Jack Nicholson

American actor and filmmaker Website

Approval Rate: 82%

82%Approval ratio

Reviews 46

Sort by:
  • by

    lisabv2010

    Sat Jan 23 2010

    The Shinning Nough Said!

  • by

    rjohnson71

    Mon Oct 05 2009

    The first Batman movie wouldn't have been as good without Jack Nicholson. I also liked his performance in 'The postman always rings twice'. Nicholson got his start on two episodes of the Andy Griffith Show. He starred as an innocent man on trial for theft and as a dad whose baby was abandoned. I give MR.Nicholson a 5 star rating.

  • by

    rjy22751

    Wed Jul 15 2009

    Of the many actors that played the Joker from Batman, he was the best of them!

  • by

    x_factor_z

    Sun Jun 07 2009

    Although I'm a Laker hating Spurs fan, I have to give him 4 stars.

  • by

    ross_249

    Mon Jan 26 2009

    better in his younger days not as good now a days

  • by

    jedi58

    Wed Jan 14 2009

    Don't get me wrong, he's a good actor - but the only role I really remember this actor for is playing the Joker in Tim Burton's Batman movie.

  • by

    halloweengal81

    Sun Oct 12 2008

    duh it is jack. he is good

  • by

    frankswildyear_s

    Mon Sep 22 2008

    One of America's greats of the silver screen, he throws himself at every role he plays with his whole being, he has never phoned it in. And he can play it over the top or understated with equal pinache. Along with Michael Caine he is having one of the finest "third acts" in the history of movie careers, selecting roles that capitalize on his age and experience instead of denying them.UPDATE:  OK, I just saw The Bucket List on TV.  So he's phoned it in once.  I also started to notice that he's beginning to look like a Muppet of himself.

  • by

    dabdab

    Mon Sep 22 2008

    he was born to be an actor..really great actor.

  • by

    kitty77

    Sat Aug 16 2008

    Very creepy individual & a pompous ass.  I've never understood his appeal at all.  He isn't that great an actor & he's always been ugly to me.  I don't understand what any woman sees in him since he has the morals of an alley cat-and that's insulting to alley cats.  I hear that he's slowed down some since he's getting so old & even uglier.  Just another creepy horn-dog.

  • by

    blonde_hair_purple_converse_and_scrubs884

    Tue Aug 12 2008

    dynamic

  • by

    ms_206189056

    Sat Jul 05 2008

    great actor about schmidt

  • by

    elaine681

    Fri Jul 04 2008

    Awesome actor. Loved the Shining.

  • by

    kimf2a9f

    Tue Jun 24 2008

    oh wow...love his voice!

  • by

    jennifer

    Fri Jun 20 2008

    He's a great actor...but personally something about him just kinda creeps me out.

  • by

    robin391

    Sun Jun 01 2008

    The Departed rules

  • by

    myspace_17490481

    Tue Apr 29 2008

    He creeps me out.

  • by

    musicfan19

    Wed Apr 09 2008

    a real good actor, he just rubs me the wrong way.

  • by

    twansalem

    Thu Apr 03 2008

    My personal favorite Nicholson character was the Joker. I just read an interview where he claimed he was upset that he wasn't even considered for the role in the new Batman movie.

  • by

    trebon1038

    Wed Apr 02 2008

    Wow, this guy is a legend....even if I don't like the movie (witches of Eastwick comes to mind) I still think he is great. He has done everything from comedy to horror and succeeds at all of them!

  • by

    branroyal

    Fri Sep 14 2007

    Nicholson has been nominated as an actor for an Academy Award 12 times and has won three times (twice for Best Actor and once as Best Supporting Actor). He is tied with Walter Brennan for most acting wins by a male actor (three), and second to Katharine Hepburn for most acting wins overall (four). He is also one of only two actors nominated for an Academy Award for acting (either lead or supporting) in every decade since the 1960s; the other is Michael Caine. He has won seven Golden Globe Awards, and received a Kennedy Center Honor in 2001. In 1994, he became one of the youngest actors to be awarded the American Film Institute's Life Achievement Award. He is best known for his films Chinatown, One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest, Stanley Kubrick's The Shining, As Good as It Gets, Tim Burton's Batman, and Martin Scorsese's The Departed.

  • by

    spike65

    Fri Aug 24 2007

    A consumate professional. Enjoyed almost every movie he's been in. Even the not-so-great ones.

  • by

    veronicaj

    Thu Jun 28 2007

    Absolutely terrific actor, not to mention one that once made many a woman swoon.  His manic smile could offten appear maniacal, but he was always able to charm the fans.  My favorite movies:1. One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest2. Shining3. Chinatown4. Batman!

  • by

    lucy2f31

    Wed May 30 2007

    Always seems to play a bad guy or kook.  He's been around a long time, though and still is going strong.  He could be considered in the classic category as well as current

  • by

    silverfox

    Sun May 13 2007

    He's an icon. He's been acting since the late '50s and is still going strong. His occasional schtick and unusual mannerisms have never put me off. He's versatile, good in drama -- from good guys (e.g., Chinatown) to bad guys (e.g., The Departed), comedy (e.g., As Good as it Gets), and things in between (e.g., Batman, The Shining). He's been nominated for Oscars at least 12 times and has won at least 3 times. I've always liked him since the first time I saw him in a film, and he hasn't disappointed me very often.

  • by

    jeremy00081

    Tue Sep 12 2006

    Jack is one of a kind. He's got excellant on-screen presence, of course, but he creeps me out a little.

  • by

    blessedbesiame_se

    Thu Aug 03 2006

    I have to say that I absolutely love this man! He is in some of my all time favorite movies with "As Good As It Gets" right at the top of that list. I have not seen all of his work, but I can't think of anything that I have watched with him in it that I didn't like.

  • by

    tototoo

    Thu Apr 27 2006

    He was in so many great movies and I think his acting is terrific.

  • by

    inoitall

    Mon Dec 26 2005

    Good. Not much more than that.

  • by

    outsideblitz

    Tue Dec 13 2005

    Probably the creepiest and strangest actor still around, but still does movie roles good. Scary as hell in The Shining.

  • by

    bimdan

    Fri Nov 25 2005

    From watching him courtside at Laker games and listening to his views on things when he makes appearances on talk shows, I don't think I'd care to know him personally. However, he is one heck of a versatile actor. His persona in "The Shining" has to be one of the most riveting of all time.

  • by

    adc103051

    Mon Oct 24 2005

    Weirdo, nuf said.

  • by

    canadasucks

    Mon Sep 26 2005

    Look, I love Jack. . .but he's been gravy-training the same schtick for 30 years. . .not that he isn't entertaining- but he's somewhat overrated as a 'great' actor despite some memorable roles. He's good at what he does and he does a terrific job of staying in his comfort zone.

  • by

    goldilocks

    Mon Sep 26 2005

    He's had more sorry roles than good ones. To me he's overrated and acts with the same expressions on his face over and over again. It got to the point that when he was in a movie, I couldn't see his character...only Jack. I won't even watch anymore films he is in because I know I will not like them.

  • by

    genghisthehun

    Mon Sep 26 2005

    I have liked many of the movies in which he stars; but face it folks, he always plays the same part. He always plays Jack "smartass" Nicholson. I guess that's ok since he gets all the adulations.

  • by

    kittenstocats

    Thu Aug 25 2005

    Very good actor. A natural talent. I think he is best at the funnier movies but I really liked him best in The witches of eastwick and Terms of endearment.

  • by

    lotus_moon

    Sat Aug 13 2005

    The best role ever was him playing the Devil but he is great in everything imho.

  • by

    pierrefrancis

    Sun Jul 31 2005

    As a thespian, Nicholson stands with the Gods. Indeed, I rate him as the greatest cinema actor of all time - a star who has played characters ranging from the exquisitely complex to the manically boisterous. Jack seduces...and how!

  • by

    jukeboxhero

    Mon Jun 27 2005

    Anger Management was hilarious

  • by

    edt4226d

    Thu Jun 16 2005

    It's hard not to compare the contemporary careers of Jack and Bob DeNiro. Both are actors of extraordinary talent. DeNiro seems to have resigned himself to doing unchallenging roles in uninspired movies, which gets him a steady paycheck but I can't imagine he takes much pride in his work of the past 10 or so years. Nicholson, too, has made his share of average, even mediocre, movies. Just when you start thinking he's going to reprise his patented Nicholson shtick yet again, he astonishes you with the power and intensity of his performance. I can never forget his role in Hoffa. Not a great movie, but Nicholson was astonishing. In 10 or less minutes, I forgot I was watching Nicholson. I was watching Hoffa. To me, the hardest thing for an actor to do is play someone famous from our own lifetimes. Anthony Hopkins did it in Nixon, Bruno Ganz did it in the recent Downfall, and Nicholson did it in Hoffa. A truly extraordinary actor. Yes, he'll do something trite like Anger Management but he'l... Read more

  • by

    wid71649

    Thu May 19 2005

    I've been watching and loving his movies for years. His best roles were in one Flew Over The Cukoos Nest and As Good As It Gets. Hell, I evern loved him in Witches Of Eastwick. He steals the show in every movie he's in.

  • by

    caligula

    Mon Apr 18 2005

    Facsinating actor (maybe not a lot of range, but who cares?) I can watch anything with him in it.

  • by

    leesburg

    Sat Apr 09 2005

    No questions hands down the greatest actor of all time- 16 Golden Globe noms- seven wins and 12 Oscar noms- three wins. A list of his five star performances are par none Little Shop Of Horror Easy Rider Five Easy Pieces King Of Marvin Garden Carnal Knowledge Last Detail Chinatown The Fortune One Flew Over The Cukoos Nest The Shining Reds Terms Of Endearment Prizzi Honor Ironweed Batman Hoffa A Few Good Men The Pledge As Good As It Gets About Schmidt Somethings Gotta Give Chinatown and Ironweed rank at the top of any movie acting of all time. He is the one actor who is consistently putting out great performances.

  • by

    texasyankee

    Thu Mar 31 2005

    I would have given him a 5 except for all of his most recent work has done nothing but deeply disappointed me.

  • by

    maomania

    Tue Mar 01 2005

    A good actor, but overrated in my eyes. He usually uses the same facial expressions over and over again. i do enjoy him though.

  • by

    magneto101

    Fri Feb 25 2005

    jack the lad, who better to play the joker in batman, the shining was class so was one flew over the cuckoo nest. jack is ugly but his acting is nice hehehe never rub another mans rubarb