Border Collie reviews

Border Collie

Breed of herding dog of medium size Website

Approval Rate: 93%

93%Approval ratio

Reviews 48

Sort by:
  • by

    twansalem

    Thu May 07 2009

    High energy dogs that need their space. A great dog if you have a farm or just own a lot of land that they can more or less run free on. But even a lot of people who would have enough space for many other dogs just don't have enough for a border collie. UPDATE: My parents' curent dog Bud is about half border collie. He apparently inherited the typical collie hyperactivity, but not the intelligence. Bud is a pretty good farm dog, but he's as dumb as a rock.

  • by

    jester002

    Thu Mar 04 2010

    Extremely loyal and intelligent animals, but they need lots of room to run. If your an inner city type with a small yard, consider buying a pug.

  • by

    laren616

    Tue Jan 05 2010

    Very smart and talented dogs. Neat dogs too.

  • by

    minkey

    Sun Jul 19 2009

    This is a very fun dog. I used to house sit for one, and it wouldn't leave me alone for a minute. Craved attention and if the word park was mentioned I definetely wasn't getting out of that one. Loved to play fetch, run around, jump extremely high, and act ridiculously hyper around other dogs. Great with kids and kids love this dog. I wouldn't want one, just because I would feel bad that I couldn't spend 24/7 with it. But for a family with a big yard it would be great. Or someone who needs some company cause I couldn't imagine having a down day with one of these guys around.

  • by

    ladyjesusfan77_7

    Tue Apr 21 2009

    These are very smart animals. They are one of the best sheep herding animals in the business. Oh, yeah, and their trainers have to know a thing or two, as well.

  • by

    1willowgurl

    Thu Jan 08 2009

    There smart yes, but very active and need lot's of training and attention or they will get bored & into trouble if there not worked on a daily basis. We have 3 Border Collies and there a handful  but we love them. Id only recommend this breed to the most devoted dog lover with tons of expertise on this breed and time for them.

  • by

    ayn9b559

    Tue Nov 25 2008

    If you do not have sheep, think twice about getting this breed. Incredibly intelligent, great personality and easy to train, however this is a breed that is too smart for its own good. It NEEDS a job, like it NEEDS air. If you can not provide him with that than think twice about getting one.

  • by

    rower1a7

    Mon Nov 03 2008

    BUYER BEWARE!!! Do NOT buy a Border Collie from Lacy's Border Collies, now THOMPSON'S BORDER COLLIE'S, DR. KAREN THOMPSON in NEW KENT, VIRGINIA 23124, unless you want a dog that has CLUSTER SEIZURES!! After owning an epileptic dog, we asked many times about the line before buying a puppy and were told that none of the dogs had any history of seizures. WRONG! After we saw the first seizure, we called and then they remembered about a dog seizing in the line!! They're answer was to give us another puppy. Why would we want another dog from this line?? This is unethicial and heart breaking for us to see our dog suffer and know that he is not going to enjoy a normal healthy long life. Today he seized for over 2 hours, medicated, and we had to take him to the ER. This will cost about $500.00!! Not to mention to stress on his organs, etc. DO NOT BUY FROM THIS BREEDER UNLESS YOU WANT A SICK DOG AND HEART ACHE!!

  • by

    jamie_finn

    Wed Sep 10 2008

    so smart

  • by

    meurg_at_n_m_at_c

    Sun Aug 10 2008

    very beauitful dogs

  • by

    whatever_it_takes

    Thu Aug 07 2008

    they drive me crazy

  • by

    oo_michelle_oo

    Thu Jun 19 2008

    Good dogs :)

  • by

    vita_lea_phillips

    Sun Jun 15 2008

    Intelligent. LOVE IT

  • by

    myspace_31853535

    Mon Jun 02 2008

    Highly intelligent and fiercely loyal. Border Collies are great dogs. Need a large yard, they get bored very easily.

  • by

    full_of_wonder_and_questions

    Tue May 20 2008

    AWWWWWW!!! cute

  • by

    myspace_30849171

    Wed May 07 2008

    I have one! They are such characters! Just make sure to keep the occupied because they get bored easily and can get very pushy

  • by

    myspace_17490481

    Tue Apr 29 2008

    I havent had one, but I bet they're good dogs.

  • by

    fb664421287

    Sun Apr 13 2008

    Very smart dogs. kind too.

  • by

    genghisthehun

    Wed Apr 09 2008

    Good dogs, but a little hyper and noisy. They are always trying to herd something.

  • by

    sperryc

    Tue Apr 08 2008

    They say this is one of the smartest breeds around. But with intelligence comes quirkiness. My friend's collie has some issues with strangers.

  • by

    myspace_349012854

    Tue Apr 08 2008

    lovely

  • by

    automatt

    Mon Apr 07 2008

    These are smart herding dogs. They'll look you right in the eye, unlike most dogs.

  • by

    magellan

    Mon Apr 07 2008

    My friend's border collie has a vocabular of about 400 words - including "left" and "right."  Smart dogs.

  • by

    mrtuner

    Wed Apr 02 2008

    GREAT dogs but a little on the smelly side! Other than that they are one of the best dogs you can get!

  • by

    oksana

    Thu Oct 18 2007

    I live in New York City and have a border collie who is now 4 years old. She was brought in to a local pet store, along with other dogs, and was put up for adoption. She was 8 weeks old. I live in a small apartment and she is well adjusted and not destructive at all. I live a couple of blocks from a dog park and I take her there an hour before work and an hour after. She runs and loves to play ball and frisbee. For the most part she gets along wonderfully with other dogs except she sometimes gets aggressive towards dogs that are ill behaved. I once read a quote that 'border collies suffer no fools' which is true in my dog's case. So I must disagree with people who think border collies are not suited to be strictly pets and in a city as well! In my dog's case the quality of our time is more important than the quantity. She knows her routine and is well adjusted. I have never been subjected to any destructive behavior. And I have never formally trained her. I just speak to ... Read more

  • by

    irishgit

    Thu Jun 28 2007

    The smartest and one of the most active breeds around, these are definately not for the city dweller. My mother bred these when I was growing up, and I came to love them, but they are a working dog more than a pet, and unless you are prepared to spend a lot of time running and exercising them, you should not have one.

  • by

    canadasucks

    Tue Feb 20 2007

    I don't know much about dogs, but this breed shows more intelligence than humans who still believe in WMD's. . .an amazing breed of smart dogs. . .

  • by

    ohiomom

    Tue Feb 20 2007

    We had a border collie for 14 years and she was absolutely the smartest dog ever.  It's like she came already trained and understood English perfectly.  Very sweet temperment.  Hilarious to watch her herd the other dogs in the neighborhood.  Could turn on a dime and incredibly fast.  Great dog.

  • by

    bordercolliesr_ule

    Sat Feb 17 2007

    these dogs are the greatest, they have a great temperament,and to go with that they are very fine looking and the smartest dog. I gt suzy a year and a half ago and she is so loveable she does everything on command and she has such a great personality. These are truly the best dogs.

  • by

    timeshighmark

    Wed Feb 07 2007

    I have three BCs, and I love them dearly. All three are very different. Misty (12) is very work orientated and confident, but has her neurotics quirks. You must watch children with her, and she absolutely MUST have a job. She has only recently become more physically affectionate in her old age, but she is absolutely, hands down, the most brilliant dog I have ever met. Norah (2) is very soft, extremely obediant, and extremely loving. She can be trusted with anyone and any creature. She is somewhat timid in that she can be cowed by a sharp word, but she is confident in wherever she goes and in meeting new people. She is a little shy of new dogs. Suzu (2) is a shelter dog, and was VERY dog aggressive when I got her. She is awesome with people of all sizes, but must be carefully watched with other dogs and cats. Anything quick moving brings out an instinct to chase which must be immediately dealt with. She knew nothing when I got her, but has learned quickly. She has proven ve... Read more

  • by

    rlovshin

    Thu Jan 18 2007

    Very similar to Aussies (Australian Shepherd). I read your reviews and feel you're describing Tazzy (my Aussie). I can give him commands or just talk to him. He knows 100s of words and phrases. He does challenge his position within our family (his pack). But, protects his younger brother (our 5 year old son). He loves to memorize TV advertisements (ones with dogs or cartoon characters that he likes). Tazzy is a 7 year old Red Merle with two Blue eyes. He's awesome and can read your mind.

  • by

    djahuti

    Tue Aug 22 2006

    Our neighbors had a border collie who was very smart and nice.She was also good with their kids when they were small.

  • by

    iluvdachshunds

    Thu Dec 15 2005

    Border collies are so smart! i think they're one of the smartest dogs in the world. They're medium sized and very good natured. They are very very energetic so need walkin alot, they are good at agility and obidience. B-collies are sooooooooo cute!

  • by

    i_love_labradors

    Wed Dec 07 2005

    border collies are a great breed of dog they are easy to train and r the smartest dog in the dog family they r close to the smartest animal

  • by

    zsclem

    Tue Dec 06 2005

    We have three male ABC registered BC's; got them all as puppies from a breeder who trains and uses working dogs; (Sam,age 11, Tag,age 9, and Pete, age 3.) They have totally different personalities; one a clown, one workaholic, and one fairly laid back, but are all BUSY, smart, agile, sometimes stubborn, loving, BUSY, and gentle with children and older adults. They LIVE to work and play hard. They herd the tractors, cars, lawn mowers, vacuum cleaner, the broom, our guineas, any critters, including mice and gophers, cows, each other and us. They quickly learned to respond to verbal and hand signals (maybe half a dozen 10 minute sessions for some things). All know the difference between "I'm going to work" and "I'm going...to the barn, mailbox, garden, pond, garage, storage shed". I estimate that they all know about 100 different words and phrases, maybe more. They love to swim in the pond, chase any water moving, play ball, play frisbee, play fetch. The youngest, Pete, age 3 made it his ... Read more

  • by

    kairho

    Fri Nov 11 2005

    Would love to have one of these little guys and train it in agility. ut, at my age, I don't think I could keep up with it.

  • by

    trebon1038

    Sun Oct 23 2005

    A very intelligent dog and rarely do you see one with a bad temperment. But they are active and love to work so not for the couch potato type person.

  • by

    dj1vike

    Sun Mar 13 2005

    I can name ten people in less than 30 seconds that don't have the same intelligence as a Border Collie! Probably the smartest breed I've ver seen. Great ranch dogs...pretty good home dogs, if you have ALOT of patience! Great with your kids...they'll herd 'em all day long!

  • by

    emily_doglover

    Sun Jan 09 2005

    I have a border colie lab cross with border collie markings and a brain like a border colie.They need more exersize than i thought and love to heard you when you do walk them. If you cant walk them dont have them.but vearry obedient and veary loyal! I love thies doges. but thet shed loots.and take a lot of time to brush them.

  • by

    mystic_mango

    Fri Dec 24 2004

    Extremely active. This is a dog that will never give you a moment's peace. Don't even try to own one if you have a small yard, because it won't work!

  • by

    ansgard

    Mon Jun 07 2004

    dont particulary like them...prefer bigger dogs, but if you are old or you want a medium sized pet...it's good for you

  • by

    border_collies_r_bes

    Mon May 24 2004

    BORDER COLLIES ARE THE SMARTEST AND PRETTIEST BREED AROUND. I OWN 2. A BLUE MERLE AND A TRI COLOR. THEY COME IN MANY COLORS AND FUR CAN BE SMOOTH OR LONG. THE EARS MAY PRICK OR SEMI-PRICK. MY DOG PICKS THINGS UP FOR ME. HE FINDS THE REMOTE FOR ME. HE LOVES TO GO FISHING AND PLAY ANY SPORT. WILL NEVER GET ANOTHER BREED. SMARTEST BREED EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • by

    frankswildyear_s

    Tue Feb 24 2004

    We got a 1 year old Border Collie from a pet rescue. She had apparently escaped from her previous owner and was stray for a while, she was very skinny. She wandered into a supermarket and was sent to the pound. She's the brightest dog I've ever had, an incredibly fast learner. Very strong hearding instincts, always circling around us when we go for a walk and treats our kids like they are her flock. Great friend, always by your side.

  • by

    3weims

    Sat Aug 02 2003

    I second "anmalone".

  • by

    getback

    Tue May 13 2003

    I love this breed smart and loyal and loving.Truely mans best friend.

  • by

    anmalone

    Thu Feb 27 2003

    Border of what? All collies are insufferable.

  • by

    lukskywlkr

    Wed Dec 25 2002

    We have one of these now, and for the most part she's a good dog. She tends to jump up on us and scratches, and her claws are like, well, claws. She's very energetic, in fact probably too energetic, but she's very loving, and she gets along very well with the other dogs.

  • by

    cyndyloub

    Thu Dec 12 2002

    Best dog I've ever had. I think their language and communication ability is superb. My dog can answer simple yes/no questions, tries to talk to me (control me), and understands at least 30 words. He knows who different family members are and goes to each of them when asked. I think if I had more time he could even be trained further in language skills. He requires lots of attention, but it isn't hard because he is always with me when I am home. He only barks when he hears someone outside or if he wants to yell at me (which is rarely). He also loves other dogs and thrives on meeting new dogs on our walks. The only negative aspect of my border collie is his shedding, especially here in Arizona where it is hot. He stays inside unless we are out too. I did have 2 border collies, but they both "herded" me and it was making one of them a little mean (both males), so we had to find him a nice home. My dog still looks around when we say the other dog's name and it has been over 6 y... Read more