topic image

France

Country located primarily in Western Europe Website

Approval Rate: 61%

61%Approval ratio

Reviews 101

Sort by:
  • by

    ralphthewonder_llama

    Fri Jan 13 2012

    UPDATE: S&P downgrades France; the Euro is sinking faster than an Italian Cruise liner. It would be a great place if it wasn't so full of snotty cheese-eating surrender monkeys.

  • by

    alikhan44

    Mon Dec 05 2011

    France is one of the most beautiful country

  • by

    littledragon

    Sat Dec 03 2011

    It's 5 in the morning here and I don't feel like writing a full review so I'll just drop some statements regarding my experiences in France. - I lived near Paris for 12 years and went through the school system there. - The city of Paris was nice but quite pricey. I preferred the outskirts because it was much calmer and you didn't have to deal with the huge crowds that pushed you around in the public transport system (which would be quite frankly one of the best in the world if they didn't strike so damn much). - There's a ton to see and do in France. Even if you don't have the best imagination, you won't get bored. - Decent wine can be had for a few euros since you're so close to the source. - They've had very lax immigration laws so it's very multicultural. It's so multicultural that they've even managed to let in Muslim extremists who burn down the offices of magazines that have funny cartoons of Mohamed and who threaten people's lives. I should probably point out that some o... Read more

  • by

    bird808

    Fri Oct 23 2009

    I've always wanted to visit France and I'm intrigued about the culture over there. The fashion looks good, buildings and architecture amazing and food looks decent. I absolutely love French films (not the errotic kind), but there's always so much heart in what they do. Definitely worth considering as a permanent residence there.

  • by

    jamie_finn

    Thu Sep 11 2008

    je parle un peu de francais

  • by

    william_j

    Sun Aug 10 2008

    if only they were nice...

  • by

    pugwash01

    Mon Jul 28 2008

    No point beating around the bush, Brits don't like the French and Visa Versa. There is allot of dislike, even hate between both countries. But as a man born in the UK I would still recognize that France is a very beautiful country with a great culture both in food and tradition! Yes we clearly have our differences and well the French have been a constant thorn in the flesh but it is a nice place!!! The thing is you must understand that even though the French around the world are known to be arrogant and rude. You must understand that these people historically have gone through hell and back!!! Yet as a country France still blossoms time and time again! The countryside is very beautiful and scenic! The market places are just great to shop at and the beer is cheap!!! Paris is known as the romantic city but I would beg to differ as there are some really romantic places outside of Paris that in my opinion represent Romance! All in all I will give the country 4 stars as it does have charact... Read more

  • by

    brenden

    Thu Jul 24 2008

    Snobs.

  • by

    bestgirlyahoo

    Fri Jun 27 2008

    France has got the best wine

  • by

    fb634766854

    Fri Nov 09 2007

    Paris and Straßbourg

  • by

    aidanmacdonald

    Sun Aug 05 2007

    OK, so I've given France a 5 star rating to counterbalance all the negative criticism on here; Of course France is not the best country in the world, but it is one of the most beautiful and diverse, with a huge amount of history and culture. As a people, they have a reputation for being unhelpful and grumpy, but I guess that this is more due to communication problems, given that most French were not taught English as a first language (nor to a very high level) until very recently. Ideed, if you look at their demographics and at incidents of racism etc, you'll see that they are a very tollerant nation, as a whole. So, learn a couple of useful phrases eg. parlez vous anglais, before you launch into your speach and you'll be able to appreciate what a great country it is.

  • by

    chicagoman

    Thu Apr 12 2007

    Americans say the people in france are snobby and rude, but they are actually kind and friendly. I would say americans are worse than the french in the way they act to foreigners.

  • by

    renaissance

    Wed Feb 14 2007

    I lived in France for two months in 2004. The architecture and countryside are indeed very attractive. On the other hand, there is some truth to the stereotype that the French are arrogant. This arrogance, combined with France's cultural and economic stagnation, creates a suffocating ambience. No wonder the youth started rioting in Autunm, 2005.

  • by

    victor83

    Sun Feb 11 2007

    I have no doubt that France is a beautiful country. Further, I have no doubt that there are a lot of good French people. However, they owe their freedom to the USA twice over; yet they crap on the USA every chance they get. And who are they to preach against agression? Look at their (even recent) history. No use for France.

  • by

    ben999

    Sun Feb 11 2007

    Although France catches a lot of bitterness here in America, it was still the most beautiful place I have ever been. I found the people pleasent and very helpful. Paris was a city like I've never seen before; so eloquent and romantic. The eiffel tower and Notre Dame were breath taking. Although I don't necessarily agree with the French Government I don't think we should hate the country as a whole because of the actions of a few people.

  • by

    lastmessenger3

    Wed Sep 20 2006

    I was obcessed with french language forever. No other language quite does it for me. I have learned a lot about French history and culture, some in school, some in my own research. I would give it a try to live there, I may still do it...

  • by

    kipprabbit

    Mon Jul 31 2006

    no! just...no! I think i'll go move to North Korea first...

  • by

    riausa

    Wed May 31 2006

    I hate them. I hate hate so I hate them. Let's call peace!

  • by

    dixie1202

    Thu Apr 20 2006

    The natives were very rude to Americans. They all pretended not to understand English when in reality, they did. Now, I do have a problem with permanent residents that refuse to assimilate but I never condone mistreatment especially of tourists.

  • by

    callitdownthel_ine75

    Sun Mar 26 2006

    Political disagreements aside, France is definitely a beautiful country. Anyone who has ever had the chance to visit it would probably attest to this as France is the home of some of the most picturesque sceneries and areas in the world. From the larger-than-life Eiffel Tower, to the mournful beaches of Normandy, visitors are at once awed by the beauty and majestry of these historic icons. Furthermore, any country who has the STUNNINGLY BEAUTIFUL Melissa Theuriau as their morning news anchor cannot be all that bad, can it?

  • by

    caligula

    Wed Jan 18 2006

    Most of the negative comments are by people I doubt have ever visited. Were the people in Paris rude? Not any ruder than the people in NYC, Philly or Boston. It's a big city full of self important people. What do you expect? Is it still worth visiting? Absolutely. Paris is the most physically buetiful large city in the world. And the people are actually friendly in the French countryside, which is also buetiful. This is a rating based solely on France as a destination, so the political comments left here seems out of line.

  • by

    blaster5000

    Sat Jan 07 2006

    Excellent food, gorgeous cities and a beautiful countryside. Too bad about the people and their unfortunate culture.

  • by

    electron

    Wed Nov 16 2005

    Never generalize about anything. There are idiots everywhere, and fine people everywhere. Try to think as a world citizen, this would be a way to give a chance to our planet.

  • by

    sfalconer

    Tue Sep 13 2005

    Awful country full of French people who don't bath and use a lot of perfume. One country I have no desire to visit. Whats the fasted thing on earth with 50000 feet, the French in retreat.

  • by

    spartacus007

    Sat Sep 03 2005

    I would if it weren't for the taxes and immigration laws.

  • by

    mixxin

    Mon Jul 25 2005

    Cool country. The French are very direct and in-your-face, if they hate you, they let you know it, unlike... Asians that are all smiley and then give you the finger when you turn around, or Mediterraneans (Spain, Italy, Portugal, Greece) that offer you the world and then try to rip you off. This has been said over and over, just try to speak a little bit of their language, it doesn't have to be perfect, and their attitude with you as a tourist will change.

  • by

    maersk

    Wed Jul 06 2005

    amazing country, amazing people, no matter what these toby keith loving cockwads say. to the dumbsh*t that said berlin is the capital of europe........uh, no, paris is.....the french are superior in every way to the germans, they have faster trains/transit service, cleaner streets, better food, a larger armed forces (despite what these right wing dumbf**ks say, the old sterotypes about french martial history are meaningless, france has the largest standing army in western europe, 200,000 men,(compared to germanys 85,000) the most advanced airforce (yes, the french have better planes than the UK or germany and more of them than either country) france has more nuclear weapons than the UK and better special forces (foreign legion, GIGN, the black panthers anti terrorist squads, marines, ect ect)the 2 most important battles in european history where won by the french, the battle of tours where charles martel defeated abd al rahman and his muslim arabs in 732, thus preventing the arabs f... Read more

  • by

    peteywheatstra_w

    Sun May 08 2005

    Is France really worth a 5? Maybe and Maybe not. I've been there and liked it, but I had to give France a 5 for all the American robots who bash France even though they know nothing about the country, only that some conservative hack told them to hate it.

  • by

    amy55rose

    Thu Mar 31 2005

    I can give you my first hand view of the real France since I've been living near Paris for 7 months now. Even in an optimistic light, the French are definitely not my favorite race of people. They tend to be pretty intense (in a negative way), but it is possible to find nice ones. They're pretty annoyingly chauvinistic and their government is too socialist. But overall, I think it's a good place to visit if you speak French and have an open mind (just don't be offended if the French people don't). I recommend Toulon, Strasbourg, and Paris for best cities. If you're just planning on going up the eiffel tower and buying an I love Paris hat, don't even bother because the French people (and some foreigners) don't like you. To all the rest of you, bon voyage!

  • by

    37102002

    Sat Mar 26 2005

    Amazing history, architecture, culture. Must see places would include Eiffel Tower, the Louvre, Notre Dame , Palace at Versailles. Plus south Franch is beautiful. Maybe to see some winerys would be a good day trip. Paris subway is surprisingly clean and efficient compared to American subways(except for D.C. which is also good). Dont listen to the right wing hype. France is a great place to visit and people are not as unfriendly to Americans, at least they were not to us, as popular myth.

  • by

    james76255

    Sat Jan 22 2005

    I have come to the conclusion that there is only one way I can express my feeling toward France. Yes, it is crude. No, it is not articulate. Yes, I will have to alter it to get it past the censors. However, it does seem appropriate... FORK FRANCE!

  • by

    louiethe20th

    Thu Jan 20 2005

    If I wanted to live in a pansie ridden liberal society, I would move to Canada or California.

  • by

    scarletfeather

    Thu Jan 20 2005

    I think I could be very happy there but I can't move there because I don't speak French. Also, I don't think I'd be well-liked over there since I am a native Texan, and I've heard the French particulary hate Texans.

  • by

    skizero

    Thu Jan 20 2005

    France seems alright, although i just don't feel any need to move there. maybe i would if Italy fell through. could live in Paris, travel around, track down places Proust and Celine haunted. visit Mr. Mojo's grave.

  • by

    barbkaye57

    Thu Jan 20 2005

    I'd like to try living in France for a while but not in Paris. People I know who have visited France say that outside the big cities the people tend to be a lot more friendly.

  • by

    jirai1d4

    Sat Jan 08 2005

    Fine if you like hairy women, stinky cheese and snails. Otherwise, I wouldn't give it a second glance.

  • by

    terribleman

    Thu Dec 23 2004

    Definitely overrated country

  • by

    ertrea24

    Mon Dec 13 2004

    Incredibly rich cultural heritage, but French are too nasty and nationalist to be appreciated.

  • by

    mrpolitical

    Fri Nov 05 2004

    Yeah, I'll move to France when they win a war- which is to say NEVER.

  • by

    mikeholly93

    Wed Oct 20 2004

    France is a fine European country to visit. You will love the history, including Note Dame, Chartes Cathedral, the prehistoric painted caves of Lascaux, the Eiffel Tower, and the Palace of Versailles. Many Americans hate France mostly because of that country opposing the war against Iraq but i have opposed the war against Iraq myself so I have agreed with France. The only gripe is that France is a little too soft on prostitution and drugs but at least, the crime rate is lower there then in America. I also like France because of their ban on religious symbols in their public schools which we don't have for our public schools and they do a better job of honoring the separation of church and state than we do.

  • by

    daccory

    Tue Oct 19 2004

    Immediately. The most loveliest country in the world...spent many happy times here and lived in Montpellier and St Raphael. Republicans are letting their politics rule their hearts. Sure, people are rude if you shout in English at them.

  • by

    runswithwhitew_olves

    Tue Oct 19 2004

    Come on now france!

  • by

    ofofofof

    Thu Oct 07 2004

    I love Franch music and the Franch language, and I haven't been there but I have been told that it's beautifull as well. The problem I have with France is that it is antishemetic, and that is why I can't visit there.

  • by

    skipper_26

    Sat Sep 18 2004

    Beautiful country, but people are so rude that gets ugly. The language is also annoying.

  • by

    buttebulldog

    Sat Sep 11 2004

    Culture is overrated. For places to holiday go to Italy or Spain, as far as being a European leader it's third tier compared to Germany or Britain. Berlin is now the capital of Europe. English is Europe's language.

  • by

    randyman

    Fri Aug 27 2004

    One thing about the French. They're always there when they need you!

  • by

    numbah16tdhaha

    Mon Aug 16 2004

    Not if you paid me. But I would go once a year to see Lance Armstrong whoop candy ass Frogs in their own race.

  • by

    chewstick

    Thu Aug 05 2004

    Bad service, look down on people who arent French.

  • by

    classictvfan47

    Sat Jun 26 2004

    Boycott France! No chance I would move to this breeding ground of anti-Americanism.

  • by

    lahell84

    Sun May 30 2004

    Bonjour Mother fuc$er!