topic image

Groundhog Day

1993 American fantasy comedy film directed by Harold Ramis from a screenplay by him and Danny Rubin Website

Approval Rate: 91%

91%Approval ratio

Reviews 50

Sort by:
  • by

    firemoth

    Wed Aug 10 2011

    "Don't drive angry!" I still like this movie and it's one of the few that I'll stop and watch when I find it's on.

  • by

    coggy13

    Mon Jul 26 2010

    I probably would've given this 4 stars after the first few times I watched this. But after the 273 views since then, I feel it deserves 5. Ok, I'm exaggerating. I've probably seen it only 270 times, tops. So many perspectives have been covered here, but the one that stands out is the obvious point that a film about the same day over and over can be watched over and over. Bill Murray's character isn't unique to his career. He covered similar ground in "Scrooged." But he's so good here that that doesn't matter. The subtlety of some of the differences from particular parts of days is brilliant. Simply a great performance. The other actors all do a fine job. One review I read said that the perfect day wasn't the last one shown in the film. It was the day where he was completely honest about his circumstances of his life to Andie MacDowell. I agree with this. Instead of using Andie's list of perfect traits for a man to win her over, he simply won her over by telling her the truth. But t... Read more

  • by

    medgarevers

    Tue Nov 10 2009

    A lil' obnoxious!@

  • by

    movienut453

    Mon Jun 08 2009

    This is a great movie. The supplier I received it from was on time with his delivery. I will use this supplier again.

  • by

    davidreitzel

    Mon May 18 2009

    Hi Dave here over all not to bad a little slow on dilvery but not bad will do bus again thanks

  • by

    awhitley

    Thu May 14 2009

    Bill Murray is awesome in this. I bought it as a Father's Day gift for my dad who is 63 and watches it regularly. Then I found out my 18 year old nephew loves it too. Talk about bridging the generation gap. Very cool flick!

  • by

    theunexaminedl_ifeisnotworthl_iving

    Sat Apr 25 2009

    Hey if you love comedy (not slapstick comedy) this movie is for you. Some of Bill Murry's finest work. The main character gets trapped living the same day over and over and goes through many phases. A classic.

  • by

    jameshs

    Tue Apr 14 2009

    Bill Murray is a self-important prima donna weatherman who seems set for just one more Groundhog Day in Punxsutawney. But it's more than just one more Groundhog Day. Way more than just one boring repeat of what he's done so many times before, apparently without learning anything, as he finds himself in a learning loop. Haven't you ever thought that the whole problem with life is that we have to make mistakes and live through them to get to where we are today? Ever wish you could go back in time and do things right that you did wrongly? To undo the done and do the un-done? To do the done things slightly differently in some small or big way? Me too. But, in time, we might realize that the path we took to get here was what made us what we are today. Maybe it's good to have only one chance. Bill Murray gets another chance. Then Bill Murray gets another chance. And then, Bill Murray gets another chance. But does he get the girl? I've never sat down to count the chanc... Read more

  • by

    twansalem

    Fri Apr 10 2009

    It admittedly gets a bit repetitive, but that is the point, after all. Bill Murray's character just keeps repeating the same day, Groundhog Day, over and over. In the course of the movie he does just about everything possible to amuse himself, including things like driving off cliffs, becasue he can't even die. He just wakes up every morning to the same song on his clock radio, "I Got You Babe."

  • by

    bri719

    Thu Mar 26 2009

    A Bill Murray classic. I saw this in the theatre, and if you think watching him wake up to the same alarm 47 times on tv was crazy, imagine going thru it on the big screen. But overall, very funny!

  • by

    kitty77

    Sun Mar 01 2009

    I thought it was just OK at best. This was not nearly as good as I thought it'd be.

  • by

    spike65

    Sun Apr 27 2008

    A movie I enjoy watching every time it is shown on television. Murray was perfect for this role.

  • by

    mrtuner

    Wed Feb 27 2008

    It is a pretty good movie. I wouldnt buy it though!

  • by

    jbmaxxx

    Tue Sep 04 2007

    Classic Bill Murray!

  • by

    statman100

    Wed Apr 04 2007

    Bill Murray at his best. The repetativeness of the story could have ruined the movie but it's a testament to the the cast and crew that it retains it's freshness the whole time.

  • by

    joshuat

    Thu Feb 01 2007

    Feb. 2 is a great day and fun for the groundhog. Bill Murray was funny.

  • by

    cherrysoda99

    Wed Jan 11 2006

    I'm not a huge fan of Bill Murray, but I love the concept of this movie.

  • by

    genghisthehun

    Wed Aug 17 2005

    Unique formula and Murray pulls it off.

  • by

    popkan

    Wed Jun 29 2005

    groundhog day is one of my top ten movies of all time(even though my top ten list has many more than ten movies)

  • by

    redoedo

    Fri Jun 17 2005

    Enjoyable and genuinely funny. Murray churns out yet another solid comedic performance here.

  • by

    vetteman03

    Sun Mar 13 2005

    This movie is a classic, and should be required viewing for everyone before they die!

  • by

    gentle_jude

    Sat Feb 12 2005

    I reackon this movie would have been better as a science-fiction. All as you would have to do is take out the comedy and make the story line more serious. Although the comedy was dry, the concept of someone being trapped in a timewarp where they repeat the same day over again would make a good Star Trek episode. In actual fact, there is a Star Trek episode with that same theme (The Next Generation - Cause and Effect.) The only questionable moment in this movie was when the weatherman (person experiencing the timewarp) said that he knows as much as God, and maybe that's why God knows so much, because He has seen the same things over and over again. What a lot of rubbish.

  • by

    tunaa8ad

    Sun Dec 26 2004

    Great - I even love the title - Groundhog Day - February 2nd - is my birthday. Love the PA scenes with the little groundhog. Very good acting and an interesting storyline.

  • by

    classictvfan47

    Sun Nov 07 2004

    One of the best time travel movies isn't a Star Trek one at all! :) Groundhog Day is a hilarious, and at the same time, heartwarming comedy starring the talented Bill Murray and the classy Andie McDowell. Murray's meterological character is trapped in a time loop, reliving Groundhog Day over and over. The results vary wildly, and that's where the fun lies. Crazy comedy of all kind ensues, including one of my favorite scenes, Grand Theft Groundhog.

  • by

    fierce_pajamas

    Sat Sep 11 2004

    Tis a very good, inspiring movie. Not sure if it's a true comedy, though.

  • by

    louiethe20th

    Wed Jul 07 2004

    This was a pretty good movie! Update: This was a pretty good movie. Update:This was a pretty good movie.

  • by

    kinkykinks

    Sun Apr 11 2004

    one of the best bill murray is a good actor and harold ramis is a good director

  • by

    pennyroyalty

    Sun Apr 04 2004

    i loved bill murray in this role, and it's a pretty original movie. makes you think what you'd do if you knew you could do anything and it wouldn't change anything. very sweet, sappy at times, but the funny parts make it a little more bearable.

  • by

    typhoon220

    Thu Feb 19 2004

    It's an okay. I think it was really funny but I am not that fond of this movie. It is okay

  • by

    dickweener

    Wed Jan 21 2004

    Funny, well put together....Nice story this is a great movie and it is complete.

  • by

    irishgit

    Wed Dec 24 2003

    Quirky, a good performance by Murray, and a tight script. Enjoyable.

  • by

    wayland

    Mon Jul 21 2003

    This film touches me on may levels. The humourous Bill Murry does well to being humour to a concept we all dream about. It's been noted before, but there are many levels of which different people can enjoy the film. This is a film I can watch, again and again, and again....and again and again....

  • by

    earthspirit

    Mon Jul 07 2003

    A really really good film. In my opinion its not really a "comedy" because there are few out and out laughs in it, except for Chris Elliott. But its a fantasy, where Murray has to repeat the same day over and over again until he becomes a better person. And it takes him quite a while to do that. Its an enjoyable ride to watch him change, little by little.

  • by

    tomchambers1f_an

    Sat Apr 19 2003

    Zarbon is an idiot.....Why do you write in shorthand? Can you not spell "because"? So, this movie was very "innvative"well that's right BECAUSE it wasnt't innOvative. Andie McDowell isn't "foxie" she 's not foxy either.This was boring even though I am a Bill Murray fan as he and Andie McDowell kissed too much

  • by

    themyth

    Mon Apr 14 2003

    A very good movie, worth seeing if you haven't already. An arrogant, self-centered reporter gets caught in a loop of the same day. Imagine if you could live the same day over and over. It's not the greatest comedy ever, but it's good for a laugh.

  • by

    president_x_d

    Mon Apr 14 2003

    This is among Bill Murray's greatest movies. Imagine having to live the same day over and over again. I wonder how much of this was ad-libbed. Chris Elliot has a small role and manages to be funny just saying "thanks" for a cup of coffee! This is a rare comedy that is worth watching over and over again.

  • by

    sarahj

    Tue Mar 25 2003

    Hilarious and original...I love Bill Murray.

  • by

    karenlucy

    Tue Mar 25 2003

    I really didnt enjoy this movie at all despite the fact the I am a huge fan of Bill Murray. I could barely sit thru it, it was bad!

  • by

    smgellarfan200_3

    Tue Mar 25 2003

    " GROUNDHOG DAY " IS WITHOUT QUESTION OF THE FUNNIEST AND MOST INVENTIVE COMEDY I HAVE EVER SEEN.....BRILLIANT BRILLIANT BRILLAINT!!!!!

  • by

    philc01b

    Tue Mar 11 2003

    Since Groundhog Day is one of my favorite days of the year, I had to see this and thought it was quite interesting, funny and had good acting. I hope this wasn't written by people who believe in reincarnation and getting better in our next lives, but the storyline was unique that someone could relive a day until he got it right.

  • by

    zuchinibut

    Mon Dec 09 2002

    Callmetootie is an idiot....Bill Murray is hilarious and groundhog day is a classic. "I want some Flajacks." "Too late for breakfast officer?"

  • by

    ashuston

    Sat Aug 17 2002

    so many levels

  • by

    john_davies

    Sun Mar 03 2002

    Reluctantly attending the famous traditional forecast-by-groundhog ceremony,cynical weatherman Bill Murray finds the same day keeps repeating itself.As intriguing possibilities,including fresh chances to seduce resistant Andie McDowell, emerge,he must battle through despair towards redemption.Comfortably the best contemporary comedy (enhanced,for me,by falling on my birthday),this is a warmly romantic,uplifting and gleefully intelligent gem.

  • by

    errol4e1

    Fri Feb 15 2002

    The premise is unique. I don't know of any other movie that dealt with the idea of living the same day over and over agian. The movie is entertaining and uplifting. The guy started out self centered but had a change of heart. If only we did have the same day to live over again. What could we accomplish? Guess what - you really do always have tomorrow!

  • by

    molfan

    Thu Jan 31 2002

    this movie was okay to me. It was about a reporter who went to a town for Groundhogs day and had to keep repeating the same day until he "got it right". At the beginning of the movie he is kind of a creep and does all the wrong stuff.so of course by the end he has learned his lesson and got the day right. there are a couple amusing scenes. this movie did not stand out for me though. I suppose the nice part of the movie is it shows how a "jerk" can end up being a nice guy.

  • by

    alucard

    Wed Dec 05 2001

    This is my fav movie. Bill Murray's best role I belive. His Transision from being a stressed out reporter to a man at his full potential, And in the end he gets his girl, I watch this movie like an addiction and of course I watch it on Groundhogs Day. "Don't Drive Angery" -Bill Murray

  • by

    castlebee

    Tue Oct 09 2001

    Must have seemed like a good idea on paper. Turned into yet another case of an interesting premise that just could not gain enough strength to support itself on film. False start made it seem interesting just long enough to create equally false hope it would render SOMETHING – a laugh, an emotion, something mildly metaphysical. But, alas, it falls flat in the end with the repetition of days taking on all the charm of Jinx the cat chasing Pixie and Dixie past that same mouse hole, chair, table and lamp combination for the 30th time. You just stop caring what it was all supposed to mean after awhile.

  • by

    t_rex410

    Sat Jul 28 2001

    This was so touching that it made me cry. The plot may be fictional but its somehow realtted to our daily experience. It is about how a man improved his inner self ever since he has been stuck on the same day, as he learned from his mistake, he became wiser and not to make it again. As many recurring days went pass by, he became a better man.

  • by

    movieguy108

    Thu Jul 12 2001

    I will never get sick of watching Bill Murray kill himself over and over and over and over.....

  • by

    callmetootie

    Fri Apr 13 2001

    Groundhog Day is a 1992 comedy-romance starring Bill Murray as a man who's life takes a turn, wehen he finds that his life keeps repeating everyday, and that he needs to do some good deeds to stop this, or he could lose his girl. Bill Murray is as usual annoying in his role, but for some reason parts of it were enjoyable and it was a pretty cool idea.