topic image

John Wayne

American actor who became a popular icon through his starring roles in films which were produced during Hollywood's Golden Age Website

Approval Rate: 79%

79%Approval ratio

Reviews 42

Sort by:
  • by

    rjohnson71

    Sun Sep 20 2009

    I'm not a John Wayne fan but he did make some good movies. He's been dead for thirty years now. My friend was named after him.

  • by

    millarsux

    Fri Sep 05 2008

    An American icon and a graduate of the Steven Segal school of acting .

  • by

    spike65

    Mon Apr 21 2008

    The American Icon. Never took himself too seriously. Maybe a bit flawed in real-life but I can't imagine American cinema without him. "The Quiet Man", "Stagecoach", "Red River", "The Cowboys", "The Searchers", "Rio Bravo", "True Grit", "Rooster Cogburn", and many others. For a glimpse of the non-typical J.W. film see "The Long Voyage Home". Most of his best work was with John Ford. He always thought of himself as a set dresser who got lucky. He and Ward Bond went to USC to play football. After a serious injury Ward Bond got Wayne employment at a local film studio moving furniture, etc. for the film sets. He always had a great relationship with the blue-collar employees at the studios. He was one of them and never forgot it.

  • by

    limpin_trenchfoot

    Fri Mar 14 2008

    Unwatchable, one dimensional and with the most irritating  vocal delivery in Hollywood history. He played exactly the same role whether a cowboy or a soldier. And most of all unlike Audie Murphy, a genuine hero of WW2, Wayne spent his war acting as heroes.

  • by

    gmk1012

    Mon Sep 24 2007

    John Wayne was an outstanding actor. His performances in Red River, The Searchers, Rio Bravo and The Shootist were beyond parallel. He was also the greatest movie star of all time and the most famous American of the 20th Century

  • by

    biggoof

    Tue Jul 03 2007

    Hat's off to you Duke! None of this misserable bunch they have in hollywood now is good enough to shine your boots!

  • by

    lucy2f31

    Wed May 30 2007

    The sexiest man there ever was.  I can't praise him enough.  Long live the Duke!

  • by

    victor83

    Thu Mar 08 2007

    Great review, randy. Wayne was a good actor...a great American.

  • by

    aenzhru

    Fri Feb 16 2007

    Underrated and overcriticized as far as his actual acting abilities are concerned. He started out in the black and white era as a very mediocre actor at best, but his life was one of transformation and metamorphosis. By the time that his career was near its end, he was refined and polished in every conceivable way. He couldn't play a wide array of roles but the ones that he did (primarily Westerns), he had as much screen presence, personality, and authority as anyone who's ever acted in the film industry. How can you not love John Wayne and love John Wayne movies. His presence was everything and made the movies what they were. Some of my personal favorites are Fort Apache, The Searchers, and MCQ.

  • by

    bassman44113

    Sat Sep 16 2006

    The Quiet Man is one of my favorite movies of all time. John Wayne was a great American who believed in America and its great potential. I admire him for what he stood for. We sure could use more men like him in Hollyweird today. John Wayne could kick George Clooney's ass, and would if he was still around.

  • by

    brownie

    Wed Sep 28 2005

    America cultural icon.

  • by

    dodneh

    Sun Apr 10 2005

    I respected his person. His movie persona always seemed to me, like a caricature of a man, just as Mae West was a caricature of a woman.

  • by

    muwhahaha

    Mon Mar 21 2005

    Ok I give John Wayne a 5 star because then the biggest John Wayne fan would give me 5 euro

  • by

    dj1vike

    Sun Mar 13 2005

    I do like a good western...did John Wayne have a good western? True Grit was a very good movie, but did John Wayne invent type-casting? I think I enjoyed him more in an episode of The Lucy Show more than most movies I've seen him in.

  • by

    magneto101

    Fri Feb 25 2005

    hes sunday morning or afternoon entertainment, the western hero of them all. and he was truly the son of god

  • by

    edt4226d

    Mon Jan 24 2005

    Not so much an actor as a personality, the personification of the rugged American individualist, battling Indians and Communists in the name of Mom and Apple Pie. If, like me, you thought the stereotype that Wayne personified was damaging and reprehensible, watching a Wayne film wasn't just an exercise in tedium. Indeed, it could be actively painful.

  • by

    barbkaye57

    Thu Jan 20 2005

    John Wayne has got to be one of the most over rated actors of all time. He's the same character in every movie he's ever in. Mr. Macho, he's part of the reason I can't stand westerns.

  • by

    sfalconer

    Mon Sep 27 2004

    Truly a screen legend in his own time and for ever more. For those who say he was not a great actor, I can only say that you need to watch True Grit, Eldarado or the longest day. The man could act and he knew how to pick parts. His first staring film is Stage Coach and he stole the picture.

  • by

    logan7

    Mon Sep 27 2004

    Greatest star the world has ever had. Too bad he's not still around.

  • by

    capanson

    Sat Sep 25 2004

    Don't worry, I ain't gonna hit you mister..Like hell I ain't

  • by

    wilsonfisk

    Tue Sep 14 2004

    One of a kind. Dominated the industry while he was alive and continues to cast a large shadow. Ironic that John Wayne's America was respected worldwide but George Bush's America is hated and feared.

  • by

    coolit

    Sat Sep 11 2004

    Greatest star of all time. So much charisma and presence that he dominated the screen like no-one else. Showed great courage and leadership in his real life and aspired to the same values he projected on screen. We continue to miss him.

  • by

    dixxjamm

    Fri Sep 10 2004

    I would actually give him 2* for being involuntarily funny and for the fact that he does have some kind of personality. However,his legacy is so incredibly negative.He should simply say sorry for every Indian he has killed in his Westerns,how phony, racially portrayed and unrealistic that was.As for the patriotic crap a la Green Berets-everyone is entitled to his opinion, but when you depict such a controversial subject in such a manner it is simply horrifying. At least Rambo was funny. American icon? Tell that to the millions that died in Vietnam.

  • by

    kb76787f

    Fri Sep 10 2004

    I cannot believe some of the negative comments here about John Wayne. He was the most popular and charismatic star of all time. There's no doubt John Wayne was as impressive in his real life as he was on screen - read the comments made by people who actually knew him. There's a pattern - strong secure men and women loved him, but weak insecure types hated his guts. Most the pansies who knock him down on this site for not enlisting in WW2 would run a million miles at the sound of a single bullet, let alone enlist themselves. John Wayne was directly responsible for the enlistment of thousands of soldiers (and you'll never read of them criticizing him), and worked so hard after WW2 to support American troops everywhere. James Stewart himself knew the Wayne and loved him.

  • by

    bboop2de

    Tue Aug 10 2004

    A true character actor.

  • by

    m_d_beaudry

    Sat Jun 19 2004

    Was John Wayne a draft dodger? 10-Jul-1998 -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Dear Cecil: In your book The Straight Dope you were asked whether John Wayne had ever served in the military. You said no--that though Wayne as a youth had wanted to become a naval officer, during World War II, he was rejected for military service. However, it may be more interesting than that. According to a recent Wayne bio, for all his vaunted patriotism, Wayne may actually have tried to stay out of the service. --Virgiejo, via AOL Cecil replies: John Wayne, draft dodger? Oh, what delicious (if cheap) irony! But that judgment is a little harsh. As Garry Wills tells the story in his book John Wayne's America: The Politics of Celebrity (1997), the Duke faced a tough choice at the outset of World War II. If he wimped out, don't be so sure a lot of us wouldn't have done the same. At the time of Pearl Harbor, Wayne was 34 years old. His marriage was on the ro... Read more

  • by

    weedie

    Tue Jun 01 2004

    Inspiration for all. Showed that not being able to act does not hinder one in a motion picture career. I find him boring.

  • by

    levelburt

    Thu Apr 22 2004

    Very underrated. Actually a great actor. Could be counted on to make you forget who he was pretty much every time. Took chances.

  • by

    robdog

    Wed Apr 07 2004

    JW was the best should have stopped smoking sooner

  • by

    liberty11

    Wed Jan 21 2004

    The Duke, the best of them all.

  • by

    flamingmoe

    Fri Dec 12 2003

    Great actor, great American. Enough said.

  • by

    a1mcae4a

    Mon Nov 24 2003

    Now here is a Man that cared about the people and his country.

  • by

    tvtator

    Mon Nov 10 2003

    What is the appeal of John Wayne? He played the same role or type of role in almost every movie. His only decent films are The Quiet Man which isn't a western, The Shootist, The Man Who Shot Liberty Valance and The Searchers. Still in his films he gives a bland, stoic performance.

  • by

    kolby1973

    Sun Nov 09 2003

    I have tried with great effort to watch John Wayne movies, but everytime I do I get so bored that I stop after about 15 minutes usually. I personally think he is an actor that could barely do anything but western, and I never cared for his bad ass persona either, it irritated me for some reason....

  • by

    strangeland

    Wed Oct 22 2003

    John Wayne. Is great in so many ways. First off compaired to the weak spoiled actors of today he is much better. He isn't one of these baby limp wristed liberals of today. John was a strong proud to be an American type something that we don't get to see a much of now in todays actors.

  • by

    jamestkirk

    Tue Sep 09 2003

    Underrated by too many critics. Incredible in "The Searchers" & "The Sands of Iwo Jima." Played roles no one else could have been successful in. Is a standard bearer in the acting industry forever.

  • by

    bucfansince76

    Sun Aug 17 2003

    Actually, it's -5000. What a total loser. Some hero. He was a hero to most of the Hollywood establishment considering that they can only pretend to be somebody important to society. Of course they weren't going to pump up a veteran like Jimmy Stewart. He actually did his fighting in real life; something the clowns in Tinseltown just can't seem to get a grip on.

  • by

    sgrant

    Tue Jun 24 2003

    What can be said about John Wayne? It's an honor just to write something in his column. His lasting popularity endures and endures. A true legend in every sense of the word. My hero--forever.

  • by

    help_me

    Sat Jun 21 2003

    don't really care for westerns

  • by

    ozzymaniac

    Mon Jun 16 2003

    The definitive western actor. I love Clint Eastwood, but that title definitely goes to John Wayne. He's an idol of mine.

  • by

    sabre_1_2

    Fri May 30 2003

    THE BEST THERE EVER WAS OR WILL BE

  • by

    thebluewyvern

    Mon May 26 2003

    The only actor he could play was...John Wayne. Hardly any versatility at all. But I do love the movie the Quiet Man.