topic image

Hong Kong, China

City and special administrative region of China on the eastern Pearl River Delta in South China Website

Approval Rate: 80%

80%Approval ratio

Reviews 25

Sort by:
  • by

    simplyla

    Mon Sep 28 2009

    I'm not a big fan of the island itself or Kowloon (I'm not a "big city" person), but some of the smaller islands within Hong Kong (Cheung Chau being my favorite) are quite a find. Letterboxers can find plenty to search for throughout Hong Kong, and hikers have several options for getting outside the hustle and bustle of Big City Hong Kong.

  • by

    skoolz

    Sat Jan 31 2009

    HK is a fun place, but it has the typical REALLY FREAKING RUDE CHINESE... really rude people and be sure you dont get spit on by people, or that you have to take a dump in a practically open toilet on the street... disgusting But yeah, its a good time. Food is good. Women there 'for tourists' are pretty hot.

  • by

    shroomwoman

    Tue Jan 13 2009

    Hong Kong is a really attractive city. I spent three days there in October, and I had a wonderful time. The typical tourist destinations (e.g. Victoria Peak, Stanley Market, Repulse Bay, etc.) are definitely worth seeing. Upon arrival, I took a half-day motorcoach tour, which was a great (and relatively inexpensive) way to get oriented. I enjoyed checking out the different markets around town, too. My favorite was the goldfish market, which is a block or so of shops selling goldfish of all sizes and colors. Talk about a great photo opportunity! Overall, however, the shopping was a bust in my opinion. Most of the shopping was for high-end, designer items, and I saw very few bargains. The highlight of Hong Kong was having dinner at Hutong, a Chinese restaurant located in a tower that overlooks the skyline. The view was not to be believed, and the food was outstanding. (By the way, I made reservations online ahead of time, which was definitely the way to go.) If I can arrange it on my nex... Read more

  • by

    fb577835171

    Tue Nov 06 2007

    I love it! It is so active. Not necessary to go to posh retaurant. You can enjoy nice meak at local restaurant.

  • by

    halo1111

    Thu Aug 16 2007

    it is awesome!!!

  • by

    ancientpk

    Fri Jul 27 2007

    I went to Hong Kong for a couple days and I loved it. The city is very clean and there are very few limited areas that you can smoke. City is very safe with police patroling everywhere. Downside about Hong Kong is that everything there is more expensive than in the States.

  • by

    aquamaureen

    Wed Feb 01 2006

    We were Hong Kong for Chinese New Year in February 2004 and just loved it. In fact, Chinese New year is a good time to go because so many residents leave the city to return to their hometowns. We got a good rate in a hotel overlooking Victoria Park and saw both the fireworks on New Years Eve and the parade on New Years Day. Must do's include taking the tram to the top of the Peak, visiting Stanley and Aberdeen (we took city buses), and riding around on the old-fashioned streetcars. If you have time, cross the border into Shenzhen. The shopping is cheaper there. Because we were living in China at the time, we actually flew in and out of Shenzhen as those flights are considered domestic and are cheaper than flights to Hong Kong.

  • by

    jimmie

    Sat Jul 16 2005

    My wife and I spent a month in Hong Kong in 2004. We came to love it very much. Hong Kong is extremely clean and very safe. Our favorite places were Stanley, Victoria Peak, Lantau Island, the Hong Kong Museum, the Jade Market on Kowloon, and Hollywood Road. I would especially recommend a visit to Stanley. It has a fantastic market and a number of funky small restaurants at the dockside. There was a Japanese prison camp there during World War II. Everyone should visit the camp cemetery that is maintained by the British Commonwealth Graves Commission. There are hundreds of British, American, European, Indian, and Chinese soldiers and civilians buried there. Annually my wife will be teaching a course at a private college in Hong Kong. So for one month each year Hong Kong will be home.

  • by

    hangover_22

    Tue Jan 11 2005

    This is definitely the best destination for any trips. I went there a year ago, and it was so beautiful, the shopping was great, and I totally fell in love with the place!

  • by

    aboutagirl

    Tue Jan 11 2005

    I love this place. Before I actually went there, I had doubts. I didn't know what to expect, but it was so fun. I had a great time shopping, the items were all so cheap, the view was really beautiful too. Just love this city! Recommend for everyone! Will definitely go back!

  • by

    obsessivetrave_ller

    Thu Aug 26 2004

    Hong Kong is definitely one of the cleanest cities I've been to -- people who said it's dirty must have gone there before the $1500 fine was imposed on littering. The MTR (underground, metro) is so chic! Stainless steel seats, flat screen plasma TVs...this city is obviously very rich! Make sure you get an Octopus card, which is like a semi-debit card and you can use it for the MTR, trains, airport-express, buses, ferries and even some shops and restaurants!! (London had come up with something similar but didn't really work out that well) The shops are fantastic -- some places are expensive, but if you're not into Gucci or Versace, most things are a lot cheaper than Europe/the US. Make sure you go to Central at night, as the architecture is simply amazing. Oh and I'm not a big fan of chinese food (yea i know, i'm a freak) though I ate so much in HK I felt like a goldfish... Great city, full of life, nice people...just go there!!!

  • by

    numbah16tdhaha

    Thu Jul 29 2004

    Hong Kong was good enough for me to want to go back. For a month this time.

  • by

    laotzu

    Wed Jun 23 2004

    What's that smell? Oh, it's the cow stomach on display in the windows. This place is dirty and smelly. You are constantly battered with Watch and Suit salesmen and people are trying to rip you off. They have taken capatalism to satanic levels in Hong Kong. To heck with this dump.

  • by

    help_me

    Sat Jun 21 2003

    the skyline at night is one of the most beautiful i have ever seen! full of energy and life!

  • by

    sabel2cb

    Mon Mar 03 2003

    HK is the greatest shopping city in the world. I bought hand-made suits, eyeglasses, etc. Everything I bought in HK has held-up well. The people are friendly, and enough speak English to make touring easy. We took a Star ferry tour of the Harbor with another couple we meet on our tour. We were the only people on a huge ferry and were treated like royalty. The view of the skyline from Kowloon rivals the NYC skyline. My wife and I never felt unsafe in HK.

  • by

    burntisland

    Fri Jan 03 2003

    I will give Hong Kong 4 stars because I went there before the British returned control to China. This is a very interesting and vibrant city. On the back side is an area known as Aberdeen which was basically a government slum and a junk port, however there is a very good floating restaurant there called Tai Pak. My one vivid memory of Hong Kong (and I'm surprised I remember this incident) was when I OD'd and fell off a bench in Tiger Balm Gardens.

  • by

    azlan649

    Fri Aug 02 2002

    A big city like Hong Kong is so crowded and has a very high crime rate

  • by

    saiful

    Fri Aug 02 2002

    There are many robbers,gangters and criminals in Hong Kong as it is associated with triads.

  • by

    t_rex410

    Thu Aug 16 2001

    GO to Hong Kong! Great Food and friendly people. No doubt is dirty, but the city is full of flavour. The only thing not so good about Hong Kong is those people who sell fake products, such as Shoes, bags and clothes

  • by

    redbobsled

    Fri Mar 09 2001

    Except if you go in July it will be ungodly hot and humid. Then you'll freeze to death when entering the super air conditioned buildings. But really, though, HK is such a great place to visit. Lots of shopping (of course), and the MTR (subway) is super convenient, efficient, and clean. Great restaurants - but potentially challenging if you are a vegetarian....like when you order some (you think) vegetarian soup and for some reason there are little salty pieces of ham in it.... Also, if you are a woman, and your shoe size is over 8 (in the US) good luck finding shoes. I wear a 10 and I'm 5'10". I could not find any shoes that would fit me. When I asked, the reaction was usually shock, horror, and laughter. that was frustrating since I like shopping for shoes. But I digress. Go check out the midlevels escalator, Victoria Peak, go wander around Kowloon up and down Nathan Road, check out the opal mine (they are so nice there and have great jewelery and great displays of how opals ... Read more

  • by

    hino6955jp

    Fri May 26 2000

    An exciting city. Who could not love this city. 100 times more charisma than Singapore.

  • by

    danc2947om

    Wed Feb 16 2000

    A splendid place for shopping. Most of stuff there are really cheap. They're more cheaper if you buy them in those night street vendors. The downside is they won't discount you that much if they know that you're a tourist. So, better learn the Chinese Mandarin or Cantonese. :) The food is good too.

  • by

    caro2251om

    Mon Jan 31 2000

    It's my mother's favorite city in the world! She likes it best at Christmas time. I enjoy the shopping bargains there.

  • by

    adam2112om

    Thu Dec 09 1999

    Fascinating city! Hope Communists never change it!

  • by

    ericthefederal_ist

    Tue Nov 30 1999

    HK has everything: From scyscrapers to being a meetingplace between maybe the two most important culture in the future: the Chinese & the American! :o)