topic image

Egypt

Transcontinental country spanning the northeast corner of Africa and southwest corner of Asia via a land bridge formed by the Sinai Peninsula Website

Approval Rate: 63%

63%Approval ratio

Reviews 22

Sort by:
  • by

    fitman

    Thu Feb 03 2011

    I suggest waiting for better days... Meanwhile, the military apparently (as usual) refused to shoot their friends and relatives, so some cops were called in to do the job... http://tiny.cc/CopticKillers http://www.legitgov.org/

  • by

    canadasucks

    Mon Aug 10 2009

    For all the grand historical stuff, it's a slightly overrated third-world place that is difficult to navigate by yourself- you better off sticking to the tour-bus and cruise-on-the-Nile packages unless you're a hearty traveler. The food isn't as good as other African and Middle East cuisines and the water will kick your ass so drink from plastic bottles - (also, make sure the caps are sealed. . .filling old water bottles with tap water is an old scam.) I've reviewed other parts of Egypt separately so I won't dive into details here, but I will say that I'm glad I went but not in a hurry to get back. . .

  • by

    autumnyaar

    Fri Jul 24 2009

    Egypt is an exciting vacation destination. It is a third world country though, so you should be prepared for that. I would definitely recommend going with a tour, it will be easier and the prices will be fixed for you. Otherwise, getting around by yourself can be a real tough situation, especially if you are a female traveler. Note to the ladies: dress modestly once you are here. Unfortunately, most men have a stereotype of foreign women being easy. Dressing in short sleeves and shorts is re-enforcing that opinion for them. Egypt is the #1 country for sexual harassment, and it shows. Try to interact with women only while you are there, and don't make eye contact unnecessarily with men on the street. Some of them literally take it as an invitation from you to come and flirt with you because you like them. Be careful with how you act around men, being friendly can send the wrong signals. Try to stay aloof with the guys, and let them know from the beginning that you aren't going to tole... Read more

  • by

    gigi2009

    Sat Jul 11 2009

    Egypt is the trip of a lifetime. It is important to do your homework before going there, after all it is a third world country ; but very cheap and efforable for the traveller on a budget. As a solo woman and independet traveller, it was annoying and frustrating at times but common sense, undestanding and respect of the culture helped me understand and not swet the small stuff. Because it is a 3rt world country, most Egyptian believe travellers have money, so they will always overprice everything from food to tours. Men do bother solo women on the streets (no matter how modest you dress), crossing the streets in Cairo and Alexandria, were almost suicide missions, and the many marry proposal from the locals were just tiresome. When people ask me advice about visiting Egypt, I tell them to go on an orginized tour....especially if you are a woman.

  • by

    jedi58

    Wed Jan 14 2009

    It's not your usual tourist destination, and it is a third world country so you should be prepared for that. It is a nice place though, with a lot of history and culture, the people there are very friendly too.

  • by

    93century

    Thu Feb 01 2007

    I always wanted to see some pyramids, but im not going until after the war!

  • by

    mixxin

    Wed Jan 05 2005

    Very interesting place, tons of things to do, FRIENDLY and HELPFUL locals (yes you are reading right). Too bad I was only there for a week.

  • by

    walidovic

    Sun Jun 06 2004

    what u call lucky sucker punch against Israel was actually freeing our land for their occupation after they invaded it in 1965. read some serious history book, don't just watch rediculous american films

  • by

    jaywilton

    Mon Apr 05 2004

    The country that probably first developed bread is commemorated every year during the Jewish holiday of Passover by eating unleavened bread(matzoh) which helps promote constipation. This is a constructive way to think of this country which enslaved the Jews and hasn't improved since. During the past year,Egyptian television has featured a true family entertainment series on The Protocals of the Elders of Zion, considered an antisemitic forgery since the worst Pharoahs were in business(That's why the best movie depicting Egypt is The Mummy with Boris Karloff). The country that landed a lucky sucker punch against Israel in the '73 Yom Kippur war are also the homelands of Yasser (The Palestinean)Arafat and at least one pilot who deliberately flew a plane full of passengers into the ocean...so far.

  • by

    president_x_d

    Tue Apr 29 2003

    Another example of fine archeological treasures being controlled by a genuinely crappy government.

  • by

    bigbaby

    Sat Feb 08 2003

    Egypt would be a exciting place to visit- especially the pyramids. If only it werent run by a terrorist regime- as usual.

  • by

    charmingprince

    Sat Dec 07 2002

    This would be a terrible place for female travellers. Egyptian guys are annoying and love to tastefully harass women visiting from abroad.

  • by

    ofofofof

    Sun Aug 25 2002

    bad country!!!

  • by

    cristiank

    Fri Jul 12 2002

    Egypt is a dictatorship. There is no freedom and human rights! They are barabrians as most Arabs!

  • by

    galomorro

    Fri Mar 22 2002

    Love the music, the food, and the people are very attractive.

  • by

    rustyfe0

    Thu Mar 21 2002

    Garbage around the Pyramids. Poor birth control, nothing but shifting sand dunes and strong anti-Americanism. But what can you expect from them there Ay-rabs? AMERICA, BAY-BEE!!!!

  • by

    abichara

    Fri Oct 26 2001

    Despite the fact that it is a very polluted country, Egypt is one of the most interesting destinations in the world for travelers. It is slightly unsettled because of the fundamentalist element of the politics of Egypt, but I still think that the country is worth visiting. Cairo is a fascinating city; the Egyptian Museum, which displays King Tut's treasures, is interesting. Outside of Cairo; Giza is very interesting, the Spinx is well worth seeing. Visit the Pyramids in the area, I guarantee they will be one of the greatest things you will ever see. Take a cruise down the Nile River through Aswan and Luxor. You will get a feel for this ancient civilization that way and it is very scenic and relaxing as well. Overall, a very interesting place to go.

  • by

    ellajedlicka21

    Thu Oct 25 2001

    It is a somewhat unstable country that has some Christian/Muslim conflict (another example of senseless religious tension). However, the history is pretty interesting because of the obvious pyramids and other ancient architectural designs.

  • by

    e2bug0ad

    Sat Jun 02 2001

    Truly the nastiest place on earth.

  • by

    munson

    Mon Apr 03 2000

    I don't think I have ever been as blown away by something as much as when as I was standing in front of the Great Pyramids. If you go to Egypt, you will truly see some remarkable things. The sites, however, are tempered by the abject poverty and the fear to eat any of the local fare.

  • by

    bks81358om

    Mon Nov 29 1999

    One of the most interesting countries, but getting their is a little scary. And be careful crossing the streets in Cairo.

  • by

    jzan121om

    Tue Oct 26 1999

    The mere historical importance of Egypt would make it worth going.