topic image

Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon

2000 wuxia film directed by Ang Lee and written for the screen by Wang Hui-ling, James Schamus, and Tsai Kuo-jung Website

Approval Rate: 78%

78%Approval ratio

Reviews 50

Sort by:
  • by

    magneticd

    Fri Nov 12 2010

    I loved it at the time, probably because of Zhang Ziyi.

  • by

    sagedarkhorse

    Wed Jun 17 2009

    I really was disappointed with this movie primarily because I wasn't expecting for people to "fly and prance" around in scenes of battle like fairies. I dunno about any of yuo but the coloring int his movie was very good. They had scenes where the whole scene was basically 1 color a few times. I also didn't like having to read the dman movie. LOL I HATE subtitles!!

  • by

    rumvenom

    Fri Mar 07 2008

    SHOULD HAVE WON BEST FILM THAT YEAR LOST TO GLADIATOR WHICH WAS GOOD BUT NO WHERE NEER THE CALIBER OF  CROCHING CIAO   MATES

  • by

    cyqing

    Sat Nov 10 2007

    Awesome stunts/fights in this film.

  • by

    triped

    Thu Apr 26 2007

    And why wasn't there more collaboration between Eastern & Western filmmakers after this big budget movie? It was a hit, and rightfully so. It had elements of East Asian traditional storyline and action, combined with Western and more modernized technological wizardry to bring forth special effects, cameratography, and the style of film making reminiscent of big blockbuster hits. This is a great example of what cooperation can bring everyone = Success.

  • by

    robbo59

    Thu Jan 19 2006

    Looking for realism in a martial arts movie is an adventure that is doomed to futility and is something that should be a given up from the start. Master Lee (Bruce) had a difficult time trying to convince the producers of "The Green Hornet" television series (in which he played the part of Kato in the late 60's) that when he kicked or punched an opponent, they normally lost consciousness very quickly on their way to the floor. The producers, knowing that it was their job to give the viewers of a campy, action hero series a reason to watch (That being goofy, long-winded, action packed bouts where good inevitably triumphs, againt overwhelming odds, against evil.) told Lee to keep his mouth shut if he liked cashing his generous paychecks. Lee took this lesson into his own career and gave the genre it's first and greatest international superstar by arranging the bouts in his films along much the same lines. Later we saw Jackie Chan add heavy doses of slapstick and ever more death defying s... Read more

  • by

    decalod85

    Sun Dec 04 2005

    I actually prefer this in Chinese, with the subtitles. Fight scenes are incredible. This is a movie that simultaneously manages to be a chick-flick and a kick-ass action movie all at once.

  • by

    limpin_trenchfoot

    Thu Dec 01 2005

    One of the most overrated films ever. The truth of the matter is that it's plotless, slow moving, pointless and boring with silly and unrealistic kung-fu choreographing. Stick with Bruce Lee and Jackie Chan. Absolute cr@p.

  • by

    hbbt55

    Sat Oct 08 2005

    It was a pretty good film for something out of Asia. It reminded me of those old Kung-Fu films were everyone stayed in the air more time than on the ground. Good thing Newton didn't see this one, he might of questioned whether gravity really existed or not. Also atleast they din't have to lip sinc like those oldies.

  • by

    beres6b4

    Sat Mar 05 2005

    I actually went to the theater to see it. It was that good.

  • by

    lojack

    Fri Aug 27 2004

    plot and action are imense and for gods sake those idiots who dont get it use some imagination you dul people,

  • by

    finfrosk

    Sun Aug 01 2004

    This is the worst movie I have ever seen!! Although, I have never laughed so hard from a movie ever, I almost cramped up man. The flying looks so silly, at last I couldn't do anything else than laugh! hooh! by the way, if I could, I would give minus 5 stars.

  • by

    sfalconer

    Mon Apr 19 2004

    I did not get this on at all you've folks jumping around like they are in the Matrix and no one seems to know why. A couple of nice fight scenes but on a whole way over rated.

  • by

    enkidu

    Sat Mar 06 2004

    Really enjoyable and quite different from the usual Hollywood fare, and with a gorgeous score by Tan Dun (Yo-Yo Ma on the cello). While you can enjoy it for the cinematography alone, the story is engaging and poignant. I wasn't expecting to like it as much as I did. UPDATE: I think it is interesting that people complain about the stunts being unrealistic--when they are fans of Hollywood films that feature heroes emerging unscathed, with nary a hair out of place from gigantic explosions, twenty-car crashes, machine-gunnings, plasma-rifle-riddlings, nuclear explosions, asteroid strikes, gamma-ray irradiations, and other culturally acceptable stunts.

  • by

    phlip_tout

    Thu Jan 01 2004

    Loved it the first time I saw it. 2nd time... eh.

  • by

    stanuzbeck

    Wed Oct 15 2003

    Man was I disappointed with this one. The hype surrounding this movie was unreal, and everyone I heard talk about it said it was an incredible movie. Unfortunately I had seen a number of Chinese action flicks before in my life, so really nothing about the movie impressed me. I like Chow-Yun Fat, but he's good in everything he does, and he's also the coolest Chinese man alive. The wire stunts were kind of embarrassing to watch, although they were probably a lot of fun to do. I thought it looked ridiculous that when someone leaped from the ground to a roof, it looked like they were running up invisible stairs instead of just jumping up. The fight scenes were well choreographed and visually very exciting, but absolutely nothing could have lived up to the hype. I'm sure that in China this sort of thing is pretty pedestrian.

  • by

    comedyfreek

    Sat Sep 27 2003

    bad movie....thats all i can say...didnt deserve the recognition it got...and the name was very misleading

  • by

    vanilla_tiger

    Fri Aug 01 2003

    I have to admit...when I first saw the ads for this movie I was highly pesimistic. Now after seeing it, how wrong I was to judge!! (obviously if you don't mind reading sub text at the bottom of your television screen than you should be alright watching this movie.) I found myself crying at the end. Beautifully crafted and amazing fighting scenes, I could hardly move I was so enthralled. Seriously.

  • by

    kennit

    Sun Jul 20 2003

    It was pretty, I'll give it that. And I'm generally a fan of movies with asskicking femmes, but the whole film was blown far out of proportion. I was unimpressed, overall.

  • by

    bryght

    Thu Jul 17 2003

    Greatest martial arts film in history.

  • by

    tommy91a

    Thu Jul 10 2003

    Confusing but still a good Kung-Fu film exellently coreographed. runing up walls just liike the matrix jummping from roof top to roof top sword fighting an all round good film a bit stupid at the end though but still a good film.

  • by

    open_anus

    Sat May 03 2003

    stylish and graceful, done in mandarin, not with cheesy cliched american accents, beautiful settings, an authentic chineese feel to it, a solid storyline and great martial arts. definatly martial ART.

  • by

    zebadee

    Sun Apr 20 2003

    Flying???? What next??

  • by

    kamylienne

    Wed Mar 19 2003

    Alright, first of all, for those who don't know "who the hell makes a movie in feacking chinees", guess where they made this movie? IN CHINA. Doesn't take a genius to figure that out. Not all movies are made in America, movies exist in other countries, too. Big surprise. The subtitles try to stay as close to the original, literal translation of the language; it's not going to make perfect sense in Englsih, but if they stayed too far away from the translation, it would have been inaccurate. Alright, that being said, the movie itself was a bit drawn out, and the martial arts was great until they went running on the trees (I completely lost it there). It's a good movie, but it's hard to sit through. It's definately not for everyone. If you can't handle reading subtitles, can't handle artsy kung fu sequences, can't handle bizarre love stories, or don't like movies made in other countries, DON'T WATCH THIS MOVIE. Otherwise, if you don't mind, it may be something that's worth watch... Read more

  • by

    callmetootie

    Wed Jan 15 2003

    A bit too violent, but an excellent screenplay and top-notch special effects.

  • by

    imoon001

    Sat Jan 11 2003

    i really dont know how anybody can watch a kung-fu,kicky movie.its all the same crap,and this flic was one of the worst{running through the trees)lets try to keep it real

  • by

    canadasucks

    Thu Nov 21 2002

    A misunderstood film. This story is based on an old Chinese tale. . .yes, the flying is something you have to look past but our legendary tale of Paul Revere is just as fictional. CTHD is one of most beautifully shot films I have ever seen. Incredible cinematography, decent acting, terrific fight scenes. But it is simply a beautiful film to watch- the scenery, the costumes, the locations are just phenomenal.

  • by

    loadf19d

    Wed May 22 2002

    If any film can be credited with bringing back the magic and mysticism of the motion picture within the last few years, "Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon" is it. It is very beatuiful, very eloquent. It is respectful when it must be, and it is rough when it must be. The performances are first-class, Ang Lee's direction is definately Oscar-worthy (he should have won, but Soderborgh was tough competition) and it is all-around fantastic. As Joel Siegel put it, "One of the greatest movies ever made!"

  • by

    antondatree

    Wed Apr 24 2002

    I was completely blown away by this beautiful and brilliant film. Certainly a great martial arts film, but also drama. You learn to cheer it's so great. The fight scenes are sheer genius. In bambo trees, nightime in a villiage. Far superior to "Gladiator", which took the Best Picture award 2001 Oscar night. This film was incredibly entertaining, beautiful, and, just, great. See it. Summary: A BEAUTIFUL, ENTERTAINING, WONDERFUL FILM.

  • by

    knightofho

    Thu Apr 11 2002

    The action scenes were extremely well choreographed. The storyline presented in this segment of the whole story *yes this is not the full story, this is just a small part* was not the greatest selection but it did leave an aura of mystique as it did not give total closure (i.e. the guy from the desert and the girl who stole the sword get married at the end in actuality) and one thing that irked me is that they never really explained the tiger and dragon part [tiger = guy from desert, dragon = girl who stole sword (only using these terms for relativity to movie)]

  • by

    john_davies

    Fri Mar 15 2002

    I have to say i enjoyed Ang Lee's Mythical,expectation-confounding Chinese adventure immensely.Some thought the gravity-defying roof-top and tree-top sequences preposterous,(they do require suspension of disbelief but no more so than many Hollywood action movies where the "hero" narrowly avoids a multitude of bullets and bombs,defeating evil single-handedly),while some martial arts purists wanting a Bruce-Lee style demonstration may be disappointed.Crouching Tiger is not merely a martial arts movie;it's a slice of rich,magical romantic escapism,set in motion by the theft of a legendary sword.It brings together 2 of Asia's finest,Chow Yun Fat and Michelle Yeoh,both extremely engaging and suitably noble in their opposition to scheming witchcraft.The film opens out beautifully into the spectacular Chinese landscapes which have long inspired my imagination.Special effects,cinematography and camerawork are first-rate,while vivacious young Zhang Yiyi is a revelation.The distinguished British... Read more

  • by

    andyinamerica

    Sun Mar 10 2002

    After it was over i realized how good it was..Really good movie, especially if you watch it Mandarin with subtitles, really is cool.

  • by

    a_family_affair

    Thu Nov 22 2001

    A highly innovating and captivating film!

  • by

    mierin_sedai

    Sat Nov 17 2001

    Very good indeed. It was not only a wonderful story, with more than the one simple hollywood-trick, it was composed in a way that gave harmony to it. Clear shots and clean colours... I felt good watching it. Of course, it was terribly sad.And at the time of watching it, I would not have wanted the Li Mu Bai story to end in that fashion, but I suppose the movie would not have been as good if it hadn't. A good film, because every time I see it, I notice new things.

  • by

    cde1970

    Tue Oct 30 2001

    A memorable film. Gorgeous choreography and cinematography. Fluid direction and beautiful, beautiful music, that perfectly compliments the film. Acting is excellent. An emotional experience. I urge you to see this film.

  • by

    slayre

    Tue Oct 09 2001

    Cheesy effects. Good story tho.

  • by

    marlee

    Tue Oct 02 2001

    A story about violence, but not showing any of the gore. Maybe we can learn something from this. Loved the fantasy, camera work,and, of course, the flying.

  • by

    iamopinionated

    Sun Aug 26 2001

    This movie is excellent. If you love martial arts movies, this is a movie for you. The special effects are really good, although it's obvious that the things these people are doing at the time are impossible. The fight scenes are amazing, and it has a great story. It really makes the martial arts movies from the US look terrible!

  • by

    passionlover4l_ife

    Wed Aug 08 2001

    Good but the people runing and flying up walls was kind of fake.

  • by

    lotus040

    Fri Aug 03 2001

    The movie had an interesting story, the acting was overall good, and the special effects and stunts were generally passable, although there was a bit too much of a cartoon/Matrix feel that dominated much of the fight scenes. While the fact that the characters seemed to possess the ability to fly was explained by Asian myth/legend, and I have heard that movies like this are all the rave in other countries, I think that the flying around the treetops fighting and the indoor flying fight scene may have been overdoing it a bit for us here in the states. I don't think that the movie could have ended well any other way-- it would have been fairly lame for Chow Yun Fat's character to have received the antidote and been cured "just in the nick of time." I loved the fact that the movie used subtitles instead of dubbing, which I think has a tendency to distract from the movie (because of the fact that I feel the whole way through like the picture and sound are out of synch.) Overall, I give it a... Read more

  • by

    nwando

    Tue Jul 31 2001

    All i can say is WWWWOOOWWWW

  • by

    tchaikovsky2

    Mon Jul 30 2001

    A lot of my friends from Hong Kong said it was very typical. As a Western viewer I thought it was amazing! Love Michelle Yeoh!! Amazing actor!

  • by

    ashleys

    Mon Jul 30 2001

    What is the big deal everybody makes over this movie? I saw it for the first time a few months ago, and was not impressed in the least. I didn't rent it on purpose: I happened to find the DVD lying on the street in my neighborhood, and instead of being the good neighbor and returning it to the store, I watched it. The DVD had a feature where I got to watch it in English and not be subjected to the misery of subtitles. Still, with it being free and with no subtitles, it took me two nights to watch it. When they began flying through the air I thought maybe it was a fluke, because that special effect didn't really go with the rest of the movie. One of the more positive comments I can make is that the acting wasn't the shabby stuff I'm so used to seeing in those, uhhhhh..... martial arts films.

  • by

    boskodude

    Sun Jul 15 2001

    I guess I didn't see the actual Tiger as it was crouching in the movie...but I enjoyed the movie none the less. Perhaps it happened while I got up for more popcorn. I dunno. As for understanding the techniques and cinematography in this motion picture, I think they enhanced it greatly using the approach they did. The old Bruce Lee movies were my favorites. Because they showed the feareness of real martial arts. Bruce was an awesome fighter...! Since then the only Chinese actor to come along who even comes close to Bruce Lee is now...Jett Lee. Jackie Chan is an 'entertainer' and holds way way back in actual martial arts violence and devasting destruction as a result of using the ancient ways of the Chinese warriors. He's ok as an actor tho. Regarding Crouching Tiger tho, they seem to stay with the ancient ways and history and they maintained keeping my interest through out. Some traditional Chinese Martial Art Movies can become rathe tedious at times is my point. I enjoyed this one...!... Read more

  • by

    avalon

    Sat Jul 14 2001

    Sorry to offend anyone, but PLEEEEEAAAAASE! How can this movie win an award for those pathetic excuses for special effects?! Not only was the flying a laugh, but the whole time, you were concentrating on how much you could tell the languadge from the dubbed in voices. Well, I'm gonna go fly over to the next link, can I get anyone anything?

  • by

    melanie_walker

    Mon Jul 09 2001

    The story line suck but the action in the movie was good, it's was good to see women kicking so butt.

  • by

    kitvc727

    Sat Jul 07 2001

    I was distresssed to see people on this comment board who didn't like the "flying" of the characters. The idea that martial artists can expand their "ki" (Japanese name for "energy") or "chi" (Chinese name) and achieve magical powers is a very old myth in Asian literature and film. People who say they didn't like Lee's movie because it included Chinese legend are simply too ignorant to know what that legend is, or what the study of chi gong is, or is for. Americans can be soooo quick to judge other culture's traditions, myths and legends! The First Amendment allows Americans to say whatever the want, but doesn't protect the rest of us from people saying what they like or don't based on their ignorance....

  • by

    captainwinter3_64

    Wed Jul 04 2001

    AWESOME MOVIE!!!!

  • by

    trytb2df

    Sat Jun 30 2001

    I really liked this film but it was hard to follow. Some parts were boring too, but you can't put a price on some of those awesome martial arts tricks. Hats off to all people involved in this movie!

  • by

    frankiefanatic_04

    Wed Jun 27 2001

    I thought this movie was really boring. My brother even fell asleep while we were watching it!!!!I think that's funny, not really that he falls asleep because of the movie but I've never seem anyone fall asleep during a movie so it was funny to me.