Bombay Sapphire reviews

Bombay Sapphire

Brand of gin that is distilled by the Bombay Spirits Company Website

Approval Rate: 80%

80%Approval ratio

Reviews 51

Sort by:
  • by

    twansalem

    Wed Nov 08 2023

    Bombay Sapphire is good. But for the price, it isn't enough better than Seagram's to make it a regular purchase.

  • by

    brightblade43

    Sun Nov 22 2009

    The price sucks, to be honest, but when i can afford it, there's only one thing better than a Bombay Sapphire martini, and that's obviously a Tanquery Martini :-). I'm always on a budget, so I always find myself buying Amsterdam, which makes me sick, and Seagrams, which tastes like a foot (VO is still the ONLY good thing Seagrams has ever made, in my not so humble opinion). So when I can afford something as good as Bombay Sapphire, its glorious. This is smooth and well made, and awesome even if drank on the rocks.

  • by

    mannacler

    Tue Sep 08 2009

    Not as good as Tanqueray for a gin and tonic and not as good as Beefeater's for a martini.

  • by

    lordemil

    Tue Aug 18 2009

    A very nice Gin if a bit perfumy

  • by

    moebius_tripper

    Fri Aug 07 2009

    This is the most recommended brand of gin when using it to make the "Golden Raisin and Gin Arthritic Cure." If you have never heard of this cure before, here it is: Put in a bowl a bunch of Golden Raisins and fill the bowl with the Bombay gin til it reaches a little above the top of the raisins. Leave the bowl uncovered, but place a wire mesh strainer over the bowl to keep the flies away. Let the gin evaporate completely, which will take about 2 weeks. Then place the raisins in a jar with a cover and eat 9 of the gin soaked raisins a day....You must use only "Golden Raisins" because they contain "sulphur dioxide" which has the same effect as the food supplement "MSM" for arthritis...If you have any doubts about this old and very popular cure, just check out :"Google" and read the many testimonials about its effectiveness.....

  • by

    laotzu

    Tue Jul 28 2009

    I was pretty pissed when I was in college and I poured this into my glass only to find out it wasn't actually blue. That being said, I've come to appreciate and love this, my go to Gin. You could drink it straight but it's definitely possible to taste the difference when drinking this in a G&T over a cheaper alternative.

  • by

    imogen

    Mon Jun 08 2009

    This is a good gin, comparable to Tanqueray I would say. Yes, it has a bit of a pine needle-y taste that I am personally not a fan of, but overall it is a quality product. I just prefer to have less of the pine needle-y taste. I think it is good with ginger ale, but it is not pure enough that I would have gin and tonics with.

  • by

    aleec44e

    Sun Jun 07 2009

    This comes in second to Tanqueray 10 and is pretty commonly available.

  • by

    duncan36

    Sat May 30 2009

    I have to assume this gin is good in Martinis because its absolute crap in a gin and tonic. Tastes like cotton wool, has none of the pleasant qualities I associate with gin. None of the bite of grain alcohol and none of the astringent qualities of juniper. I think the bottle say it all it has a picture of Queen Victoria on the front. This is the gin for women, basically people who dont like alcohol. People in America seem to associate cost with drinkability and this stuff is considered one of the best gins. Which is fine with me the conception of this as being superior keeps the price of other gins low.

  • by

    tartarlamb

    Wed Apr 01 2009

    For my money, this is still the best London gin out there, which is to say it makes the best martinis. Sapphire, like most London gins, is not ashamed of its juniper overtone, and the rest of the botanicals give it a rich, complex flavor that is neither too spicy nor too sweet, but always absorbing and interesting. With a kiss of Noilly Prat and a drop of bitters, you're in for one challenging and powerful cocktail.

  • by

    beachguyjim

    Sun Feb 01 2009

    Good Gin. Think I would still give Tanqueray the edge!!

  • by

    nate_t

    Fri Aug 15 2008

    Best gin out there and my drink of choice for years.  The botanicals are perfectly infused into the spirit .... handcrafted and I never get a hangover from it! The only bad thing is it spoiled my taste for other alcohoholic beverages (well now that I think about it, that's not such a bad thing).

  • by

    kayaker80206

    Fri May 30 2008

    I thought it was my favorite, and it is very good - I wouldn't drink a lesser Gin, until I tried Martin Miller, and Citadelle, and Plymouth.  Especially in a martini.  They are much smoother.  I suggest you try them if you haven't.

  • by

    rediguana

    Sat Apr 26 2008

    Overrated Gin. For a martini, the aftertaste is too much. I can never get past the overwhelming juniper. This is better suited for a gin/tonic then a classic martini.

  • by

    thereviewer

    Mon Apr 21 2008

    This is one of the most vile liquids I've ever consumed. It tastes like detergent mixed with grass and spices. The funniest part is that it's more expensive than Jack Daniel's, any rum, most vodka, etc. It made me sick after drinking the nominal amount I could tolerate. It's harder to mix with anything than good hard liquor because what goes with spicy grass? Maybe it's an acquired taste, but HOLY SHIT.

  • by

    jgina037

    Mon Dec 03 2007

    Spicy.

  • by

    nordattack

    Sun Aug 26 2007

    Essentially the best gin made. Bright, snappy, crisp, fruity, with the distinctive odor and flavor or juniper. It also creates a big wow impression when I show it off to people because of its natural sky blue color. The flavor is never forgotten with this Gin. I can drink other gins and enjoy them but when I draw up a memory of what gin tastes like it is Magellan that defines this category. No other gin I have ever tasted is so perfect in its balance of floral and juniper flavors. They do nothing wrong and everything right with this Magellan. Bombay Sapphire is unbeaten as far as the actual texture is concerned, its velvety feel is like drinking oil or hand lotion, but sapphire's flavor is muted and unmemorable by comparison to Magellan. Magellan "is" Gin.

  • by

    spike65

    Wed Aug 22 2007

    Excellent gin. Overpriced for sure but that's what happens when something becomes popular. I buy it when it goes on sale.

  • by

    ronincse

    Wed Jun 06 2007

    Really amazing Gin with a great flavor.  Tangueray has a more citrusy flavor, but this seems to have a bit more complex flavor and is also a bit smoother going down.  If you don't mind paying a bit extra go for this one.

  • by

    bell017

    Wed Dec 06 2006

    Gotta love Bombay Sapphire. It's smooth (especially over ice or straight from the freezer), and has that delicate juniper taste that anyone who truly appreciates gin can distinguish - if you don't like the taste of alcohol, why bother buying something nice? If you appreciate the taste, you'll appreciate Bombay Sapphire.

  • by

    djahuti

    Wed Aug 16 2006

    Classy Booze! My Uncle (a Gin Connisseur) swears by it.I still think it's better for cleaning a carbuerator,but who am I to argue?

  • by

    sroach

    Wed Aug 02 2006

    This is the best gin I've had for dry martinis. It is not as flowery as most. There are other gins with more citrus tones which are better suited for gin and tonics.

  • by

    deermanoneshot_kill

    Fri Jul 28 2006

    Sapphire is a great gin, and up until about 2 months ago I would have argued that it was the best. However, I found Magellan to be better, not the new clear Magellan but the original blue Magellan that was discontinued this spring but is coming back after a customer upheaval. It is considerably more expensive than Sapphire but it is definitely worth the price. I would venture to say that if really like Sapphire and take the leap of faith to try Magellan (make sure it is the blue colored GIN not the bottle, and in hast to get the blue gin back on the market the blue gin will come in the blue tinted bottle) you will not be sorry!!!!

  • by

    monkeyman69

    Thu Jul 06 2006

    This is the best gin that I've ever tasted. Worth every penny, smooth, great flavour...

  • by

    goaty46

    Tue May 16 2006

    Definitely my gin of choice. Subtle nuances of botanicals that become familiar and distinctively unduplicated. Despite the 94 proof strength it is easy to drink alone; I prefer it stirred and strained, ideally with a few olives. As with most clear hard liquors, one can over imbibe and still have no trace of hangover. Although a bit pricey, it is definitely worth it when one's (and the world's) economic circumstances allow.

  • by

    lion_in_winter

    Tue May 02 2006

    Almost too perfect- stunning Gin, subtle and smooth and elegant- too good for a Gin and Tonic (but still makes a great one!) Best for a Martini (classic medium dry) UP in a chilled glass with olives- classy, timeless and elegant.

  • by

    bignit

    Wed Apr 12 2006

    The tastiest bastard of a martini I ever had.

  • by

    vicsailgarden

    Wed Feb 15 2006

    This is my favorite. The best gin and tonic (or gin and toxic as my husband says after he's had a couple). Best hot-day-on-the-boat drink! lots of ice and lots of lime

  • by

    notbadnotbad

    Thu Jan 12 2006

    Nice. But why is it in the top slot? It's a very good gin. But all you can taste is the juniper. It needs a little more subtlety. Bombay Malacca and Hendrick's are more complex and flavorful, and for the money a much better bet. Don't mix this stuff with tonic water or OJ. Sapphire is for your classic Winston Churchill style Martini: slightly bruised by the ice cubes, but untainted by the vermouth.

  • by

    divo15

    Wed Jan 04 2006

    There are more flavorful gins out there, but Sapphire is still my favorite.

  • by

    civiletti

    Wed Nov 02 2005

    I don't like gin, unless it's Sapphire.

  • by

    rubntug

    Sat Sep 10 2005

    Its a great Gin. Try it with 1/2 Tonic and 1/2 Sprite.

  • by

    adelatorre

    Sun Sep 04 2005

    Possibly one of the most overrated Gins on the market. I mean it's good, but it's not as great as everyone says. And it's way overpriced. If it weren't for the size & marketing budget of Bombay, this gin might be unknown.

  • by

    bill_poster

    Wed Aug 31 2005

    My girlfriend loves it for the bottle. Barmen hate it for the bottle because it's so thin you are guaranteed to get breakages.

  • by

    bigsprinter

    Thu Aug 25 2005

    Very smooth--And as such great in Martinis but gets overshadowed by the Tonic in a Gin and Tonic

  • by

    sarahsmile

    Sun Jul 17 2005

    Very smooth-my favorite for a G&T; or a martini.

  • by

    jiffypop

    Sat Feb 05 2005

    Have not tried Hendrick's but Sapphire beats all others.

  • by

    boiseattorney

    Sat Nov 20 2004

    It's like a shot of gin. It makes your blood race, your face flush and your spirits soar. (Charlie Allnut - African Queen)

  • by

    celticprince

    Thu Nov 04 2004

    oh soooo smoooth great martini gin!

  • by

    spoofmastas

    Thu Oct 21 2004

    Sweetest stuff made by man, And by sweetest I mean totally awesom.......est.

  • by

    kierchehof

    Fri Sep 24 2004

    I discovered this and it brought my faith in drinking back.

  • by

    waltgt

    Thu Jul 01 2004

    Most Excellent, excellent dry but no bitter taste, no hangover

  • by

    dre36112

    Mon Feb 16 2004

    Great packaging, average taste. Don't believe the hype!

  • by

    swatxcat

    Fri Oct 31 2003

    THE best gin and tonic gin. Excellently crisp.

  • by

    infinityball

    Fri Aug 22 2003

    Just one question: why couldn't they make it actually be blue?

  • by

    andyknoedler

    Mon Aug 18 2003

    I polished off a liter bottle of this a few weeks ago that I bought duty-free in Bahrain for $12. It makes a very tasty G&T.

  • by

    dcpepp

    Wed Jun 18 2003

    My philosophy about gin: gin is a flavorful drink with interesting and intriguing flavors. As such, you should drink a gin with full flavor. If you don't appreciate the layers and complexity of gin, then why bother? Drink vodka or some such. And, in my humble opinion, Bombay Sapphire is too subtle.

  • by

    mmoneurere

    Mon Apr 28 2003

    Give me a microphone, a jazz bar, a piano player in a tux, and I'll be happy. Add a Sapphire martini, and it's the *perfect* scene. Bar none.

  • by

    dane70bb

    Mon Apr 21 2003

    When it comes to Gin & Tonics, any ol' gin will do. When it comes to MARTINIS, only Bombay Sapphire or Tanqueray 10 will do. Both are superb--I prefer the Sapphire.

  • by

    donniebrasco69

    Wed Apr 02 2003

    I love gin and tonics, and Bombay is the best way to have it.