Girl, Interrupted  reviews

Girl, Interrupted

1999 American psychological drama film directed by James Mangold and starring Winona Ryder Website

Approval Rate: 74%

74%Approval ratio

Reviews 53

Sort by:
  • by

    genghisthehun

    Fri Jul 22 2011

    Aside from the fact that it pokes fun at people with mental problems, this flick is just melodramatic drivel. Only one teardrop here.

  • by

    scottish_merma_id

    Tue Aug 04 2009

    One of my favourite films.

  • by

    phyllisnoble

    Thu May 28 2009

    This movie had some harsh language but, I felt that it was appropriate for the subject matter of the film. The performances were great, especiallly Angelina Jolie, Whoopie Goldberg, Wynonna Ryder and Brittany Murphy.

  • by

    ginsuc3c

    Sun May 10 2009

    I agree with the Amazon reviewers first two points. its a coocoo's nest setup and actors love to play loonies so they can get away with over blown performances. would you pay money to be locked in the room with a borderline personality? HELL NO!!! in real life borderlines are incurable. theyre damage too severe - their personalities too scrambled. fortunately this movie is very inconsistant - and plays fast and loose with the actual mental illness part of the story. really the story is about actresses. you get a borish depressed winona and an agressive bitchy angelina. you may find that entertaining. but i found it dull and annoying.

  • by

    ginger4668

    Tue Apr 21 2009

    Perhaps it's because I empathize with the main character Suzanna, but this movie draws you in from the very beginning. I remember watching it for the first time in 8th grade with my best friend. She picked it out and I wasn't exactly thrilled about it, but from scene one, I couldn't look away. It's not everyone's cup of tea, I'm sure, but for those of us who aren't perfect, it's a masterpiece. Nine years later, this is still one of my favorite movies... in fact, I just watched it yesterday.

  • by

    sherrimclain

    Thu Apr 02 2009

    This item came on time and in perfect condition. The movie was very good. Thank you. Sherri McLain

  • by

    marky77

    Sat Mar 21 2009

    This truely is one of the best movies ever made, I love it so much. Based on the novel by Susanna Kaysen about the 18 months she spent in a mental institution for depression and Borderline Personality Disorder when she was 18 (which is a true story). Although I think that anybody would enjoy this movie, it's special to me because I also suffer from Borderline Personality Disorder myself and it's nice to see a movie which handles the subject sensitively. Borderline Personality Disorder was a very controversial diagnosis in the 1960s (when this movie takes place), as even less was known about it than is now. Very little research was done into it back but the general diagnosis criteria and known sympoms were still the same: 1. Extreme black and white thinking (unable to see the grey area). 2. Unstable relationships characterised between feelings of idealation (love and adoration) and devaluation (anger and dislike). 3. Impulsivity, usually in self-destructive areas (e.g. b... Read more

  • by

    jamieswtgrl

    Sat Apr 12 2008

    In theory this would be a good movie, but when you watch it you don't feel the same. It is hard to understand and at some points in the film, it is just plain freaky. I can't imagine why they would ever show this movie on television, but they do. People need to realize that  this movie is ultimately making fun of people that need mental help. There is nothing wrong with being a person who needs help of that sort, but it is not cool to make a movie about what happens to the in a mental hospital. Not trying to be a fun killer, but this movie could really prevent people who need help from getting it because they are scared. Not a favorite movie of mine by any means.

  • by

    fb61200893

    Sun Nov 04 2007

    Propelled the issue into the public domain. Fairly spot on.

  • by

    sabasimba

    Tue Jun 21 2005

    REALLY can't understand what people see in Angelina Jolie.

  • by

    realitychick

    Sat Apr 09 2005

    Pretty good movie; liked Angelina Jolie's character.

  • by

    ladyshark4534

    Sun Feb 01 2004

    I watched this movie again and I really fell in love with the character Daisy Randone. She is just a giant intriguing mystery. She's a well done character who's finally found out. Her death scene made me cry so hard. Brittany Murphy deserved an oscar nomination for this role.

  • by

    mandah529

    Thu Jan 01 2004

    This was an outstanding movie! Angelina Jolie's performance was indescribable! This was a true story about an 18 year old girl, Susanna Kaysen (played by Winona Ryder), who was accused of being insane and put into a mental institute. She meets many girls with problems far worse than hers, for example, Lisa (Angelina Jolie). There is no movie better than this one, and I can say that with honest truth. If you've read the book the movie might ruin some assumptions you made during your reading, or clear up some fuzzy areas. It's my favorite movie ever!

  • by

    kmg1171

    Tue Sep 09 2003

    I LOVE this movie. Everything about it is amazing, the acting, the plot, the characters. Angelina Jolie and Winona Ryder are such amazing actresses. This movie is so real, it's just perfect. A thousand times better than One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest.

  • by

    timinsydney

    Thu May 22 2003

    This is one of the most annoying movies I've ever seen. I was hoping Winona's character would get brutalised by one of the guards. She thoroughly deserved it - whinging on & on in that horrid nasal voice of hers. I watched this movie with a doctor friend of mine who was working in a psychiatric hospital at the time. He said that the basic plot (they wouldn't let her out, even though she was a voluntary patient) completely lacked credence. As for Angela Jolie's character, there didn't apopear to be anything wrong with her. What was she doing in a nut house? As for having her undergo EST, as if any hospital would do that to a completely sane person against their will, even in the 60s! What a load of rubbish.

  • by

    corkey2003

    Sat Mar 08 2003

    It was movie that made you think about how much society hasn't changed and how labels are still put on people. Also how that system takes control and tells you that you have to change to be acceptable. I haven't read the book yet but the movie was awesome and i loved it.

  • by

    otlady27

    Thu Dec 13 2001

    I love this movie! It's one of my favorites. It's a very haunting and disturbing film in some ways, but overall it is an excellent human drama. The performances are awesome- I think it includes some of Winona Ryder's best work and of course Angelina Jolie was simply amazing and disturbingly natural as sociopath Lisa. The story has a timeless quality- it could've easily taken place today because the world is just as crazy and screwed up as it was back in the late 1960s. The supporting actors were great too, from Whoopi Goldberg to Brittney Murphy (Daisy is a hoot, of course until she does the obvious later on in the film) to Jared Leto and Vanessa Redgrave, in addition to the various young actresses who played the other patients in the ward. It has some very funny scenes, yet I get tears in my eyes watching other parts, like when the burned girl Polly looks at a picture of herself when she was younger and before she burned herself. I don't think it's just a "chick flick" - it's an aweso... Read more

  • by

    castlebee

    Tue Oct 09 2001

    Angelina Jolie is a very good actress without a doubt. But why did I get the feeling she was just playing to type. Oh, not really fair I know, since I have no idea what she’s really like. By accident or design, she does seem to be building a weird little reputation for herself on and off screen. And it’s not that easy to stand out in the crowd as an oddball these days with so much competition - especially in her line of work. But, she really managed to do so as far as this film was concerned. Winona Ryder also did an excellent portrayal as well. This is the kind of movie you keep watching because it is just so off center you end up more or less needing to know what will happen next. Very unpredictable, fairly depressing, and, for lack of a better word, strange. Partly because it is so emotionally draining, I can’t say I would go out of my way to see it again – but I’ll bet if I accidentally caught it on television some slow moving afternoon I would continue to watch it regardle... Read more

  • by

    janey_lane

    Sun Jul 29 2001

    This was one of the best movies I have ever seen (and that is saying something)! It really got to the depth of the reality for some people without any sugarcoating. Angelina Jolie was incredible and fascinating to watch as a seemingly coldhearted sociopath. I have to admit I kinda could relate to a few situations in this movie and it really brought up a lot of questions in my mind.

  • by

    mystikal

    Mon Jul 16 2001

    I see people saying Jolie's character was 'not believable'. I have met people like her, so I have to disagree. Ryder's character, however, was kind of pointless. Very flat, very dull. But other than that, I'd say it was alright.

  • by

    jstsumgrl

    Tue Mar 13 2001

    This is an awsome movie and one of my favorites. The cast was very beleivable. I think the blandness of Ryders character in the movie was meant to be that way in order to compliment Jolies wildness. Of course it was a little different than the book. Movies aren't as clear because they're not so black and white as books. That's the coolest part about the movie. We can see it differently. I don't believe these girls were as crazy as they wanted us to believe they were.I think more that they were just women who didn't want to follow the rules of the outside world. Maybe even the outside world would like to be as carefree as these women are sometimes but, we're afraid people will think we're crazy. I give the movie a 5 star rating because it's as realistic and crazy as this world we're living in.

  • by

    kelly_brandley

    Sun Feb 11 2001

    In the movie girl interrupted . the movie was great. I saw that lisa is more like me in some ways and that what I want is for someone to tell me the truth, to care enough about me to tell me what everyone knows but is afraid to say.

  • by

    nobananas

    Thu Feb 08 2001

    I this was really good, especially Angelina Jolie.

  • by

    dirkmc

    Sat Jan 13 2001

    Angelina Joline plays her part well - undersatnd the gossip of how "off" she is in real life. Not a great movie - fair.

  • by

    slayme

    Fri Jan 12 2001

    Love Angelina Jolie in this movie, however, the movie didn't go exactly with the book which I read beforehand. Scenes from the hanging and the ice cream shop were RIGHT ON. It's not a five because the book was truely better.

  • by

    karia659

    Thu Jan 11 2001

    This movie was very hard to follow and the end was very unclear. I think the actresses could have been more believable.

  • by

    starburst

    Wed Jan 10 2001

    Girl Interrupted was a very interesting movie and enlightening. Angelie Jolie did an awesome job of portraying her character and Winona Ryder did a great job also. It really makes you think of people's problems.

  • by

    lauren1204

    Wed Jan 10 2001

    I thought Winona Ryder, like always, portrayed her role as a depressed teenager very well. She was believable and I liked the era in which it took place; 1960s, when there was revolution stirring everywhere. On the other hand, the role that Angelie Jolie played was not very realistic. She just wasn't believable and too overwhelming. It seemed like she tried to hard to be "crazy."

  • by

    phcheer1

    Sat Dec 23 2000

    i thought the movie was the best! i think its like one of those girl movies though. my brother wasnt to into it. but me and my best friend could watch that movie a million times!

  • by

    iamsane

    Mon Dec 11 2000

    This movie was excellent. U realize that some people who have commented on it think otherwise, however it is due in part because they have no clear understanding of what a borderline really is. Who cares if Wyonna Ryder was in the movie, the fact that someone played the role of Susanna Kaysen..was all that mattered...and that she was evaluated and treated... Susanna was one of the lucky ones... she could be helped and she could go on to live a normal healthy life until some of the others,,,,We must never critized that which we do not understand... Mental Illness happens everyday... and we do not have the right to make light of it.. instead we should perhaps take a closer look and try to understand the plight of those trapped inside themselves...

  • by

    pickguard1

    Thu Dec 07 2000

    I love Winona Ryder and she did a fantastic job in this movie. Angelina Jolie was also incredible. The movie had a good storyline too. The actors all did a good job on showing what it was like to be in a mental institution.

  • by

    s6tar13lette86

    Thu Dec 07 2000

    IT ROCKED!!!!!

  • by

    gem0521

    Fri Dec 01 2000

    I would definitely say this is a 'chick flick.' This movie has quite a good plot and it raises an issue that is quite common in our society. Mental illness among young women was brought on to the big screen, raising more awareness for the illness. I thought this movie gave a lot of insight on the issue.

  • by

    vienna

    Thu Nov 30 2000

    Excellent acting and character development. Good analysis on the state of the human mind.

  • by

    pixee654

    Tue Nov 21 2000

    I found this movie phenomenal on all levels. The cast had excellent chemistry and amazing talent. The script was a beautiful mix of poetry, humor, drama and plain insanity. I think many were able to associate with the characters on one level or another, especially reaching out to teens, who can often find commonalities with the main character and perhaps the others as well.

  • by

    rhainyday

    Sat Nov 11 2000

    This movie was fabulous. The message it sent was very deep. Are we all really crazy? Or is it the world that is so crazy?? The character "Lisa" by far was the best in the movie. After watching this movie I'm always taken aback. Its like I'm actually living it. I love it!! 5+++++

  • by

    germy21

    Tue Oct 31 2000

    I thought this movie was very strong. Given that it was a true story makes it even better. Angelina Jolie was very strong as an actress.

  • by

    kristy

    Tue Oct 31 2000

    I thought this film did an excellent job of connecting the viewer with the actors. It left me emotional. It kept me involved. I wanted to really meet the characters and help fix them.

  • by

    frenchie812

    Thu Oct 26 2000

    It got to me and made me think. I liked it in a weird, twisted way!

  • by

    elusive

    Tue Oct 24 2000

    Angelina Jolie was wonderful in this film. The subject matter was interesting and the twist at the end was great. The reason it wasn't a 5 was because Wynona Ryder is a crappy actress and can't call upon true emotions-she is always bland.

  • by

    kris10

    Mon Oct 02 2000

    Girl, Interrupted is based upon a true story written by Susanna Kaysen (played by Winona Ryder), who is falsely accused of being crazy. Placed in a mental institution, she is confroted with the desicion of her life. She must decide on whether she wants to get better, or to spend her life being "insane." The only thing standing in her way is the controlling, sociopath, Lisa (played by Angelina Jolie.) Director, James Mangold, has been critisized for the movies flat plotline, and inability to transfer the book into a movie. I agree that the films plot took a different route than most flicks, but to say it had no plot at all is an understatement. Those that say it had no plot, probably didn't understand it. With Ryder co-producing and starring in the flick, how can it go wrong? Not to mention other incredible performances by Angelina Jolie, Whoopie Goldberg, Brittany Murphy, Clea Duvall, and many more. Lets face it, we all can relate to feeling a little crazy sometimes.... Read more

  • by

    upchuck

    Mon Sep 25 2000

    I'm being generous with the 3 rating, I guess I was hoping for a female version of "One Flew Over the Cookoos Nest"...The movie was blah, Winona was simply a spoiled child that didn't belong in the asylum, but didn't care if she was there or not.

  • by

    punkie013

    Tue Sep 19 2000

    I have to say that this is one of the best movies I've EVER seen! I think that I love it so much b/c I kould relate to the situation so well. Excellent acting too!

  • by

    init9859om

    Thu Sep 14 2000

    What a very bad joke of a movie....pathetic.

  • by

    marz9957om

    Sun Aug 20 2000

    this was the best movie i have seen in months, it goes into my top 5 list, it made me feel alive

  • by

    shroomwoman

    Tue Aug 15 2000

    Talk about a boring, pointless, disappointing movie! I mistakenly thought that "Girl, Interrupted" was going to be a moving, inspirational story about a woman confronting serious mental illness. Instead, the main character (played by Winona Ryder) has no legitimate reason for committing herself to a mental institution, and viewers are subjected to watching her pathetic, self-indulgent behavior as she "finds herself" among the crazies. Even worse- the movie drags on and on, and I feared it would never end. I started feeling suicidal myself during the last third of the movie and only watched the rest because my husband wanted to see the ending. You have been warned!

  • by

    magg8485om

    Wed Jul 19 2000

    was done very nicely. The seriousness didn't get too out of hand, and still was funny and intreging.

  • by

    paul8436om

    Tue Jul 11 2000

    Very well acted, semi interesting. Biggest flaw- BAD ENDING.

  • by

    wiggum

    Fri Jun 30 2000

    It's shocking and kind of nice to see psychiatric institutions portrayed positively in movies - usually the doctors, nurses, and orderlies are cast as oppressive villans - and that definitely earns points for Girl, Interrupted. But I was expecting a lot more from this movie. Angelina Jolie's performance was OK, but not Oscar worthy. And Winona Ryder was OK, too, but not especially memorable. I'm generally a big fan of movies that involve psychology in some way, but this one didn't break any new ground, and it didn't cover old ground in a very entertaining or enlightening way. I'm not exactly sure what this movie is missing, but it's definitely missing something. Maybe I'm being overly harsh because "Girl, Interrupted" screams for comparison to "One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest," which is far superior in every way.

  • by

    ques6899om

    Tue May 23 2000

    Girl Interrupted is my favorite movie. Winona Ryder and Angelina Jolie were excellent. I related to this movie in everyway. The plot was easy to follow and the ending was predictable. After watching it, it made me question my reality and ask myself, "am I crazy?"