topic image

Jerry Rice

American former professional football player who was a wide receiver for 20 seasons in the National Football League (NFL) Website

Approval Rate: 81%

81%Approval ratio

Reviews 49

Sort by:
  • by

    pcpeter774

    Fri Jul 24 2009

    This son of a bitch was fast.

  • by

    numbah16tdhaha

    Fri Nov 02 2007

    Probably the best wideout to play the game. Unmatched work ethic, sick numbers, rings, and... um... OH YEAH! Rings. Did I mention the rings?

  • by

    pitbull4321200_0

    Mon Jun 18 2007

    I read all the comments everyone wrote and most was good, but i noticed there where a few that was just retarded anyways wat i noticed is the people that rated him low based it on him stayin in the nfl to long um hello he was still able into his 40s i mean who cares how long he played the bottom line is the years he played crushed every other reciever in the nfl if u dont rate him a five ur either really stupid or u just dont watch enough football the bottom line is hes the best and until someone does wat he did all u haters can kiss his black ass hahah peace love ya jerry 80 for life

  • by

    miggizle

    Thu Apr 19 2007

    It is unbeleivavle to me that anyone wouldn't give this man a 5 star rating. Jerry Rice is the best player to ever strap on an NFL uniform. Now keeping in mind that I do have a biased opnion because I'm a niner fan I do have to admit that the previous statement is exaggerated. There are honestly a handful of players that were better than Rice. Walter Payton is one that really stands out.Still Jerry Rice is by far the best ever at his position. Anyone who even tries to argue that has got to be a serious hater or just not very informed on the subject of Football. I beleive Jerry deserves a 4.8 star rating but in order to offset all the Rice haters out there I gave him a 5. He is the best wide receiver ever, and definately one of the top 5 players ever.

  • by

    chrisrianna

    Tue Mar 13 2007

    Even though I hated him when he played, there is no denying his greatness. No question the greatest reciever of all time and probably will be considered as so for a long, long time.

  • by

    myopinion123

    Thu Feb 01 2007

    Jerry Rice hands down is the best WR to play football. Randy moss gots talent no doubt, his attitude is so horrible, and his dedication to the game is nothing... the only reason he looks good is because he is young and in his prime, when he gets old he is going to suck, just like right now on the raiders. Jerry Rice was great because how easy he made it look when he played, he was not the biggest of guys but he could shake of defender like nothing, and his workout scehudle was amazing he was really dedicated to the game, and in my opinion the best WR of all time. The way i see it is "there are great wide recievers, and then you have Jerry Rice."

  • by

    sfwhitericesf

    Thu Feb 01 2007

    Jerry Rice is by far the greatest football player to have ever played the game. He is by far the greatest player to have ever played a sport. For him to not be voted number one is an insult. Blankname your comment is also an insult and if I heard you say that in person I would probably give you a trip to the hospital. Oh yeah he is an excellent dancer too, the best. Jerry Rice is a Goat.....Greatest Of All Time!

  • by

    blankname

    Tue Jan 09 2007

    He is also a total jerk. He was so mean to me last Friday. He was so verbally offensive to me. I dont care how great of a player he was. He has no class and a horible attitude!!

  • by

    portecrayon

    Thu Dec 14 2006

    I have been watching NFL Football for over 35 years and there is no question that Jerry Rice is the best football player at any position EVER!

  • by

    wesnile

    Sat Nov 04 2006

    if a WR's #1 job is to catch the ball then who has the most receptions.

  • by

    ice4444

    Sat May 13 2006

    the greatest receiver

  • by

    dukesucks

    Sun Mar 26 2006

    I'd be the stupidest football fan in the planet if I said Rice wasn't the best player to ever wear a football jersey.

  • by

    soccerbabe05

    Wed Feb 01 2006

    yeah! foot balla

  • by

    dansler

    Tue Dec 13 2005

    Simply the best WR in my opinion. PLaying 20 years or past your prime will take anyone's game away from them so that is not an excuse to what he did year in and year out (minus the injury year). Some people think Moss or Marvin Harrison will surpass Rice. It's possible, but honestly only Marvin Harrison has a chance out of today's players that are on that path simply because everything that has to do with being able to reach the levels that Rice set are in place with Harrison. He has the conditioning, mental attitude, commitment, talent, intelligence and the players around him, namely a great QB in Manning....Rice always had a QB on the top of their game (Montana, Young, Gannon) and even when catching passes from backup QB's, Rice made them look good when most weren't. Moss don't have a chance simply because of his poor work ethic and attitude and no reciever that relies on speed will ever touch Rice's records because when you turn 33 and up, speed/Stamina will be gone 99% of t... Read more

  • by

    dustintothemax

    Fri Nov 04 2005

    best patterns, best numbers, best teams, longevity, yes folks he really was that amazing

  • by

    number1nflfan

    Tue Oct 11 2005

    His last years were very horrible i mean cmon he was like 20 years pro before he quit thats bad for his yardage look at a player like Randy Moss if Randy Moss goes 20 years pro he'll easily pass Jerry Rice. One of these players i list will pass Jerry Rices recieving yards in a season record Randy Moss, Torry Holt, and maybe Chad Johnson. Jerry rice was horrible in my opinion

  • by

    szinhonshu

    Thu Sep 22 2005

    Prior to his being drafted by the NFL, his college coach at Mississippi Valley said of Jerry Rice: "He could catch a BB at night." Little did he realize that he would retain this skill beyond his 40th birthday. Like Michael Jordan, Jerry Rice is an example of someone born with enormous natural ability that he then went on to hone through tireless training and practice.

  • by

    sheepdaddy

    Mon Sep 05 2005

    he's bad

  • by

    irishgit

    Sat Jul 30 2005

    Hands like flypaper and legs than ran routes with surgical precision. Perhaps the finest all-round receiver ever to play.

  • by

    doknizzle

    Thu Jul 21 2005

    Hands down the best reciever of all time. Ran perfect routes and caught just about every ball thrown at him.

  • by

    alpepper

    Thu Jul 21 2005

    Definitely the best receiver of all time. But not the best player of all time. While people are screaming at him to retire gracefully. I say God Bless him that, at 40+, he can still play NFL-caliber football. Alot of us over-40 people get tired just watching football.

  • by

    louiethe20th

    Tue Jul 19 2005

    The greatest hands ever,ran the greatest routes,was in the best shape and he was durable.His stats will never be rivaled.22,000+ yards and approaching 200 scores,unreal!

  • by

    sabasimba

    Mon Jul 18 2005

    Most prolific receiver of all time, but not necessarily the best. 49ers still win 5 rings without him (did win one in fact); Steelers might not have won any without Swann/Stallworth. Stats and numbers don't always tell the whole story...

  • by

    roadhouseray

    Tue Jun 07 2005

    I watched Jerry play during his career with the 49er's. He has always exemplified a great work ethic as well as terrific skills on the field. He plays the whole game - a great blocker and team player as well as the best pass catcher ever.

  • by

    bubblehead0774_7

    Sat Jun 04 2005

    Certainly the greatest WR of alltime. His numbers dwarf others much the same way Gretzkys do in Hockey. I just think Jim Brown was more dominant in his day then any other Football player ever. The guy retired at 29 and held the alltime record for 20+ yrs. Plus, nobody will ever break his 5.2 yds per carry career mark.

  • by

    mvp2005

    Sun May 15 2005

    This man can take the worst QB and make them into a MVP overnight. The heart and skill he has poured into his abilities can be seen in his numerous statistic smashings. even at the age of 40 he's got better game then half the nfl recievers.

  • by

    sfalconer

    Wed Apr 27 2005

    Simply the best of all time and I do not think any one can argue about that.

  • by

    mtbmlb

    Tue Mar 08 2005

    In my mind, the best wide receiver of all time.

  • by

    ni8504

    Thu Feb 17 2005

    There should be no question as to his rating...and as for all you people who gave 1s, did you not see his performance on monday night? Look, this guy is still productive when thrown the ball, did anyone notice how he didnt even have ONE pass thrown to him in the seattle vs st louis game? Gee, I wonder how the seahawks lost that one. Get real guys, far as WRs go there is no comparrison. He is not selfish, nor egomaniacal, he merely loves the game; if you fools choose to hate him for trying to do what he can at his age, then that's your problem, but don't go calling him selfish. You know what happens when your star WR is selfish? Look at the Vikings. They have an incredibly talented team, but they can't seem to win. Jerry never has, and NEVER would cause the discord that Randy does, he just contributes. Apparently you don't realize that when you are the greatest EVER you want the ball because it IS GOOD FOR YOUR TEAM. When you have a playmaker like Rice things happen when he has the ball... Read more

  • by

    kavaholic

    Sat Jan 01 2005

    pshhh...still is good...better than most at 40 years old...greatest reciever of ALL TIME!!!

  • by

    vfoliaki

    Sat Jan 01 2005

    He was so awesome. He is by far the best at his position.

  • by

    292crew

    Sat Jan 01 2005

    Duhhh... not even a question. Greatest Of All Time!!

  • by

    coach_rod

    Sun Dec 26 2004

    Stayed too long.

  • by

    revilo

    Fri Dec 03 2004

    He's egotistical, and over the hill. Having a number taken out of retirement for him was ridiculous. He did have Montana and Young. But lets not forget Montana and Young had Rice. He's the best ever, no argument.

  • by

    ynsurf

    Tue Nov 16 2004

    Best WR ever, period

  • by

    5xworldchamps

    Fri Nov 12 2004

    best ever at the position,end of story. Sucks that he couldnt remain a 49er though!!

  • by

    hutsonwho

    Wed Jun 23 2004

    8 touchdowns in Super Bowls. How can you argue with that?

  • by

    runswithwhitew_olves

    Fri Jun 11 2004

    It so fun watch him play.

  • by

    lahell84

    Thu Jun 03 2004

    see english professor's comment below. I hope he's under 10. lol!

  • by

    215scotty215

    Mon May 10 2004

    He is very goodat catching at first i didn`t believe that he was good but than when i seen him playin football in a game he is good he can catch..

  • by

    123kid

    Sun May 02 2004

    the greatest wideout ever made big plays when it was needed most.

  • by

    justthefactsma_n

    Sat Apr 24 2004

    The best receiver ever. Thanks to Joe Montana. Even Jerry has stated that he would not have the unbeleivable numbers he has without Joe at the helm. Average player with any other team a.k.a. Raiders although much older there. Numbers don't lie. He's the best receiver ever....

  • by

    ilovefootball

    Wed Mar 31 2004

    he is on top and he is a wide reiceiver. He is a person who can get an m.v.p award with Joe montana on his team since the first m.v.p choice is usually a qb I consider that good enough to be considered great.

  • by

    texaslonghorns

    Tue Mar 16 2004

    GOOD BUT STUPID AND 2 OLD!

  • by

    canadasucks

    Sat Mar 06 2004

    Selfish, egomaniacal. . .but must be included with the all-time greats. Racks up numbers with different quarterbacks AND yards-after-the-catch. The number of touchdowns is mind-boggling. Tough and smart, he could have played in any era.

  • by

    tdubya71

    Wed Jan 14 2004

    Jerry is the greatest receiver, followed closely by Don Hutson.

  • by

    fwmorris

    Tue Dec 30 2003

    A great player, but somewhat lucky to be beneficial of the wc offense and two great qb's. None the less, I must give credit where credit is due... he's one of the best of all time.

  • by

    catchman42000

    Tue Sep 23 2003

    you should've stopped while you were good!

  • by

    philkid3

    Sat Sep 06 2003

    Although his numbers were inflated because of his QBs and his systems, he'd still probably have all the records if he'd played in normal curcumstances, and he's still a Pro Bowler past 40. Don Hutson is close, but Rice is the best.