topic image

James Stewart

American actor Website

Approval Rate: 90%

90%Approval ratio

Reviews 49

Sort by:
  • by

    wolfmantip

    Sun Nov 22 2009

    One of the Great actors to emerge from the era of the Silver Screen,Always good no matter What roll he played , My Favorite? Flight of the Phoenix.

  • by

    christy4

    Wed Mar 04 2009

    There is just something about Jimmy Stewart. He is not the most good looking of the classic actors, but he is the ONE who always melts my heart the most. He seems so humble, so sweet in the most simple "good ol boy" kind of way. Whether he is stuttering through his lines or trying to keep a tune, he is just relateable. Not suave but sincere. I love him.

  • by

    spike65

    Sun Apr 20 2008

    Jimmy Stewart was an American icon. I won't say I enjoyed every movie he was in but I always enjoyed his performance. Some good ones: "Destry Rides Again", "Harvey", "It's a Wonderful Life", all his work for Hitchcock, and most every western he was part of.

  • by

    binnietheblood_ybooh

    Thu Mar 27 2008

    My mouth's bleedin', Burt! My mouth's bleedin'!

  • by

    molfan

    Thu Mar 27 2008

    I loved James Stewart in It's a Wonderful Life and Harvey. I liked his acting style. He seemed like he could be the guy next door. In Harvey he did a great job playing Elwood P. Dowd the kindly man who had an invisible pooka {rabbit form} for a friend.   he was also great as the man named Jeff confined to a wheelchair with a broken leg and watches the rear window neighbors and swears he sees a murder in Rear Window. one of my favorite classic actors.

  • by

    theman2992

    Wed Mar 12 2008

    Stewart was one of the greatest classic actors. Everyone knew who he was and what he was in. He was a great actor.

  • by

    karmamo

    Sun Dec 23 2007

    yyop...

  • by

    victor83

    Thu Mar 08 2007

    The "best" actor ever....tough one....kind of like best guitar player...but Jimmy might just be the best ever to grace the silver screen.

  • by

    aenzhru

    Fri Feb 16 2007

    Iunderstand why he's the highest rated actor on this website. Very poignant, powerful actor, very expressive in his emotions. Not only is he very emotional but intelligent dialogue can be written for him as well. And although he doesn't portray a wide array of personalities, his roles can vary a lot from that of a city denizen...to cowboy...to anything in between. Very charismatic individual too.

  • by

    genghisthehun

    Fri Feb 16 2007

    Top of the heap! He probably is in the top five actors of all time. He probably was the most beloved actor from the classical era.

  • by

    greggorange

    Sat Jan 06 2007

    The best. A class act. How could you not like this guy? Well, he was a staunch Republican... I read somewhere that he hated all of the usual Hollywood trappings. He lived in a moderate sized house, drove around in a Dodge Dart and bought his suits at JC Penny's. He gave tons of money away to charitable organizations and was just an all around good guy. He was also a pretty good actor, even if he got to where he kind of played the same type of character in most of his movies after about 1960. Nevertheless, they just don't make 'em like Jimmy Stewart anymore.

  • by

    gladyslouise

    Wed Jan 03 2007

    Love him

  • by

    jenesse

    Mon Oct 23 2006

    One of the best ever! I could go on about his roles, quality perfomances... but the last thing I remember is an appearance on the The Tonight Show with Johnny Carson. He read a poem that he wrote after his dog died. Very moving, bittersweet and the audience along with Johnny - was clearly moved as well. The poem was no major work of art, but the emotion and sincerity couldn't be missed.

  • by

    soulsaxy

    Sun Oct 22 2006

    If there is nothing else said about this Prince Of Hollywood. It may be said that he made so many fine good quality films for families. That this alone should give him a 5.0. But he was one of my favorite actors. I do not know where to start. So here is just a few that I remember. The truly greatest family picture especially around the Holidays is Its A Wonderful LIfe. Mr. Smith Goes To Washington(Loved It), Destry Rides Again(Loved It), The Mortal Storm a picture about a breakup of a family in Europe because of Nazism. It came out in the 40s when the World was in chaos. It was important film as to the dangers and what and why we were fighting against(hatred of races)!!! Another *unique film* was called Rope, see it if you can. It takes place in one room all movie. It about the far Superior Mind and how warped it can get when murder is superiority's only reason. I'd keep going but since I have seen about 45 of his movies and never was rarely disappointed in the enjoyment of his movie... Read more

  • by

    hello99

    Fri Oct 20 2006

    he's a good actor

  • by

    virilevagabond

    Fri Sep 22 2006

    For an actor with such distinct mannerisms and voice, James "Jimmy" Stewart surprisingly had a varied acting a career (e.g. westerns, thrillers, and drama), and his avoidance of being typecast is really a testament to his acting talents. When a part called for Stewart, there really was no substitute. The bottom line is that if Jimmy Stewart doesn't deserve five stars as a "classic" actor, who does?

  • by

    bassman44113

    Sat Sep 16 2006

    Jimmy Stewart has always been one of my favorite actors. He has had many roles in some of the best movies ever made. And those movies were the best in large part because he was in them. We need more actors like him today. The only one that even comes close is Tom Hanks, another favorite of mine.

  • by

    frankswildyear_s

    Fri Nov 25 2005

    Dig a little and there are some surprising roles that go beyong the typical all American nice guy persona that he is famous for. In fact you don't even have to look any further than the films he made with Alfred Hitchcock.

  • by

    edt4226d

    Mon Oct 31 2005

    Sort of the Tom Hanks of his day, although Stewart was always in far superior movies than Hanks...

  • by

    drimzef

    Tue Oct 25 2005

    This is my favorite American actor. I identified with his characters, he played them so well. He was clumsy, he stuttered, but he meant good, and eventually he got there. That's basically the story of a whole lot of his films, and that's what I love about his work. Mr Smith goes to Washington, Liberty Valance, The flight of the Phoenix: from the 30's to the 60's Stewart played men that were no heroes, but still did heroic things because they felt the moral obligation to do so. James Stewart played human's and he was an expert at it.

  • by

    ctmountaineer

    Fri Aug 19 2005

    He's the best... George C. Scott is next.

  • by

    wolfie

    Thu Aug 18 2005

    Stewart played the simple honest American in his films- but he never really varied his style from one film to the next. I liked him in the 'FBI Story' and 'Strategic Air Command'. He was also rather in interesting in Hitchcocks 'Vertigo' and 'The Rear Window.

  • by

    lion_in_winter

    Mon Aug 01 2005

    Stewart played an 'ordinary American' in most of his films- which was fine. However his range was rather narrow, and that is the reason I give him 3 stars. I enjoyed him in 'The Rear Window' 'The Man Who Knew Too Much' 'SAC' and 'It's a Wonderful Life'. And his work in 'Mr Smith Goes to Washington' was one of the best films of 1939. But thats it. 'The FBI story' are 'Vertigo' are enjoyable- but he seems stiff and bored.

  • by

    sixty7a

    Thu Apr 14 2005

    An all time great actor.

  • by

    matai674

    Tue Apr 12 2005

    One of my very favorites!

  • by

    randyman

    Tue Mar 29 2005

    America's favorite movie good guy and one of the best western actors ever. Too many movies to list but Winchester 73 and It's a Wonderful life are two of my favorites. A great actor.

  • by

    dj1vike

    Sun Mar 13 2005

    An American treasure to both stage and screen. Bravo!

  • by

    barbkaye57

    Thu Jan 20 2005

    I like James Stuart but his acting abilities weren't all that great. He played the same stammering guy all the time. One of my all time favorite movies though corny is It's a Wonderful Life. I can't miss it at Christmas every year. All in all I give Jimmy Stuart a 5 for personality, a 2 for acting ability and a 3 for over all.

  • by

    callitdownthel_ine75

    Sun Dec 19 2004

    If Hollywood sought one actor who could captivate his audiences with his sincere portrayals, it was James Stewart. To watch this man in all his glory in such legendary movies as 'Mr. Smith Goes To Washington' and 'It's A Wonderful Life' is to watch a master thespian working his craft to the hilt. Moreover, Jimmy Stewart was a man of great moral courage as he volunteered himself for service in the military during World War II for defense of the nation he so loved and cherished. Simply, Stewart was first a great American, and then a great actor.

  • by

    kb76787f

    Fri Sep 17 2004

    2nd only to the Duke. Great personality and great actor.

  • by

    rjmst80

    Mon Aug 30 2004

    A class act with tremendous range and depth...truly one of the all-time greats.

  • by

    bboop2de

    Tue Aug 10 2004

    A classic.

  • by

    poseidonfla

    Thu Jul 29 2004

    OK, I'll give James Stewart a 5 rating because he deserves it. But, in all my opinion Humphrey Bogart is the best.

  • by

    mceachm1

    Fri Jul 09 2004

    Class act all the way. He did it all comedy, drama & western and did it well. He was also a great talk show guest; remember the times on the Carson Show. What a HOOT!! Miss him; will never be another to replace him.

  • by

    louiethe20th

    Sat May 29 2004

    Jimmy was great! Period!!! His role in Its A Wonderful Life was unforgetable.

  • by

    levelburt

    Wed Apr 21 2004

    Not my personal favorite but a great actor, no doubt about that.

  • by

    solenoid_dh

    Wed Apr 14 2004

    He came across so well on screen because he was a rare man of integrity in real life. Hollywood needs many more like him.

  • by

    boonta23

    Sat Apr 03 2004

    Excellent job in Rear Window.

  • by

    tvtator

    Fri Feb 27 2004

    James Stewart was a really good actor. Sure his image is that of the good midwestern aw shucks shy kind of guy, but Stewart was more than that image. He could pull off complicated, and challenging roles and yes play the good guys that we all love. Just watch him in It's a Wonderful Life, Vertigo, Rear Window, Mr Smith Goes to Washington and even The Philadelphia Story each movie is different, each character is different but these are just a sample of movies that will show Stewart's range.

  • by

    liberty11

    Wed Jan 21 2004

    The General is a great one.

  • by

    missmellie

    Wed Dec 17 2003

    If there are people foolish enough to think Jimmy Stewart was bland, they have NOT watched enough of his vast array of films...and they know very little of his life. I agree with the person who said that few in Hollywood have been willing to lay it on the line like he did. This man was a TRUE American Hero...and not just a screen hero. He actually served to protect his country...not like a vast majority of the Hollywood wimps out there today.

  • by

    kolby1973

    Thu Nov 27 2003

    As another fellow reviewer said, just not very impressed over here. Bland, bland, bland !

  • by

    irishgit

    Sun Nov 09 2003

    I've never been hellishly impressed.

  • by

    cherrysoda99

    Fri Oct 31 2003

    Jimmy always cracked me up with his expressions and voice. Especially in It's a Wonderful Life. I love that movie and I watch it every Christmas with my parents. He was a brillient actor. And I wish he was still around.

  • by

    scarletfeather

    Thu Oct 23 2003

    Sweet and wholesome, the quintessential Everyman.

  • by

    president_x_d

    Fri Oct 17 2003

    Class act.

  • by

    marjorieb

    Fri Oct 17 2003

    Always adored Jimmy, especially in Harvey and the Glen Miller Story. Jimmy was a good man who was devoted to doing what he felt was right. Very un-Hollywood, which made him so likable.

  • by

    rich2002

    Mon Aug 11 2003

    No one better!

  • by

    hardwire

    Mon Jul 14 2003

    A heartwarming and just good person, Jimmy Stewart is the best actor ever. It was like he didn't read the script and was just saying what was on his mind. His movies convey a lot of emotion because you don't want to see anything bad happen to his character, because he makes you feel for them.