topic image

Amsterdam, Netherlands

Capital and most populous city of the Netherlands, with The Hague being the seat of government Website

Approval Rate: 86%

86%Approval ratio

Reviews 35

Sort by:
  • by

    surewhynot

    Mon Mar 01 2010

    Amsterdam has an energy all its own. It's a city of about 70 islands and around a 1000 bridges. While being a large city, it has a quaint charm to it--unlike, say, Barcelona, you can hear the birds chirping and bicycle bells ringing. It's pace isn't slow but it isn't fast. There is a unique sense of liberalism co-existing with conservatism. The people are jovial and architecture stately. The overall atmosphere has an air of liberal sophistication. Comparitively speaking, its among the safest of large European cities yet without an overt police presence. The public transport system, in terms of street trams, is good. It's operators announce destinations in Dutch and the names of plazas and stations are impossible to remember but kind assistance in English is easily found. People are generally good-humored. The canal boat tour is nice but an impractical way to stop and go. Stay on the sidewalks. Avoid careless wandering into bike lanes. Cyclists will mow you down if you aren't paying at... Read more

  • by

    lma3113

    Mon Jun 15 2009

    I don't know what I thought I would be getting with Amsterdam, but its low on my list of European cities. The Dutch have a fabulous culture, but the city is like any other city just with canals. I felt like I was in any American city, with a prettier atmosphere. I was also almost mugged, which did not make me feel easy as this has never happened to me in America. I suggest a visit, but one should totally take day trips to Delft and Den Haag to get to explore more of Holland.

  • by

    bird808

    Wed Feb 11 2009

    I absolutely loved Amsterdam. It's one of those cities that you just enjoy being in. Besides the obvious things this place is known for there's so much more to it than that. The beautiful buildings and history for one. Walking around Amsterdam I didn't feel like a tourist and that's what I loved most of all. People in Amsterdam are so laid back and chilled out. It shows everything that's wrong with busy city's. Nobody's rushing to get anywhere and they make full use of all modes of transport including their rivers. Most of the city is within walking distance which I also loved. You can hire a bicycle to go and discover more places if you want. This is one city without a doubt I want to go back to. Next time I'll just make sure I bring people along who are willing to do more and enjoy themselves.

  • by

    thecouple

    Mon Jun 30 2008

    Amsterdam was fantastic! I don't get all the reviews on here about drugged out people. Of course you can have a smoke if you want, which is great and very advanced for a society as far as I'm concerned. But there weren't drug addicts walking the streets pushing heroin or anything. Just a laid back vibe. It shows you all of what's wrong with America. The Anne Frank museum was a long wait but very moving. The Kantjil de Tigre was a great place to eat. The red light district felt safe as long as you were on the main drag and was a load of fun. I recommend the sex musem and the sex show. Enjoy how the world should be!

  • by

    fb546081099

    Sun Jun 01 2008

    Beautiful place to visit... Besides the very much known things about it, warm people, good food, friendly atmosphere, very good night life with something for everyone!!! Transportation is EASY and affordable, life style is laid back. Don't miss the opportunity if you can visit!

  • by

    angryjed

    Mon Dec 10 2007

    something for everyone: drugs, diamonds, museums, food, music, hookers. What's not to like?

  • by

    fb551331332

    Sun Nov 11 2007

    <3 <3 <3 prinsengracht, schipol, stroopwafels, flea markets, the crack bridge where you can get hot bikes for cheap, UvA, botels, RDL, Chinatown, vanGogh, cruesli, awesome alley ways, papas frites, what's not to love?

  • by

    magellan

    Tue Sep 25 2007

    Here's what you should do while in Amsterdam, in order of priority: 1) Rent a bicycle 2) Hit the Van Gogh Museum 3) Hit a "coffee shop" and have a smoke, stress free 4) Sit outside on a canal and drink a Heineken on draft  5) Take a stroll through the Red Light district 6) Lie in the grass at Muesumplein 7) Hit the Rijksmuseum I didn't go to the Anne Frank House, or the Dutch East India Trading Company museum, but I wanted to. Be prepared to get lost walking around.  The streets are circular (in a ring), so it's really hard to get your bearing.  Also, be prepared to be run over by a bicycle.  It's like the bicycle autobahn there.

  • by

    liljessjess

    Mon Apr 23 2007

    Eat pancakes, visit Van Gogh Museum, go shopping, wander around the canaled streets, avoid the train station (of course there's much more to do, but those are my personal recommendations)

  • by

    billy988878898_87

    Thu Nov 17 2005

    it was great

  • by

    edt4226d

    Tue Oct 04 2005

    I was here with a friend in Dec. 1981, when we were just out of our teens. I remember it being a cornucopia of decadence...everything, and I mean EVERYTHING, seemed to be legal here. Heroin was being sold in the street (which is also true of places like NY and other urban areas, of course) but I remember one cafe that was advertising the different types of marijuana they sold as if they were herbal teas and their special for the day was "Psychedelic Pancakes" (I didn't partake...does one ingest them with butter and maple syrup, I wondered?). It was certainly an incongruous combination; the cobblestoned streets, the historic buildings and canals, the old-world ambiance contrasted with flashy prostitutes plying their trade out of street-level apartments and the most decadent, soul-less porno shops and nightclubs I ever hope to encounter. Even though I had the normal interest of a 21-year old in all things sexual as well as mind-altering chemicals, I found the whole experience depressing ... Read more

  • by

    xinxin

    Tue Sep 06 2005

    too much drugs and strip clubs and sexualy corrupted people

  • by

    peteywheatstra_w

    Wed Apr 13 2005

    A very beautiful, stylish, charming city, a great place to be even without the hookers and the pot. I like the Leidseplein area because its less touristy.

  • by

    shoeempress

    Mon Jan 24 2005

    A lovely city, but too many stoned out rude americans wondering around. Do not go the week of thanksgiving, even more drunk rude americans than ususal. Try the rijsttafel, wonderful indonesian cusisine. Reccommend Tempo Dolo and Kantjil en de tigre. Both wonderful restaurants.

  • by

    golden_bear

    Fri Jan 14 2005

    Another must-visit stop on any European tour, but keep in mind that Amsterdam, unlike other European capitals, isn't so much about imposing monuments and avenues - it's more known for its neighborhoods, hangouts, and informal charm. That doesn't mean leave the camera at home, though, because its canals and architecture make it a beautiful place.

  • by

    daccory

    Sun Oct 17 2004

    A great place to visit and party. A bit scruffy near the main station but there are some elegant walks and beautiful canal vistas, the brown bars, friendly people and an openness that embraces one and all. You must see it at least once. Gets very cold and damp in the winter.

  • by

    ansgard

    Fri Jun 04 2004

    It was ok when i've seen it but it's boring after a while unless you are a drug addict !! its not famous for its history or sceneries either....so nothing great..like the rest of Holland

  • by

    jnihol

    Fri May 07 2004

    Phenomenal city!!! I'm saying this as a person who doesn't do drugs, and has no interest in the red light district. The Rijksmuseum gives the Louvre high competition with its amazing numbers of incredible works of art. The Hortus Botanicus is the most beautiful garden I've had the pleasure of seeing. The Anne Frank House will leave you unable to speak for grief. The Netherlands Maritime Museum is my personal favorite, with its illistrations of a time when the Dutch were the worlds super-power. English is spoken everywhere, and the people are amazingly friendly! Don't let drugs and sex scare you away from visiting the most stunning city in Europe!

  • by

    falcon91wolvrn_03

    Thu Mar 25 2004

    The freest city in the world. Buy marijuana in the coffee shops, and magic mushrooms in the smart shops. See a live sex show or rent a hooker in the Red Light District. Old world architecture, but very well lit streets. I found the people amazingly friendly, much more so than in big American cities, though you'll find a handful of people on the street trying to sell hard drugs. Just say no thanks and they'll go away. Extremely beautiful city with its many museums, parks, and canals. Everyone speaks excellent English.

  • by

    teaseress

    Tue Mar 09 2004

    Just flew back from there yesterday, I'm completely shattered, but happy. I thought that Amsterdam was a vibrant, intense and wonderful city. The whole place is picturesque with all the canals and architecture. From the moment we stepped off the plane till the end of the holiday everyone that we met and talked to were polite and their English was fantastic! We found a really nice restaurant in the centre of town that served affordable but delicious food and got chatting to the owner - so we'll be going back there. Amsterdam is definately more of a place to go if you like getting stoned and/or drunk because there is only so much you can see that doesn't involve that. Next time I go I'm making sure I book time off work for when I come back so I can get some sleep.

  • by

    classictvfan47

    Tue Mar 09 2004

    A sad example of a lawless city. Legal drugs and prosititution? No thank you. Give me a family-friendly, drug-free, safe utopia instead!

  • by

    sundiszno

    Sun Feb 22 2004

    A unique city. Beautiful sights (canals, houses along them). Good food at reasonable prices. Almost every Dutch person I met spoke colloquial American. Unfortunately, Amsterdam has its decidedly trashy aspects (what's trash to me apparently is treasure to some of the other reviewers, so I guess it's a question of what your personal likes are), so it's not high on my list of cities for return visits.

  • by

    jamiedobson

    Sat Feb 14 2004

    one word, bad !

  • by

    nsaa9c77

    Mon Feb 17 2003

    Fantastic liberal minded, open and a lot to do

  • by

    free_at_last

    Thu Aug 23 2001

    I am Free At Last.....

  • by

    karenmarie

    Mon Jan 15 2001

    Having been to Amsterdam three times in the past year, I must say that it's one of the most laid back places on earth. It's a city that continues to enchant me with a lifestyle that is appealing and people that are friendly. I was able to travel outside of Amsterdam to Hoorne and Volendam and found both equally delightful. It's a quality of life that is attractive and like it use to be here in the states, decades ago. I could live there.

  • by

    ronald_van_den_pants

    Sun Jan 07 2001

    It is the most visual city that lives almost 24 hours...and the only reason I do not know is I needed 2 hours sleep!!! Everyone is friendly if you approach them with a smile and show respect for their customs....try the Belgian beer..Duval..can't stand Heineken...Excellent food in all types of restaurants for an excellent price...however..do not try the traditional dutch meal of beans..thats exactly what it is. The red light district is a fantastic adult playground. Infact the only time I felt unsafe was when an english boy was so drunk in the Liedesplein that he wanted a fight..the best thing to do is walk away..the irony of this is you can walk the darkest alleys in the red light district and nothing is threatening...Watch out for pickpockets...very skillful, but the are not muggers...It all adds up to the fun of the fair...beautiful city with a gothic sense of culture. GO!

  • by

    tiboticher

    Mon Oct 23 2000

    Amsterdam must have the friendliest atmosphere of any capital city in the world. It's a 'must visit'. Try the Boom Chicago comedy show on the Leidseplein. The comedy and food are great. The Leidseplein has a large selection of bars, clubs, restaurants and 'coffee shops'. The single traveller may find it less threatening than the red light district. Although everyone must visit the red light district at least once even if only in daylight.

  • by

    pdinny

    Sun Apr 09 2000

    Oh man, the hookers are out of this world -- true professionals -- and the hash will make your head spin like you never would believe. Unless you've tried both, you've never truly lived. Oh yeah, the museums were cool too. (post it, I dare you)

  • by

    smyl4925om

    Wed Mar 15 2000

    Having heard how wonderful this place was, I was a bit disappointed. A lot of the city seemed very tacky and dirty. I felt quite unsafe at times (as a woman travelling alone - in a way I have not felt in most other major European cities). OK so the cancals are pretty... and I liked the Van Gogh museum too.

  • by

    amac4121du

    Sat Feb 12 2000

    Great gateway to travel Europe.

  • by

    mmmc3553du

    Wed Jan 05 2000

    Amsterdam is intense! Crazy! Out there!

  • by

    lloc1080du

    Wed Nov 10 1999

    Amsterdam is the most interesting city to sit back and watch people go bye. You find people anywhere between strung-out drug addicts with prostitutes, to happy families on vacation.

  • by

    bkiv671du

    Mon Nov 01 1999

    Amsterdam is still the sex-capital of Europe!

  • by

    jlsi325du

    Tue Oct 26 1999

    Amsterdam is my favorite city in the whole world! I could live there.

This topic is on the following list(s)

Add to new list