Ghost in the Shell reviews

Ghost in the Shell

2017 science fiction action film directed by Rupert Sanders and written by Jamie Moss Website

Approval Rate: 56%

56%Approval ratio

Reviews 14

Sort by:
  • by

    numbah16tdhaha

    Tue Jun 08 2010

    Stand Alone Complex is pretty solid stuff. The Major is iconic among nerds, of course...

  • by

    magneticd

    Fri May 28 2010

    This show is like a better version of the GitS movies, albeit with a significant change in theme. Totally hard assed nearly unsympathetic characters, but still completely watchable as the stereotypes they represent are so recognizable. The whole show is gorgeous as well.

  • by

    jedi58

    Sun Aug 09 2009

    Ghost in the Shell was a movie which changed the genre forever with it's amazing use of both cell based animation and CGI effects - it was the first of it's kind. As the movie opens we are introduced to the principal character, Major Motoko Kusanagi as she is spying on a people discussing the defect of a programmer. She is then given her orders to continue with her mission and we see the police force interrupt the negotiations with what turns into a gun fight. After the suspect pleads diplomatic immunity we see Motoko assassinate the diplomat and then escapes using therm-optic camouflage. During the title sequence which follows we see the process by which a normal human being is turned into a cyborg with enhanced abilities and a metal body - there is very little left of the person they were before. It then ends the sequence with us seeing the finished cyborg getting new skin and bursting through some liquid into the open air - something which is symbolic of a rebirth. This is technica... Read more

  • by

    mjf29844

    Fri Feb 27 2009

    It is not surprising that so many people do not like this show, they are idiots. This futuristic series discusses the philosophy of consciousness and government. It is also accompanied with great action. It is justly called a classic and I look forward to watching it many times in the future.

  • by

    mariusqeldroma

    Thu Nov 01 2007

    Matters not if you are talking the OVA's or the two series (and rumors of a third). A mind-bending experience from start to finish. Stunning artwork throughout and storylines to match. The first OVA alone is more than enough reason for the Major to make my brother numbah's Girls of Geekdom list, and then the first series came out a short time later. Top notch work that is a must watch. :)

  • by

    jvjf388e

    Sun Feb 19 2006

    I could not believe that this is a classic. I was yawning through half of it, and the other half I must have been asleep. It's just stupid, and I really can't see the point of it being made.

  • by

    nightbird

    Mon Jun 13 2005

    Pretty lame and stupid!

  • by

    kawaiikonoama

    Fri Apr 22 2005

    I HATE THIS SHOW! IT'S SO SERIOUS! I feel better watching Dragon Tales over this crap!

  • by

    otakusami

    Thu Apr 21 2005

    I hate this anime! The movie sucks, the series sucks, and only the game is good. Very terrible. Too boring and no real plot. Wtf was he thinking?

  • by

    milkmannne

    Thu Apr 21 2005

    It is a great portrayal of the game cyber punk.

  • by

    1256inuyasha

    Sat Mar 12 2005

    I saw Ghost in the Shell 2: Innocense, and it is Ok the animation is really good. Stand Alone Complex that show on Cartoonnetworks Adult Swin is ok i guess. But I keep falling asleep on it because they talk to much. I'd give it 3 stars but It doesn't keep my intrest so it gets a 2.

  • by

    tokara2132

    Wed Mar 09 2005

    Ghost in the Shell is a great show about what life would be like when robotics are advanced. It shows a dark, almost 1984-esqe world.

  • by

    inkiemouse

    Sat Feb 26 2005

    The movie was laughable. What happened in the beginning? What happened to the end? And not much substance in the middle except for a naked robot dancing around with guns, which isn't really substance at all... If I could give this a -10 out of 5, I would.

  • by

    wakataka

    Wed Feb 23 2005

    If you mean the movie - great, 5 stars. The TV Show - I have yet to watch - too tired by the time it comes on and I don't want to ruin the movie memories. No manga experience.