Groupwork

Approval Rate: 53%

53%Approval ratio

Reviews 23

Sort by:
  • by

    lackey

    Sat Jun 21 2008

    I hate group work because the teacher say hey all you get in groups becase of that some students do not like to be in groups because they do not have friends.

  • by

    irishgit

    Tue May 20 2008

    If monitored and used with care, can be beneficial.Not so much, however, if one diligent student is covering the asses of three slackers.

  • by

    lmorovan

    Tue May 20 2008

    Why not calling it "teamwork", you know, that concept that has been proven to be greatly beneficial to future achievements in life. Teamwork makes you aware and sensitive to other people's opinions and ideas and can help you grow in understanding and knowledge. There should be more of it in every aspects of life.

  • by

    hellokitty09

    Fri Apr 11 2008

    If you want something done right, do it yourself

  • by

    ventoux1

    Mon Apr 16 2007

    Succeeding in group projects is a key to success in business.  I'm not saying I love it or that it is the most efficient way to get anything done, but it is reality.  Man is a social animal and we live in a complex, socially and economically interdependent world.  So, we have to play in the sandbox with everybody else and, if we want to create really big or complicated sand castles, we have to do it as a group.  Might as well learn the ropes of group work in school.

  • by

    gourmand

    Wed Feb 28 2007

    I'm with kitty. I don't do groups. They are usually counterproductive and rarely  conducive to efficient work. I always do better working alone on projects. In school, however, one doesn't have a choice. It usually demonstrated an intellectual laziness on the part of the professor when they did the group thing IMO. :)

  • by

    cherrysoda99

    Thu Jun 01 2006

    Only if you don't get to picj your groups. Some teachers are really mean like that, and they always insist on putting you with the WORST possible people. But, on the other hand, if you get to choose your groups, it can actually work really well to your advantage.

  • by

    bird808

    Tue May 30 2006

    Group work at school was not such a bad aspect, it was group work at college and University that I have the worst memories from. Theres this horrid persona from some people that you work with to have this attitude of "My idea is better than yours so I don't want to hear it". All ideas should be considered no matter how good or bad they are. When this happened I would just listen and let that person send themselves into a deep dark tunnel as they would soon learn they can't work like that and they would soon meet someone with "better ideas" than themselves.

  • by

    molfan

    Tue May 30 2006

    A 3.5. could be frustrating. Depends on who you get in the group. if we could pick out each other could go well. if on the other hand the teacher picks and I got stuck with the slacker who sat back and did nothing and we could risk getting marked down because of their lack of work.hated it. I tended to be one who wanted to get it done and be ready. it would be fine as long as everyone else could be counted on to do their part. upsetting if got stuck with the refuse to do anything.

  • by

    frogio

    Tue May 30 2006

    There is always that one kid who does diddly squat, but reaps the rewards the others sweat for...most then become CEO's.

  • by

    numbah16tdhaha

    Wed May 03 2006

    Ah, another place for this. No more halfwits in my group!

  • by

    vudija

    Sun Apr 30 2006

    Definitely frustrating. I never did well in groups. I tend to work very fast and be very detail-oriented so if people weren't able to keep up or work to my standards, things went terribly wrong. I'd rather work alone that way, if something is wrong or doesn't get done; I can only blame myself.

  • by

    inmyopinion

    Mon Jun 13 2005

    This was the worst, I never went a week without having to do some type of groupwork. When ever possilbe, i was always the one that asked the teacher if i could work alone. When it came to schoolwork and grades, i could only trust myself

  • by

    redoedo

    Mon Jun 13 2005

    Depends on who you get stuck working with. Getting to pick is always nice. Unfortunately, most of my teachers have always insisted on picking for us, so I normally get stuck with (1) someone I don't like, (2) someone I don't know, or (3) someone I know whom I wish I didn't.

  • by

    canadasucks

    Tue May 17 2005

    The worst. Groupwork sucks. Designed to give a false grade to the class retard who does nothing while one person who does more work gets the same grade. I used to take D's and F's in high school instead of doing group work. . .I'm not carrying anyone. I'll do the project myself or I won't do it.

  • by

    k_man414

    Mon Mar 28 2005

    Groupwork is only okay if you are paired with a person who shares the same level of intelligence like you. It is very frustrating when you are paired with a moron or morons who does not contribute to any work, then groupwork is not okay. I also hate it when the teacher sometimes pairs you with someone else to be your partner because then you cannot be with the person(s) whom has the same talents and skills like you.

  • by

    middlefinger

    Sun Dec 05 2004

    very frustrating. ONLY because (for me) I like to work on my own.

  • by

    oldiesmusicfan_101

    Sat Dec 04 2004

    I never thought it was all that bad. I mean working with friends or people and making friends while doing work. The only drag is if someone does not work.

  • by

    abichara

    Tue Nov 23 2004

    Group projects can be a drag when no one shows any particular interest in picking up the slack. Indeed, it's drudgery coordinating unwilling people to tasks they don't want to do. But in the workplace, you're going to have to deal with such situations. A good manager is one who can motivate people well. However many people don't see the incentive in learning or going to school, thus making such attitudes tough to deal with. However, once you get into your major and graduate school, you'll meet up with people who are more motivated and interested in studying the same things, so groupwork in those situations actually becomes a better option.

  • by

    bibliophile

    Sun Oct 10 2004

    Group projects suck, but anyone planning to go to college and graduate school had better get used to these things. Group projects are a lot better in grad school, because most people have something significant to contribute, and some want to get published. Fortunately I did not have to do as much groupwork in high school.

  • by

    scarletfeather

    Sat Oct 09 2004

    I always hated group projects. As GoneAway noted, there were always ones who were more serious about getting the job done and getting a good grade. At least if you work by yourself you sink or swim on your own merits.

  • by

    kamylienne

    Fri Oct 08 2004

    Group Work: the process where one individual takes on a multifaceted task while two or more other individuals reap the benefits of the first indivudal's work.

  • by

    seraph

    Fri Oct 08 2004

    The worst part of working on a project as a group is I first have to bounce my good ideas off of my braindead classmates' heads and hope they're lazy enough to give em a nod. It's amazing how fast a bad group will cough up a stupid, mindless idea, latch on, and run with it. I don't know what groupwork is supposed to teach us other than None of us is as dumb as all of us.

This topic is on the following list(s)

Add to new list