Heineken reviews

Heineken

Pale lager beer with 5% alcohol by volume produced by the Dutch brewing company Heineken N.V. Heineken beer is sold in a green bottle with a red star Website

Approval Rate: 75%

75%Approval ratio

Reviews 46

Sort by:
  • by

    twansalem

    Thu Mar 24 2011

    It's good when it's not skunky, but I've had my share of skunky Heineken. I've been to several events with a minimal beer selection where your choice is Heineken or Budweiser, and to be honest I'll usually take the Bud just in case the Heineken has gone bad.

  • by

    barlowboy

    Wed Mar 09 2011

    Overrated, oh yeah did I say overrated? I drink this when I need to remember what an overrated beer tastes like.

  • by

    thedemiurge

    Fri Feb 18 2011

    Pretty bad, skunky often in the bottle and tasteless when not.

  • by

    samadamsfan

    Mon Oct 25 2010

    It's not a great beer, but it's not terrible either, not a fan of beer in bottles that are anything but brown bottles though. Heineken has a bold taste that is what I like, however, is skunky, and that is was deters certain beers from becoming great.

  • by

    pcpeter774

    Thu Aug 05 2010

    Good stepping stone toward craftbrews. Awfully over priced for what it is.

  • by

    bendekruif

    Mon Jun 14 2010

    the other night my wife and I decided to share a six pack of heineken light. Normally we do enjoy Heineken very much and were truley dissapointed in the results of what we had just opened. We first got a smell from the bottle like it was a skunk and the taste was not pleasnt at all. We tried to muster through it in the hopes that it would get better but it never did. from now on we know that heineken light is one of the worst beers on the market and will just stick to its better half, regular heineken.

  • by

    doctor_of_madness

    Tue Jun 08 2010

    Heineken was once known mockingly as the Budweiser of Europe. Now Budweiser itself holds that title. At one point in time, Heineken was by far the top imported beer in America. Then, as now, it was all due to marketing. At its best it is inoffensive. As often as not it is "skunked", a victim of green bottle disease. I only drink it when it is the lesser of brewed evils (at weddings and other catered affairs).

  • by

    wyckes1313

    Mon Jun 07 2010

    I would say more like skunk piss. As soon as you open the bottle, that's what you smell...skunk roadkill. The light version however is not skunky, and much more drinkable.

  • by

    charliekoopa

    Sun Jun 06 2010

    I don't understand the rave about this glorified, imported and bottled Dutch piss. I had one about a decade ago and hated every painful sip, but over the years I have occasionally tried to give it chances. People have brought it to parties I have been at, and knowing that I am a connoisseur of beer will offer me one and I will accept. After popping the top I will immediately remember why I don't like this one. As soon as the cap comes off, you get an overly apparent urine smell that is even more pronounced as it hits your tongue. Forget this one! I'm sure I could drink a case of Beast or Icehouse and piss it back into Heineken bottles and it would taste better.

  • by

    6mmmadman

    Tue May 18 2010

    All around good beer. Great to have on hand for any occasion. It's not spectacular, just good.

  • by

    jimxzk

    Thu Apr 15 2010

    i love heineken one of my favorite beer out there i could drink a case of it

  • by

    avantinnovatio_ns

    Tue Mar 30 2010

    While this is a very popular beer with Americans it's not a great example of a quality beer. This mass produced lager is high bitterness and low in flavor.

  • by

    irishgit

    Mon Mar 01 2010

    About two stars for the beer and at least four for the marketing, which has convinced a good part of the North American beer market that this is a premium product. It's essentially a run of the mill European lager which isn't even the best beer in Holland. It's a step up from rodent urine like Budweiser, but not a gigantic one.

  • by

    medgarevers

    Mon Mar 01 2010

    Holland does something right!

  • by

    roastingmallow_s

    Thu Feb 11 2010

    very drinkable compared to most regular beer but I like the light better.

  • by

    joltcola

    Mon Feb 01 2010

    its a pretty good smooth beer. ive only always had the big bottles so they get ruined and skunked but still it has a certain charm to it. i would put it in the same vein with bud, st. pauli, newcastle, asahi, sapporo, dos equis etc.

  • by

    jake_armitage

    Sat Jan 16 2010

    A very drinkable beer, but if you have spent time in Holland talking to the Dutch people (I have) they think it is akin to our Budweiser, a kind of standard cheap beer. (It is the cheapest name-brand beer next to Amstel Light there, except if you try to buy it in Amsterdam in which case they hike up the price because American tourists will pay for it). I think it has a great clean taste, but is not a premium beer... A great middle of the road beer.

  • by

    tappakeg

    Sat Nov 28 2009

    This is not the Heineken that I experienced back in the 70's and 80's. I have tried it at restaurants simply because the only offerings were mass-produced American lagers, and found it to be underwhelming. I was recently given a 12 pack of bottles. My brother and I agree; this beer has a strange berry-like nose and aftertaste, completely lacking in hops bite.

  • by

    gris2575

    Wed Oct 21 2009

    Pretty good from the Tap, Otherwise, not much to sing about. Gets the job done, but Not my favorite, then again, I prefer Ale.

  • by

    lma3113

    Tue Jul 07 2009

    Heineken is a decent beer. The flavor isn't has heavy as some other beers, which is refreshing. If you go to Amsterdam you will see it everywhere, but try to try something you can't get in the states.

  • by

    entranced

    Sat Jul 04 2009

    People have started to realize that Americans are beer dumb. If you can fizzy, flavorless, piss colored beer all day, then certainly they can sell you a skunked import. Tastes like a lot of American beers, just skunked and slightly more flavor.

  • by

    imogen

    Sat Jun 20 2009

    I have heard that Heineken in Holland tastes much better than Heineken that is exported. I used to like this beer a lot, but that was when I was just beginning to enjoy beer. However, now I rarely drink it because it kind of tastes like your average "light beer" but without the annoying aftertaste of most American light beers.

  • by

    frinji

    Sat Jun 20 2009

    My favoriye. good taste, goes down smooth, and gets the job done

  • by

    ryan_c

    Tue Jun 02 2009

    Heineken is a decent berr. It has a crisp taste, without too much of an aftertaste. It is not to expensive, which is an added plus.

  • by

    mo918c5d

    Fri May 29 2009

    Out of all the beers I've had, there hasn't been as big of a disparity between tap and bottle. In a bottle Heineken is nothing special, almost skunky. On tap, it's so much smoother and it smells considerably better. Anyone else feel the same about this beer?

  • by

    rpdlit

    Tue May 26 2009

    its ok... its a lot better in amsterdam at the brewery

  • by

    synalo

    Wed May 13 2009

    I love this beers taste, but i always feel like it takes to many to get me drunk. And that's not good because it's pretty expensive.

  • by

    saas593b

    Mon May 11 2009

    Its the best beer for me and second place is Corona.

  • by

    spike65

    Wed May 06 2009

    A step up from American lager beer. Try the "keg" cans to avoid potential "skunky" tastes from using green bottles. A pale lager that is perfect for the style. I have the remnants of a 12-pack in the beer fridge right now. Nice hot weather selection. Kind of the Cadillac of "lawn-mower" beers. Not overly sweet and just enough bitter hops for good balance.

  • by

    astromike

    Sun Apr 26 2009

    I alil too powerful for my liking. I prefer a bit more smoother lager and or beer. I will drink it if its there, but not a huge fan. A lil over priced compared to other brands as well.

  • by

    tmoney26

    Wed Mar 25 2009

    It's a good beer if u are tryin to just sip and watch a movie or watch a football game, but if u are tryin to get drunk it will take awhile because of the strong flavorable taste, but overall pretty damn good!

  • by

    joshua_onthe_hustle_adams

    Thu Feb 26 2009

    I haven’t tried many beers but this is one of the smoothest beers I’ve ever had. It pours light yellow with a wonderful aroma of barley , malt, and hops

  • by

    shaggyb

    Sat Jan 31 2009

    You know that taste you get after you throw up in your mouth? Great, now you know what heineken tastes like.

  • by

    mrsandman

    Fri Oct 17 2008

    Heineken is the greatest beer i'v ever tasted. It's the only beer that I really drink.

  • by

    ruanrushedin

    Wed Sep 24 2008

    A very drinkable beer. Not the best out there, bot nearly bad.

  • by

    fb1153591391

    Sun Mar 16 2008

    My favorite beer!

  • by

    guy_dc1b

    Thu Mar 06 2008

    I'd drink one if someone offered it to me.

  • by

    fb672736917

    Mon Mar 03 2008

    tastes better in the netherlands

  • by

    larz1c42

    Sun Feb 24 2008

    Bitter as gall. I'm being generous with a 2 rating, but I've had worse, so I'll save the 1's for the bottom of the bottom.

  • by

    trebon1038

    Sun Feb 24 2008

    I don't get it...this is a really popular beer, and I can't stand the stuff.  Its bitter.

  • by

    fb718435230

    Tue Feb 19 2008

    duno.. cnt drink it!

  • by

    fb1013978127

    Sun Feb 10 2008

    Skunk nasty!

  • by

    fb532186518

    Fri Feb 08 2008

    I don't drink much beer, but it is a good kind.

  • by

    fb505905643

    Tue Feb 05 2008

    Why not? Tasted better beer than this but also tasted worse.

  • by

    stregapez

    Fri Feb 01 2008

    It's good, but if I'm going to spend money on an import, I'd like something with more flavor.

  • by

    automatt

    Mon Jan 14 2008

    I like this beer. After a certain level of premium beerness I can't tell the difference between lagers, though. It tastes better than Rolling Rock but not as good as Becks.