Carrie reviews

Carrie

1976 American supernatural horror film directed by Brian De Palma from a screenplay written by Lawrence D. Cohen Website

Approval Rate: 59%

59%Approval ratio

Reviews 84

Sort by:
  • by

    laren616

    Mon Jan 04 2010

    Stupid movie with an ugly actress

  • by

    crocklein

    Mon Jun 01 2009

    In league with 'The Shining', 'Cujo', and so on. A 70s masterpiece in the horror genre. It is relentless in scary psychological undertones that play on the emotions, sympathy as much as terror and wonder. Sissy Spacek is dynomite. The filming is dynomite as well with touches of the 70s that you make you wonder how you survived this era. Truly creepy but a very interesting drama as well. Beauty and terror ride high in this feat by Brian DePalma - and the mind of Stephen King.

  • by

    hkslll

    Sun May 24 2009

    the image is so disgusting.

  • by

    honuscat

    Thu May 07 2009

    Quite simply, Carrie is one of the finest masterpieces to hit the motion picture screen. No other than Sissy Spacek could have played the downtrodden, bullied young girl with telekentic powers who is the brunt of everyone's jokes. To make matters worse, she lives with her crazed, religious mother who complicates life for her bullied daughter. Piper Laurie is superb in this role and should have received co-top billing, rather than John Travolta. He was actually the weak link in the whole story, yet he received co-billing. But that aside, Carrie gets her revenge and those who tormented her pay a terrible price! The prom scene is one of the most gripping I've ever seen. Acting, photography and Brian de Palmas expert directing make Carrie one great film!

  • by

    rlutzd36

    Fri Apr 17 2009

    Excellent price and delivery time. Movie was first rate, about a man who becomes obsessed in his love for a woman. Fine quality DVD.

  • by

    lgans316

    Fri Mar 13 2009

    Version: U.S.A / FOX-MGM / Region A MPEG-2 BD-25 / BD+ / High Profile 4.1 Aspect ratio: 1.85:1 Running time: 1:38:10 Movie size: 19,86 GB Disc size: 21,13 GB Total bit rate: 26.98 Mbps Average video bit rate: 21.82 Mbps DTS-HD Master Audio English 2677 kbps 5.1 / 48 kHz / 2677 kbps / 24-bit (DTS Core: 5.1 / 48 kHz / 1509 kbps / 24-bit) Dolby Digital Audio French 448 kbps 5.1 / 48 kHz / 448 kbps Dolby Digital Audio English 224 kbps 2.0 / 48 kHz / 224 kbps Dolby Digital Audio Spanish 224 kbps 2.0 / 48 kHz / 224 kbps Subtitles: English SDH, Chinese (Simplified & Traditional), French, Korean, Spanish Number of chapters: 32 #Theatrical Trailer (HD)

  • by

    gearyajones

    Thu Feb 26 2009

    De Palma managed to get a Stephen King novel right, but it's the sensational acting of Sissy Spacek, and Piper Laurie that drive this film way beyond the merely 'good' range. This is a psych-horror film that had so many splatter-fests ripping it off ( with not even close to the impact )- including a thoroughly, pathetic sequel- it should have gotten franchise rights. THE RING wasn't as scary as CARRIE by half. Aesthetically speaking, the afore-mentioned film doesn't even come close to CARRIE ( only a handful of 'creepers' do ). If you love revenge-films, or just no-holds-barred horror this is the ultimate in payback flicks. A must for any horror fan.

  • by

    jusmac

    Fri Feb 06 2009

    This is a fun horror movie that lots of people have since copied. Several actors received their first real exposure (pun intended) in this movie and Piper Laurie restarted her career. This film does have some fine grain in certain scenes but this was never a high dollar production and I'm doubtful that it is going to get much better.

  • by

    craigconnell

    Mon Feb 02 2009

    This was a pretty powerful melodrama, thanks to the great performance of Sir Laurence Olivier. Olivier plays an unhappily-married older man who falls for the young and beautiful Jennifer Jones (not hard to understand!).....and pays a huge price for his adultery. Olivier is near-mesmerizing in this film and Jones is absolutely gorgeous. Eddie Albert was a bit annoying (but effective) in his role and Miriam Hopkins is downright brutal in her small part as Olivier's wife. The shocking thing about this film was the subject matter, rare for its day. It was ahead of its day in one respect: it makes the adulterers into the sympathetic "good guys." I'm surprised that got by the censors of the day. Jones' character is oddly innocent for someone "shacking up" with Albert. This was highly involving, a tough story to put down once it started. Note: One of the scenes near the end of the story - the flophouse scene - was inserted on the DVD. It had previously been cut out of the theatrical ... Read more

  • by

    brittan_y

    Thu Oct 02 2008

    classic "They're all gonna laugh at you!!!" Hahahahah. best line in the whole damn movie!

  • by

    trippytease

    Sun Sep 28 2008

    Pretty sweet. I dig the classics.

  • by

    mcchido

    Sat Sep 20 2008

    HIGH SCHOOL WASNT THAT BAD

  • by

    pculliton

    Mon Aug 11 2008

    I must have read Dreiser's "Sister Carrie" in college 25 years ago, and I teach American literature at the high school level, but I barely remembered the novel and so decided to re-read it this summer, in two different versions-- manuscript and published 1906 version,Sister Carrie (Norton Critical Editions). And I also decide to see the film, which I liked so much that I bought a copy. No, it isn't 100 per cent faithful to Dreiser's work, but it is a very good film. I was most impressed by Olivier's performance and by the set design. The latter truly puts one in early 20th Century Chicago (and I would know something about this, since I was raised by a great-grandmother who was born on Chicago in 1901, lived there through the early 1930s, and was constantly telling me about her experiences of it throughout my childhood and adolescence). I plan to show parts of this film to my Am Lit classes as a comparison/contrast to Crane's "Maggie: A Girl of the Streets: and Other Tales of Ne... Read more

  • by

    jennifer903

    Wed Jul 23 2008

    those people REALLY deserved it....

  • by

    kristyn718

    Tue Jul 22 2008

    I really liked this movie a long time ago..but it is way to evil for me!

  • by

    logfan0820

    Sat Jul 19 2008

    cool movie sorta creepy

  • by

    monkey11611

    Fri Jul 11 2008

    woah

  • by

    debbie325

    Fri Jul 04 2008

    Horrible acting.. but it's alright. The second one is better though.

  • by

    spike65

    Sat Jun 28 2008

    One of the first Steven King movies and it was pretty well done for the era. Better actors than are usually hired for the genre. Looks a bit dated now but might be due for a restoration. I've seen a lot of bad prints shown on television.

  • by

    unknown6240849_7

    Fri Jun 27 2008

    the book was good too

  • by

    jamicena

    Thu Jun 26 2008

    Not scary but still good

  • by

    jennifer

    Sun Jun 22 2008

    Definately creepy! This girl was pyscho...but those kids were such assholes.

  • by

    numbah16tdhaha

    Sun Jun 22 2008

    Not the greatest, but those kids were indeed deserving of anything they got.

  • by

    bree_bree

    Tue Jun 10 2008

    tooo olddd!

  • by

    myspace_387493239

    Mon Jun 09 2008

    another book I'd already read - but Sissy Spacek and Piper Laurie's acting was fabulous!

  • by

    myspace_365158273

    Wed Jun 04 2008

    Scary! The book is good too.

  • by

    matt_and_kayla

    Wed Jun 04 2008

    I haven't seen this one...but there's Stephen King.

  • by

    myspace_52443078

    Sat May 31 2008

    classic

  • by

    candice

    Sat May 31 2008

    the book is sooooooooooo much better!!!

  • by

    humorbot

    Mon May 05 2008

    Poor old Carrie.... I was more scared of what happened to her than what she did and what she could do.

  • by

    trebon1038

    Mon Apr 14 2008

    Great flick...Sissy Spacek and Amy Irving were at their best at the time

  • by

    lmorovan

    Mon Apr 14 2008

    One of the first and very well produced film in which the potential of manipulating object with the sheer power of the mind is explored in a "wonderfully terrorizing" manner. Are people ready to master such a power? What psychological pros and cons could such a power cause in the mind and personality of the person possessing it? How would the rest of the world react facing such a "monster"? The movie explores these and other related questions in a tense, touching and terrifying manner. Another classic of its genre.

  • by

    jimcolyerwrote_savethep

    Fri Feb 22 2008

    Based on Theodore Dreiser's novel, Sister Carrie. Jennifer Jones plays Carrie Meeber, a young woman who moves to Chicago to better herself. Carrie learns the facts of life, that the big city is filled with selfish people. She goes through two lovers, a young Eddie Albert and an older man whom she ruins. Laurence Olivier plays Hurstwood, the man who risks all to recapture his youth. Carrie loves the attention, and Hurstwood has his moment. My favorite scene is where he gives her a new hat. The relationship runs its course. Carrie becomes an actress, and Hurstwood hits the skids. Dreiser's prose is clumsy.

  • by

    voraciousreade_r923

    Wed Dec 12 2007

    This is a superbly written, directed, and acted movie, based on the superbly written novel Sister Carrie by Theodore Dreiser. The story remains timely and compelling. It will make you cry.

  • by

    uncnc08

    Mon Sep 17 2007

    This one really bothered me on so many levels,the church music at the end when she comes home all bloody and walks through the house with all the candles burning with her mom waiting on her..this one was scary to me!

  • by

    genghisthehun

    Sat Mar 03 2007

    This is a Brian de Palma product. It started off well but degenerated to the gore at the end. It had to knock it down a star. Even John Revolting isn't too bad.

  • by

    lbca09ed

    Sat Mar 03 2007

    it shows what happens when you pick on those that are different. the end made me jump.

  • by

    primaxdonna

    Sat Feb 10 2007

    sissy spacek was great in this. the movie was fab, all the way until the end, then it fizzled.

  • by

    jeremy00081

    Wed Sep 13 2006

    This in another classic that I had to give a fair rating, even if it is a little goofy by today's standards. After all, this one is still pretty creepy. I just saw it again about a year ago, and although it takes a while for anything scary to happen, it's plenty creepy when it finally does.

  • by

    faa07a17

    Mon Apr 24 2006

    The book was a bit better. The movie played for laughs at a couple of points - big mistake. The movie could have been so much better, Spacek was perfect for Carrie and the mother could have worked great as well with the religious nutso angle.

  • by

    image_breaker

    Thu Dec 29 2005

    Classic story of revenge!!!!!!! You know what they say revenge is a mother!!!

  • by

    excelsior30

    Fri Oct 28 2005

    One of the very best in the mid'70's as this was not better than Halloween, but very close in those days. Scary and creepy as this girl in the first place was messed up by her mom. Despite that you have to wait 'til the end for gasps and screams, you will have to feel some sympathy for her despite that she is so crazy when she is provoked. It will teach some parents to be better after watching this.

  • by

    poisonkiss29

    Thu Sep 15 2005

    bloody prom queens gone crazy on popular kids' asses....pretty good story if ya ask me

  • by

    iamfromhelltoo

    Fri Aug 12 2005

    i was the carrie white of my high school i was a misfit hated by jocks and chearleaders and yuppies the movie very real and creepy

  • by

    dragonx187

    Wed Aug 03 2005

    Good movie for it's time. I could never really be scared by it, but when your a kid, it is kinda weird. After I grew up, I could never keep my attention on the movie til the very end. The hand out of the grave was the best part.

  • by

    kattwoman

    Fri Jun 17 2005

    the end scared me and made me jump. classic steven king. a john travolta was even in it though its never mentioned much about that.

  • by

    beckerudy

    Fri Feb 25 2005

    lOVE sTEPHEN kING, HATE THIS BOOK AND MOVIE!

  • by

    shynamaste

    Fri Dec 31 2004

    One of the greatest movies around... If You are a fan of horror there is no way you can denie this movie, King is the Master!!!

  • by

    jmoney52

    Fri Sep 24 2004

    ONE OF MY ALL TIME FAVORITES, WITH SOME TRUELY CLASSIC SCENES. HORROR FANS WILL LOVE IT.

  • by

    palmeiro

    Tue Aug 31 2004

    This is one those movies i only whant to see once. i didnt enjoy this movie because it was a very dark movie and it was weird.