topic image

Casablanca (movie)

1942 American romantic drama film directed by Michael Curtiz, and starring Humphrey Bogart, Ingrid Bergman, and Paul Henreid Website

Approval Rate: 87%

87%Approval ratio

Reviews 47

Sort by:
  • by

    papergirl

    Wed Jun 06 2012

    Class love story, great character portrayals, lots of historical backgrounds and scenes. Overall fantastic movie that I could watch over and over!

  • by

    leesburg

    Sat Jun 02 2012

    Bogart at his best

  • by

    virginiabeachb

    Thu Apr 19 2012

    CASABLANCA is, simply put, a great movie that one can watch over and over again. The love triangel set against the backdrop of an impending war, the Nazis and a local bar in Casablanca, works beautifully. Humphrey Bogart and Ingrid Bergman have a chemistry that has been hard to match by other pairings in film history.

  • by

    xnyer88

    Fri Oct 08 2010

    One of the best movies of all time! Those who rate it low are probably fans of "Hellraiser" or some other swill. This movie shows history--how the the French Vichey were - how the underground was-defines characters better than ANY current movie. And it's not hokey at the end...it's classic. It's 70 years old!! How many current movies will even be remembered in 70 years, much less still enjoyed??

  • by

    cherryb

    Mon Aug 09 2010

    This movie is so corny! Bogart should stick to gangster movies. I dont understand how this crappy movie rates so high!

  • by

    jimthekim

    Sun May 16 2010

    SPOILER ALERT: IT DOESNT WORK OUT....

  • by

    yorkman999

    Thu Feb 26 2009

    This is a fantastic movie! I'm not sure how it's rated this low? Who's rating this movie - 20 year olds? It has everything you could want in a movie, great characters, drama, suspense, a love story, comedy, music, Bogart, and Bergman. The number one movie of many Great Movie lists.

  • by

    binnietheblood_ybooh

    Mon Jun 30 2008

    Great classic movie

  • by

    traditionalist

    Sun Mar 30 2008

    Beside being very good and captivating, this movie told me something else. Sometimes the movies everyone (both the public and the critics) talks about can be very good. That actually is rather rare today, though. I avoided this movie for a long time because I was thinking is overrated. If the DVD wasn't borrowed - since about a year, and if you read this please bring it back :), I would watch it every now and then. Loved the scene when they start singing the Marseillaise "over" the German officers.

  • by

    boonta23

    Mon Jan 21 2008

    Beautiful picture.  The only thing that's holding the film back is that it's slow compared to today's films, I only saw it a couple years ago for the first time, but the story, acting and everything else surely makes this one of the greatest films ever, much less among those I've seen.

  • by

    fb710637574

    Tue Nov 06 2007

    It's Casablanca, that's not even a thinker

  • by

    spike65

    Thu Aug 23 2007

    Another fine classic that was not appreciated during the initial release. And it did have at least one alternate ending. I think they chose the right one.

  • by

    genghisthehun

    Thu Mar 01 2007

    Ok I am going to give it a 5 for old times sake for two reasons. The scene with the  counterpoint of La Marseillaise with Die Wacht am Rhein and Ingrid Bergman. The film is showing its age, and the 1940's flashback device is annoying.

  • by

    victor83

    Thu Mar 01 2007

    Probably the best movie ever produced.

  • by

    randyman

    Sun Jan 21 2007

    This is one of two of my favorite movies. Humphrey Bogart was at his very best as the cynical and disillusioned Rick Blaine, who is brought back to life, so to speak, by love and and a cause which is bigger than him. What is amazing about this movie is that the script was written daily. Not even the writers knew how this movie would end. It is a testament to the talent of all involved that this movie was even made, let alone become a classic for the ages. My personal favorite scene was when, Paul Heinred as Victor Lazlo and Conrad Veidt vied for dominance with their respectives patriotic songs. It was an unbelievably inspiring scene. No one but Ingrid Bergman could have portrayed Ilsa, she owned the role. This movie also included one of my favorite character actors, S.Z. Sakall as Carl. It was movie making at its finest.

  • by

    cutegurl

    Wed Jul 27 2005

    Like fine wine, good movies get better as they age, and as you age as well. Casablanca is a movie that expresses the irony and pain of life, but more importantly, it expresses the joy. With an unlikely and almost unwilling hero and a beautiful and naive heroine Casablanca will make you cry, laugh and feel as no other movie will. It also has some of the best oneliners ever to be said on the silver screen. So here's lookin' at you kid.

  • by

    adc103051

    Thu May 19 2005

    Superb.

  • by

    chatnchew

    Tue Nov 16 2004

    Absolutely overrated and dated. Chemistry between Bergman and Bogart? Forget it.

  • by

    andrew_gilmore

    Sat Jun 12 2004

    This was the first movie we watched in my school's film class this year, and I can't argue with its reputation as one of the greatest movies of all time: great performances from the whole cast, an interesting story, memorable characters, dozens of memorable lines, an intelligent and well-written screenplay with an ample amount of witty humor to boot. As the saying goes, They don't make 'em like this anymore, and it's a damn shame they don't.

  • by

    reinman

    Sat Mar 13 2004

    I've watched this movie several times and each time I watch it it reaffirms my belief that it is the best film ever made. Everything in it is done perfectly. The acting, the suspense, the soundtrack, the dialogue and the theme of idealism over love. I can't think of a better 20 minutes in a movie than when Ilsa first enters to the end of the flashback in France. This movie will just get better as time goes by.

  • by

    jaywilton

    Tue Mar 02 2004

    It can't be rated high enough.

  • by

    irishgit

    Sun Feb 29 2004

    One of the best movies of all time. I see something new everytime I watch it. The script, performances and direction are all superb.

  • by

    byrdiohead

    Sat Jan 10 2004

    What a fantastic film. It's chock full of classic moments, from the French belting their national anthem over the drunken Germans voices, to the unforgettable ending. All of the acting is top notch and the screenplay never disappoints.

  • by

    lukskywlkr

    Sun Nov 02 2003

    True classic, but man, you just wish she would stay with him at the end, but she never does. I never realized what a stunning beauty Ingrid Bergman was until I saw this film, and did she ever get ripped off by the Oscars! They didn't even nominate her for this film. Sickening!

  • by

    tvtator

    Sat Nov 01 2003

    This movie works on so many levels. First there is not one bad or boring scene in it. It hooks the viewer from the beginning. Second you have to appreciate the history behind the film, and admire the fact that some of the lines were written an hour before they aired and they are still quoted today. Finally you have to understand and appreciate the time the film came out right during World War II. For Warner Brothers this was just another movie, they had no idea the impact it would make. So why is this such a great movie? It's a story of having loved and lost, of trust and betrayl, of loving two men and doing the honorable thing. The characters are ambigious. There is no true fleshed out hero or villian. It has one of the greatest casts of any film Humphrey Bogart, Ingrid Bergman, Paul Henreid, Claude Rains, Conrad Veidt, Dooley Wilson, S.Z Sakall, Sydney Greenstreet, and Peter Lorre. They each give a memorable performance. Once you watch Casablanca you don't forget it.

  • by

    marjorieb

    Fri Oct 17 2003

    Bogey and Bergman and a great script and great casting. One of my all time faves.

  • by

    yankeedoodleda_ndy521

    Tue Oct 07 2003

    Perfectly good movie with some great performances. Bogie was certainly never more sarcastic and loveable at the same time. Claude Rains as Captain Renault was funny and loyal. The ending was perfect and fit the movie well. But that doesn't mean it has its faults. Although Bergman is good, she seems to have the same expression on her face throughout the whole movie.

  • by

    ozzymaniac

    Tue Jun 17 2003

    This deserves to be #1 on the classic movies list, despite the fact that I'd give 5 stars to each of the top 10 movies.

  • by

    topher

    Sun Sep 22 2002

    This movie is brilliant. It's a real classic.

  • by

    ashuston

    Sat Aug 17 2002

    the best movies never try to show off

  • by

    jumping_jack_flash

    Tue Jul 16 2002

    It's surprising, when you look at a film like this that is so well-entrenched as a classic and realize it still has great power and has not aged at all. Everyone should see this masterpiece at least once in their lives. Multiple viewings recommended. It's #2 on the AFI list for a reason.

  • by

    loadf19d

    Wed May 22 2002

    One for the ages, to be sure! "Casablanca" is entertainment at its best. The ensemble cast is brilliant, Michael Curtiz's direction is great, Max Steiner's score is forever fixed in our movie conscience, the screenplay is flawless and it is wholey deserving of its praise. "Casablanca" is one of the greatest movies of all time.

  • by

    bibliobill

    Mon May 20 2002

    It doesn't get much better than this!

  • by

    antondatree

    Sat May 18 2002

    When something has entered the consciousness as deeply as Casablanca has - everyone from Woody Allen (Play It Again Sam) to The Simpsons has riffed on it - it becomes a film that many younger film fans can talk about and quote from, even though few have probably seen it. This is something which should be rectified immediately as it's much more fun than its stuffy "The Greatest Film Ever Made" tag suggests, with a literate script, stylish direction, a great song and the cinema's most romantic couple in Bogie and Bergman. A must-see and one of the greatest. Summary: ONE OF THE GREATEST FILMS EVER MADE, AWESOME!

  • by

    highway61

    Wed May 08 2002

    Kitch condensed. even in the fourties

  • by

    utvolusn

    Wed Apr 17 2002

    One of the things I hate most about old movies that people talk about being great is they claim one of the reasons as being ahead of its time. Well since I wasn't around then it is very difficult for me to appreciate those movies people acclaim as being revolutionary. What is so great about Casablanca is that people can watch it for the first time today and without having any idea about what things were like when it was made fall in love with it. It is so simplistic that nobody would probably think of making a movie like it now. However, sometimes being simple yields success. A love story, with suspense, and a very different setting from any movie I've ever seen. Finally an old movie that is good for some reason other than it is old. It truly is a masterpiece.

  • by

    john_davies

    Tue Jan 29 2002

    One time the Oscars got it right.Casablanca speaks for itself: "Of all the gin joints in all the towns in all the world,she walks into mine". "Here's looking at you,kid". "Round up the usual suspects". "Play it again,Sam"(misquote,but all part of the legend). "We'll always have Paris". "I think this is the beginning of a beautiful friendship".

  • by

    thevirus07042

    Thu Nov 22 2001

    i dont see why this film is so amazing. its kinda overly romantic and americana to me. i did like the film as u see, i give it four stars. go rent The Great Dictator, it came out 2 years earlier and is better. Chaplin's best, forget this city lights talk.

  • by

    waz220c9

    Sat Nov 10 2001

    Truly a classic! Bogart and Bergman are absolutely fantastic as are Heinreid, Rains, Greenstreet and Lorre. Michael Curtiz's direction is great. He sure knew how to make great movies! And of course, there is Max Steiner's score. Well, whenever you hear the song "As Time Goes By," don't you have an instant recollection? Excellent movie!

  • by

    holly3x17

    Sun Nov 04 2001

    Casablanca was one of the first "classic" movies I had ever seen. I was 16 and thought that Casablanca may not reach my expectations after having 50-odd years of so-called hype. Let me just say that I was thoroughly, completely, and utterly wrong. No other film that I have seen--both past and present--has so percisely, beautifully, and understatedly communicated the sacrifices made, and the desperation felt by Europeans during the WWII-era.

  • by

    lord_of_the_waves

    Fri Oct 19 2001

    Greatest movie of all time. Humphrey Bogart's best movie. Mixed together a perfect combination of love, deceit, war, and a trace amount of humor. Appropriate for people of all ages but younger humans may not understand it to the full extent this deserves. Ingrid Bergman was very good in this. The loveable singer Sam added lots of drama to the movie becuase usually when a key scene occurred he played music.

  • by

    mlnave

    Tue Sep 18 2001

    Great story, great moments. What could be better?

  • by

    sh221383

    Mon Aug 06 2001

    The best movie of all times

  • by

    mike_oxmaul

    Sat Jul 14 2001

    I can see how this movie was very great for its time, but you must ask yourself "Is this entertaining today?" And I say it is not. Everyone has always said that its a classic and you wont be disappointed, but I was diappointed. And i bet that from all the movies youve probably seen. This will be one that wont put a mark in the way you view movies.

  • by

    davenord

    Wed Jul 04 2001

    It is the perfect movie and the antithesis of all that is wrong with today's movies.The dialogue is perfect, the cast is perfect, and it moves like gangbusters. In a word, impeccable!

  • by

    castlebee

    Mon Jun 25 2001

    As I was growing up I had heard so much about this film yet oddly enough could never manage catch it on the tube until I was in my late teens or early twenties. This is especially weird when you consider both the amount of hype it created and the fact that I was an avid movie fan throughout my childhood. When I did finally have the chance to see it I certainly wasn't unimpressed; it really is a very moving love story complete with excellent acting, exotic setting and poignant ending. I do think that people got pretty carried away with it over the years - so much so that all the adoration builds you up to the point that you are expecting the greatest film ever made. So, while "Casablanca" is an undeniably good film - it is not the be-all end-all movie of all time. To be fair though, no film could completely live up to the amount of expectation that has been trailing behind this one for so many decades.

  • by

    jbiscuit1

    Mon Jun 11 2001

    One of the greatest and most acclaimed American films of all time. Bogart plays his character in a perfectly ambivalent fashion, and Bergman is lovely. The film is the epitome of film noir, so if you don't like the quality or any other movies from that period, this probably won't make a difference. The film has at its essence a profiteer's love for an unattainable woman with whom he had a previous relationship. The story is classic, and any description fails to do it justice. Remember though, this film has very little action, and some of the scenes rely on the audience using their visual sense rather than dialogue.