer is James P. Sullivan (John Goodman), a huge, intimidating monster with blue fur, large purple spots and horns, known as 'Sulley' to his friends. His Scare Assistant, best friend and roommate is Mike Wazowski (Billy Crystal), a lime green, opinionated, feisty, one-eyed monster. Scaring children isn't such an easy job, though -- monsters believe children are toxic and that direct contact with them would be catastrophic. The film's eclectic cast of characters also includes the factory's crab-like CEO Henry J. Waternoose (James Coburn), the beguiling serpent-haired receptionist Celia (Jennifer Tilly), and the sarcastic chameleon monster, Randall Boggs (Steve Buscemi), who schemes to replace Sulley as Monsters, Inc.'s top Scarer. Making an uninvited visit fr... Read more

  • by

    rara17

    Mon Aug 04 2008

    i love boo

  • by

    gloomyeeyore

    Tue May 08 2007

    I love Monsters Inc. it is a great pixar film.  This is a good movie that can be enjoyed by kids and adults.

  • by

    pixarfan2007

    Mon May 07 2007

    Another good Pixar film. A little child named Boo ends up in the monster world where they consider kids to be toxic. The monsters job is to scare kids for energy which is used for everything in the city. Billy Crystal and John Goodman are good as Mike and Sulley, the two main monsters who try to get the kid back home.

  • by

    741044d1

    Sat Dec 09 2006

    The full meaning of the story is a little over the head of three year olds, but the movie visually interesting and gives the little ones things to get exited about. It is good to display monsters in a non-threatening way.

  • by

    trebon1038

    Thu Jul 13 2006

    Loved Monsters, Inc. It ended so well. Just shows you don't have to believe in stereotypes.

  • by

    gadget13

    Tue Aug 09 2005

    An excellent movie!! The creativity is amazing and the movie is an overall winner. Definitely reccommended for kids and adults as well!! If you haven't seen it, rent it right now!

  • by

    maomania

    Sun Feb 27 2005

    Not my favorite Pixar/Disney movie. The story was cute and everything but I was a little bored. Boo was adorable but the monsters were kinda boring. It was just not my taste. I understand though if people liked it.

  • by

    mooselover

    Mon Feb 21 2005

    This is another Pixar materpiece that's way funnier and more appropeate than Shrek! The story is two monsters must put a kid back into the human world before other monsters destroy them. Great Animation, Talented vioce actors, and an original story makes this movie a must see!

  • by

    southparker9

    Mon Oct 04 2004

    OK, but not great. Good vocal performances.

  • by

    asportingchanc_e

    Sun Sep 05 2004

    how can this be anything less than a 5?

  • by

    darick

    Sat Jul 17 2004

    I liked this movie. It's funny and the voice acting is actually pretty good. The only thing I didn't like was the little human girl, Boo. She acted more like a prop than a character. It wasn't popular with everyone in my family, though.

  • by

    ellie_4_jd_rw_n_gv

    Mon May 10 2004

    This is too cool

  • by

    lukskywlkr

    Sat Jan 17 2004

    I enjoyed this one thoroughly. Had a great ending and the voicework of John Goodman and Billy Crystal was perfect.

  • by

    badunsgirl

    Sun Oct 19 2003

    This is a example of great creativity and it doesn't meet up to Finding Nemo or Toy Story but, this flim is still worth a lot of watching so many times.

  • by

    gabbygav

    Wed Oct 08 2003

    This one was pretty good, although not my favorite but it has really good animation

  • by

    whateverlyness

    Sat Sep 20 2003

    I love monsters inc. boo is my favorite. I love her. she is too cute, i can't stand it. mike and sully are funny, the characters are so real and stuff. I love this movie. I love boo.

  • by

    hardcritic

    Tue Apr 22 2003

    This was a wonderful movie.It was very clean.I cried ,I laughed.It was a cute movie. With lovable characters.This movie is about Mike and skully and there monsters of course there job is to scare kids to get energy for electricity. Everyone thinks human kids are poisinous if you touch them. Then Skully finds boo(a kid).When there trying to find her door to put her back in her world Skully finds Boo is not poisonus and he grows attached to her.I would recomend it to everyone.

  • by

    tkjohns

    Tue Feb 11 2003

    Better than great! Perfect! What a great way to battle the monster in the closet... "He's afraid of YOU, honey!" Loved it...

  • by

    zuchinibut

    Mon Dec 09 2002

    This and Shrek are the best children's movies since Aladdin. They make the whole family laugh.

  • by

    teaseress

    Wed Nov 13 2002

    Yet again - another one that made me cry. Billy Crystal is absolutely hilarious in this and the character who looks like the librarian reminds me of the grandmother in 'Dinosaurs' (don't know if anyone remembers that show) its very sweet and the little girl is absolutely adorable. I want a monster in my closet!

  • by

    classictvfan47

    Wed Nov 13 2002

    Incredible movie! Love it! Completely family-friendly and stunningly-animated, the plot is great and original, with many jokes, but heartwarming at the same time. A great vocal cast rounds out this awesome picture. Along with outtakes, its another Pixar classic!

  • by

    hrod4688

    Tue Nov 12 2002

    I liked Monsters Inc. until I heard about the lawsuit against Disney/Pixar. Stanley Mouse is sueing Disney/Pixar for copyright infringment. Mouse contends that Mikey and Sully are very similar to characters he created, back in the early sixties. That really turned me off to Monsters Inc.

  • by

    markstevenson

    Thu Sep 19 2002

    This movie is perfect. Great animation, funny, yet dramatic at the same time. Let me change that "funny" above to "histerical". Even though its animation, the two main characters (Mike and Sully) play off of each other perfectly.

  • by

    chadswife247

    Wed Jul 17 2002

    This is a movie we really enjoyed! After several duds released from Disney,this was a great trest!We can't wait until it is released on dvd so we can watch it over and over!!!

  • by

    roulte

    Sun Mar 03 2002

    Monsters, Inc. was a great movie. I saw it at least three times! I would recommend this movie to everyone.

  • by

    kittykat00

    Fri Jan 11 2002

    i thought that this was THE CUTEST MOVIE EVER!! how could anyone not cry... i would easly recomend this movie to any one and everyone=)

  • by

    albatross

    Mon Dec 24 2001

    This movie was hysterical - the laughter never paused; a true work of beauty for the entire family.

  • by

    jen14jason

    Fri Dec 14 2001

    I liked it, but it wasn't as good as Shrek.

  • by

    thorne

    Tue Nov 27 2001

    I loved Monsters Inc. I laughed, I cried, I want to have a monster in my closet. These are some of the coolest and most entertaining animated characters i have ever watched. Pixar knows how to build the type of movies that pull all the right heart strings. They know how to fill a film with good hearted humor and a warm and loving heart. I left the theater with my eyes brimming with tears of happiness and sentimental joy. I absolutly loved Monster Inc and found it to be yet another comendable film in the tradition of Toy Story 1 and 2. HIGHLY HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!! Steve Buscimi is great as the bad guy monster Randal. Boo is too friggin cute.

  • by

    pikachan

    Mon Nov 19 2001

    This was a cute movie. John Goodman and Billy Crystal were good in the movie. A little girl named "Boo" enters a world where the monster's job is to scare kids to get power for the town. sully and mike must get the kid back to her own world where she came from. there are a few "Inside Jokes" throught the movie. a well done computer animated movie.

  • by

    molfan

    Sun Nov 18 2001

    Monsters inc. is cute movie. we saw it today at the movies. this takes place in a Monster town. sully the big monster and his friend Mike work in a factory where it is the monsters jobs to scare kids{they go in through the bedroom doors} at night. if they succeed, the screams gives power to the town. One time a door gets opened and a human girl "nick named Boo" gets into the monster town through her bedroom door. Now Sully has to get the tiny child back home through her door. It turns out this is not such an easy job. there are some good comic scenes in this movie with the usual good guys and bad guys. We enjoyed the movie. It is not quite as good as the Toy Story movies.yet this is a pretty well done computer animated movie.

  • by

    markymarkluva1_9

    Sun Nov 11 2001

    Hey everyone! This is one of those nights where I can't sleep.. so I'm here sharin "my opinion" ...Well, Monsters Inc was adorable.. ya see, my friends and I went to the movies and well.. the only movie not sold out was this so we went to see it.. and we weren't sure what to expect, but surprisingly Im sitin there.. like "Oh my gosh, Im gonna cry thats so cute!" It was an adorable movie! The actors who played the voices are a few of my favorites.. Like Billy Chrystal.. he is ablsolutely hilarious and John Goodman... aww this big guy is too cute.. hehe I love them! The movie had a good plot and a cute ending.. And during parts in the movie, some of the background and stuff actually looked somewhat real.. It was pretty cool. Alright people I'm gonna go now.. and recommending all of you who are interested in cute family movies to go see this one :)