Bangkok, Thailand reviews

Bangkok, Thailand

Capital and most populous city of Thailand Website

Approval Rate: 89%

89%Approval ratio

Reviews 19

Sort by:
  • by

    alphamel08

    Wed Mar 03 2010

    What I didn't like was the traffic and the sweltering heat. I mean Manila can be brutal in the summer but it's not like Bangkok where you feel like every pore in your body is oozing with sweat. And yes, traffic in Manila can also be hellish but IMHO, so I guess that makes my stand on traffic jams pretty clear. I will say this for Bangkok, the shopping is awesome. Of course, you're advised to wear light and comfortable clothing, or you'll feel drained even before you start retail therapy. I would really like to go back, not just for the shopping but also to explore the city's cultural attractions. I didn't get to do much of that when I went there. So I'm looking forward to that, and the shopping, which I think I've already mentioned. So there.

  • by

    laotzu

    Tue Jul 28 2009

    I gotta say...Bangkok was a shock. I was excited about visiting, and I loved what I saw, but it was for completely different reasons than I expected. I figured that Bangkok was a seedy, edgy, backpacker destination that one earns a certain level of "street-cred" for visiting. I imagined getting off the plane and immediately being abducted by a transsexual ladyboy who would try and enslave me at a red-light-district bar that performs ping pong shows all night. Instead, I was greeted with an incredibly modern and efficient, safe city that had a wealth of culture to offer. Getting around is easy, the people are wonderful, and it's foreign enough that you feel like you're really exploring a distinct culture. I did make it to a ping pong show at the drunken coercion of some very attractive British backpacking chicks and I have to say, that was a hoot. You haven't lived until you've seen a 90 pound Thai woman shoot a dart across the room and pop a balloon powered only by the air from ... Read more

  • by

    skoolz

    Sat Jan 31 2009

    Cool city for what you've heard about... 'One Night In Bangkok' aint just a song ;) But it is very dirty, and I would fear for my life if I got lost on a backstreet.

  • by

    chuckmiser

    Wed May 07 2008

    Bangkok offers lots of great shopping from Koh Sahn rd to Siam Center and MBK. The  hotels of bangkok are some of the best deals in Asia and you can't beat the street food like Pad Thai.

  • by

    fb768668041

    Sun Nov 11 2007

    awesome destination 2 shop

  • by

    fb577835171

    Tue Nov 06 2007

    If you want to feel "relax!, Bangkok is not the place... too much pollution (!) and people...Night time there are lots of foregin idiots as well.

  • by

    carib102

    Mon Sep 03 2007

    Bangkok is the most wonderful city in the world in my opinion. I have been there numerous times and each time my plane lands and I step out of the airport I feel like I have come home. The Thai people are the most generous and friendly people I have ever met and the atmosphere of Bangkok, in spite of it's size and activity, is just so laid back. They even have a saying in Thai that explains the whole laid back idea - mai bpen rai. It literally means "for nothing" and you will hear it many times when there is a potentially stressful incident or something that may cause conflict. I have learned to interpret it as "chill out man". Add to that the amazing culture and world class food and shopping at rock bottom prices and you simply cannot beat Bangkok for charm, activities, cuisine and all around fun. Read more of my musings about Thailand at http://www.thailandmusings.com, my blog about everything Thai.

  • by

    d2a2mf62

    Mon Aug 06 2007

    I haven't stayed in Bangkok for that long but I just fell in love with this city the very first time I landed. The denizens are very Hospitable and full of life. I really like eating in one of the many roadside eating place- very cheap and amazing food. this is one of the very few place where you get cheap seafoods and beer unlike many other southeast asian cities. If you love night life and women- this place will never disappoint you.

  • by

    dayna0f7

    Thu May 25 2006

    i had no idea what to expect when i went to Koh Samui and Bangkok 8 months ago. Now, i cannot wait to go back! it was the best holiday destination! Koh Samui has beautiful beaches and a great atmosphere for whether you feel like just sitting on the beach, going to a restaurant or hitting the nightlife around the Mango Bar area. DONT SHOP IN KOH SAMUI.. its a rip off. Wait to get to Bangkok, everything is a fraction of the price!! Bangkok was great. Dirty, but didnt matter because the cultural shock is delightful.

  • by

    aquamaureen

    Wed Feb 01 2006

    Bangkok is awesome. I have been there twice. The first time was in June 1998. We took the train from Kuala Lumpur. My husband and I stayed in the Kaosan Road area. It is a well-know area to backpackers but we were well into our 50's at the time and felt right at home. The temples are truly awesome and the Reclining Buddha has to be seen to be believed. We also enjoyed taking the river boats that are part of the city's transportation system. You have to be quick getting on and off as the boatmen don't waste any time pulling in and pulling out of the piers. We took a great day trip to Ayutthaya, the old capital, and the Summer Palace. It was totally worthwhile even though we travelled in a hot and dusty mini-bus. My husband and I both had massages while we were there. The price is right and the service is wonderful. We also left by train to Ko Samiu. The second time was in March 2004. I was at a conference and stayed at a 5 star hotel. I had a sweeping view of the river ... Read more

  • by

    siamtor

    Fri Oct 28 2005

    Lived there for over 10 years and still miss some things about it. Great people and food, wonderful beaches (in the south of Thailand) and you can live the lifestyle you want ... cheap for backpackers but also some of the best hotels in the world. Good Thai people are among the best you can imagine. Corruption is bad, pollution is bad but the good far outweighs the bad. Here's a sampling of things to do: 1) Wat Po for massage (real massage done by the blind) - very strong hands and they can sense things you can't imagine 2) Buffet lunches at any of the 4 or 5 star hotels - very reasonable prices 3) Get on any 3 baht red bus and just watch daily life 4) Take the river boat from one end to the other, about 20 baht and very refreshing 5) Wake up early and watch the Thais give alms to the monks 6) Visit Little India and Chinatown, they're almost next to each other 7) Weekend (Chatuchak or JJ) Market 8) Lumpini Park for Tai Chi in the morning ... just to name a few.

  • by

    inline6

    Mon May 02 2005

    Still good. Go to a nearest massage parlor and take two ladies for two hours of wholesome fun!

  • by

    numbah16tdhaha

    Thu Jul 29 2004

    Great place, but beware the ladyboys!

  • by

    andrewscott

    Mon Jun 14 2004

    I love Thai food, and I've heard many great things about Bangkok, which is Thailand's biggest city. Bangkok has an exotic mix of ancient and modern culture with beautiful canals, palaces, Buddhist temples, huge outdoor markets as well as grand shopping malls and eye-catching high-rises. Bangkok's friendly, service-oriented culture and unique allure help make it a popular Southeast Asian tourist destination. Unfortunately, the city has also gained some international notoriety because many tourists help the (illegal)prostitution business thrive, much to the embarrassment of many Thai people. As a bad joke goes, male travelers are taking the two syllables in Bangkok too literally.

  • by

    help_me

    Sat Jun 21 2003

    thailand rocks! bangkok must be one hell of a city.

  • by

    canadasucks

    Thu Feb 27 2003

    It is fun. The Emperor's Palace (man, is that what it was called?) is in the middle of the city is a very nice place to visit. Beware of the dress code! The tourist/foreigner ghetto is Khao San Road. . .plenty of cheap hotels/restraunts/bars. . .good place to pick up tourist information or transportation to the beaches and resorts. Thailand does have beautiful beaches. . .I will never waste my time at an American beach again. Thailand is very cheap once you get there, but be careful about getting pickpocketed or ripped off. Thais are generally very friendly people. A great place to spend 10 days to 2 weeks if you are near the beach. Also- Thai food is some of the best in Asia.

  • by

    ausno25c

    Fri Feb 21 2003

    I love Thailand, period. This city is great, with an exeptional amount of things to do.

  • by

    bjstrykker

    Sat Jan 04 2003

    Bangkok is unbelievable, but you have to be able to deal with chaos and lots of stimuli! The nicest people in the world for a city this size, totally modern but astonishingly traditional at the same time, and hands-down best food in the world.

  • by

    hino6955jp

    Fri May 26 2000

    Some great things to see and my futeur home. The pollution and traffic detract from an otherwise exceptional place.