Gary Oldman

English actor and filmmaker Website

Approval Rate: 83%

83%Approval ratio

Reviews 33

Sort by:
  • by

    irishgit

    Sat Aug 28 2010

    This guy doesn't act. He just becomes whatever his character is. Even in bad films Oldman is never less than excellent, and has the true mark of a great actor, in that his "style" is non-existant. Someone like Jack Nicholson, who while a fine actor, essentially does "Jack doing his character" most of the time and is easily recognizable. Oldman submerges himself in his character and becomes almost unrecognizable in so doing.

  • by

    magneticd

    Fri Aug 27 2010

    The chameleon. This man can become a victorian mansion if given time to study his subject. A lot of younger reviewers don't think he's so talented because he's 'all old and shit', but he is usually married to someone in their 20's anyway, so go bite one.

  • by

    femalien

    Mon Mar 08 2010

    Hope he wins an Oscar some day. He has brought such memorable characters, albeit either disturbed or evil, to the big screen. Too many great roles to mention, but certainly among them: Zorg, Korshunov, Stansfield, Oswald, and Joe Orton.

  • by

    disgustingfats_tupidsmellyugl_ypig

    Tue Aug 11 2009

    Blows away as Oswald in "JFK"

  • by

    frankswildyear_s

    Thu Nov 13 2008

    The actor's actor. There is no signature role or character for him, he can do it all. He is often unrecogonizable behind his character.  I assume there was a lifetime of mortgage payments paid to him for his part in the recent Batman films.  I hope the payoff is freedom to give another performance like Immortal Beloved.

  • by

    spike65

    Fri Jun 20 2008

    Watch "The Professional" for a fine Gary Oldman performance. One of the best bad guy performances ever.

  • by

    homercat

    Thu Aug 23 2007

    One of my top four favorite British actors. A.Rickman, G.Oldman, J. Isaacs, L.Neeson

  • by

    brigit

    Mon Aug 20 2007

    I agree with jswenson! I love Gary's style!

  • by

    jswenson

    Fri Dec 01 2006

    He has been awesome in everything I've seen him in.

  • by

    jeremy00081

    Tue Sep 12 2006

    All I know about this guy is he was one SCARY Dracula. 5 stars for creeping me out, which is what horror movies are supposed to do.

  • by

    bigwash

    Sat Aug 12 2006

    Very underated.

  • by

    empress_scorpio

    Wed Jan 04 2006

    By far, he is, if not the greatest, then pretty damn close to being the best actor in our time. Not to rag on anyone else's favorites but the difference between him and, let's say, Al Pacino is that every single character seems to be completely new to himself as well as to his audience. Al Pacino plays the exact same role with the exact amount of time for some long speech and you can only tell the characters apart by the different scripts and nothing more. Now, Gary Oldman can literally cahnge everything about himself for a role except his fingerprints. And I know a handful of people who have only watched Harry Potter films to see his small role in them.

  • by

    oscargamblesfr_o

    Wed Dec 21 2005

    Great actor, I regard Oldman and Sean Penn as probably the finest actors of their age group. Oldman is an extremely versatile actor who has played everything from Sid Vicious to Dracula to a Hell's Kitchen gangster and more. He always puts forth his best effort, and he is one of the comparatively few actors who cause you to thoroughly suspend any notion of disbelief and nearly forget that there is actually any acting going on at all. Incredible talent.

  • by

    parriepenn

    Sat Nov 12 2005

    This guy is incredible. He has a different face in every movie. His accents are not quite as good, but Hey! he's human. I think.

  • by

    goldilocks

    Mon Oct 10 2005

    Way underrated! Character actors are my favorite, and this guy is exceptional, full of dimension. I love this guy. You can really tell which actors have training in theater and ones that don't. Appearently this one does.

  • by

    dorianblue

    Sun Jul 03 2005

    Absolutely riveting in everything he does. Criminally underrated.

  • by

    sabasimba

    Wed Jun 29 2005

    Excellent as Oswald in JFK.

  • by

    dweedumont

    Mon Apr 04 2005

    Never has the same accent in each of his films and is always completely unpredictable. His talent turns me on and I would definitely shag his wrinkly old arse!

  • by

    kangharue

    Wed Nov 10 2004

    What else can I say. He's a great actor. (He also does a fantastic American accent)

  • by

    dragonman

    Sun Sep 26 2004

    One of the best current actors, my favorite role of his is in The Professional as a drug crazed DEA agent. He was also good in Harry Potter:The Prisioner of Azkaban but he didn't get enough screen time.

  • by

    callitdownthel_ine75

    Thu Jul 08 2004

    Like Gary Sinise, Gary Oldman is very underrated. But let the facts be clear about this. Oldman is a great actor, and I find it hard to believe he is not getting any lead roles nor getting any attention. Could it be because of his conservative leanings? Hmmm? In any case, Oldman is superb in any type of film genre. As the bad guy in 'The Fifth Element', or as Beethoven in 'Immortal Beloved', his acting range seems to have no limits. If anything, he should have top-billing.

  • by

    tvtator

    Sun Feb 01 2004

    An actor so good, so mesmorizing that many times you are left saying who is that guy? He is so good, so effective that no traces of Gary Oldman are found in any of his characters. He is one of those actors so good at absorbing into the character whether it be through both performance, speech and make-up. He is amazing to watch.

  • by

    stanuzbeck

    Sat Jul 26 2003

    One of the greatest actors, living or dead. Can play virtually any role, and can convey any emotion with a flick of the eyes. Mostly plays villains, but is outstanding at all character types. My favourite Gary Oldman scene is in Immortal Beloved, when he is standing on stage watching the orchestra play his Ninth Symphony, unable to hear them or the audience. He expresses more joy and sorrow in five wordless minutes than most actors do throughout their entire career. He was so good in the Scarlet Letter that he made Demi Moore look talented through sheer proximity.

  • by

    thebluewyvern

    Mon May 26 2003

    Great great great! One of the very best!!!

  • by

    redoedo

    Sun May 04 2003

    Gary Oldman is the BEST actor in Hollywood today. Period. He has never, ever given a bad performance. He is the master of dialect- he has changed his accent in practically ever movie that he has played in. He does not have that big a resume, but that is a testament to just how carefully he selects and prepares for his roles. Although he did not look much like Lee Harvey Oswald, his performance as Oswald in "JFK" was nonetheless breathtaking. "The Scarlet Letter" was an excellent movie as well. He shocked me in "Air Force One" by actually producing a great performance as a Russian terrorist who takes over the Presidential aircraft. Then, to top that off, he starred as a vindictive Congressman in "The Contender". The places that this very talented actor can go are unlimited. I'd like to see him do more comedy- he was pretty good in "The Fifth Element"- and that southern accent he slapped on in there must've taken months to perfect. If only there were more actors like Gary Oldman around.

  • by

    thornvv

    Wed Mar 20 2002

    Excellent actor.

  • by

    sendrin

    Tue Feb 05 2002

    As an actor and writer, I find that severe scrutiny is an undulating force that drives us to achieve greater things. Gary Oldman is one actor, I have noticed, that has suffered this plight as much as any other for no reason I can understand. I have seen every movie he has appeared in, from "Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead" to "Sid and Nancy" to "True Romance". The only consistency between each of these roles (or ANY movie he has graced with his involvement) is the name in the credits. He harbors more personalities than the file cabinet in Alfred Adler's office. What else is an actor, anyway?

  • by

    bella_angel

    Thu Jul 05 2001

    It is so obvious watching Mr. Oldman on screen that he is one of the greatest. Versatile, dark, villinous, sophisticated... He has it all. Whatever film he graces is a hit and whatever actor/actress he stars with is put to shame. It is a true shame that ne does not get the credit nor the attention he deserves. Tk you for your performances -- all of them -- and I hope to be seeing more of you on screen. You are a true actor...

  • by

    plumpbottom40

    Fri May 04 2001

    Gary Oldman has got to be my favorite character actor since Kevin Spacey has been booted up to leading man status. Oldman doesn't play the part, he is the part! He never ceases to amaze me. Every time I see him in a film, I am blown away!!! Words can not express what his Sid Vicious means to me or what he and Chloe Webb did for the film, "Sid and Nancy"! His Dracula put Lugosi and Christopher Lee to shame. And how often can you a see a working class Brit sport dreadlocks and speak like a homeboy like he did in "True Romance"? How many Brits do you think could pass it off and be effectively frightening as well? None that I could think of.... except for Gary Oldman!

  • by

    serepidy

    Tue Jan 09 2001

    no that's all i have to say is nnooo

  • by

    scarlettp9

    Mon Nov 27 2000

    Gary Oldman makes his characters believable through his creative ingenuity. His directorial skill is also to be applauded. I would personally like to see him play more comedy..I have a feeling he has the capacity to be a wonderful comedic actor!

  • by

    fofita

    Sat Nov 25 2000

    He's great! All he's caracters are the villons, the bad guys, the hatefull ones, but when you look at him and you see him act, you realise that you want to go to bed with him. He's the sexiest man on earth!

  • by

    michael_arbor

    Fri Nov 17 2000

    This guy has been one of my favorite actors over the past decade or so. He has portrayed so many different types of characters in a bunch of movies over the years. Gangster-pimp wanna be in 'True Romance'. Creepy vampire in 'Dracula'. Even played the devil in one of the last music videos ever made by Guns 'n' Roses. Very versatile in his range, master of accents and dialects. I have seen some bad movies that Gary Oldman has been in, but I have never seen him give a bad performance.

This topic is on the following list(s)

Add to new list