topic image

American Beauty

1999 American black comedy-drama film written by Alan Ball and directed by Sam Mendes in his directorial debut Website

Approval Rate: 76%

76%Approval ratio

Reviews 99

Sort by:
  • by

    sekharaza563

    Sun Sep 03 2023

    Great film

  • by

    mihaapavl495

    Tue Aug 01 2023

    This is my favorite movie of all time. I did not expect to take so much away from this movie but I did. Ricky opened my eyes to a whole new take on life which I find so beautiful. This movie taught me to find beauty in everything and not to take life for granted. This is the best movie in my opinion.

  • by

    daendres

    Fri Feb 05 2010

    I think I just love screwed up movies because they're screwed up. There's nothing particularly great about this movie... I just love it for some reason. Also, I can totally envision myself snapping like Kevin Spacey's character does at his career-obsessed wife. He was apparently going through his mid-life crisis, but in this case it was more like a mid-life awesomeness.

  • by

    jake_armitage

    Fri Feb 05 2010

    American Beauty is a strange window into an altogether not too unfamiliar world. Kind of a yuppie or wasp look at a mid-life crisis. The best part is when he is working at the drive-through window and how his boss backs him up when his wife rolls through, classic. Kevin Spacey is a good actor that has remarkably avoided being typecast.

  • by

    medgarevers

    Tue Nov 10 2009

    Snobs say _The Ice Storm_ is better, I can't comment but I have found many of the characters relevant to problems in American society

  • by

    acuteobserver

    Fri Jun 26 2009

    The film begins with a young girl talking about her Dad. "Do you want me to kill him?" This tells you it will be a sicko movie! Then we see a street with a voice from a man with psychological problems. There are weird neighbors for this strange family. Lester has a job in advertising (professional lying?); is he expendable? There is conflict at the dinner table. "What happened?" Carolyn is in real estate sales, she has lookers not buyers. [Are her emotions embarrassing?] Jane is a cheerleader with emotional problems. Lester has a fantasy; is he pathetic? Does Angela have a problem too? Is a neighbor a voyeur? "Oh, gross!" Are the other neighbors strange? What's their business? [Does it seem like a cartoon drama?] The character of Angela is displayed as if to suggest future failure. Is their conversation real? Does Ricky look too old for high school? The film runs on with conversations that seem weird. What kind of job does Ricky have? Why is Angela so friendly? Are their conversatio... Read more

  • by

    michaelgriswol_d

    Mon Jun 22 2009

    I can't beileve it's been ten years since this movie came out, I had to watch this for film history class a few years ago and have been hooked ever since. Every character with the exception of the two gay men is flawed deeply on some level : Lester (Kevin Spacey)is so bored and lifeless in his marriage with the overcompetitive, driven real estate agent wife that he actively seeks out an affair with his daughter's teenage friend Angela. Angela for her part is attention starved and seeks to realize her needs through sexual actions. His daughter strikes up a relationship with a voyeristic cameraman who is selling drugs behind the back of his Marine father, who disdains gay people, but reveals towards the end of the movie that he himself is gay. The end is perplexing at first because there are several people who may want Lester dead from a sullen wife who is "refusing to be a victim," the gay marine, his daughter's voyaristic boyfriend acting on the wishes of his girlfriend (Lester's daugh... Read more

  • by

    woods7448

    Sat May 30 2009

    Watched this movie for the first time last night. I found the movie to be haunting in that it reflected my life and I would imagine a great many other's lives. We spend our life chasing money, status, the perfect home and career and somehow we lose ourselves in the process, and when we finally end up with what we have been working so hard to obtain all these years, we find we are empty, bitter shells of what we once were. A very eye opening movie for me.

  • by

    ironybis

    Fri Apr 24 2009

    My intial reaction of American Beauty was not really. It took me a long while to think this movie over, and I must say that American Beauty is a movie that will deliver again and again. It's not as realistic as people make it out to be, but American Beauty easily transcends these petty complaints with acting, themes, film making. The acting is top notch, and a joy to watch. Kevin Spacey is brilliant, this is the one that made me always keep my eyes out for any movies that he is in (of course, not all of them are good, but that's not the point). Just watch the facial expressions, the anger, and the bite that these people put into their lines. Few movies include such stirring performances, which is just one reason why I can never stop watching this movie. The fantastic acting is further driven by a script crammed to the brim with top notch dialogue to boot. Oh sure, it's not Quentin Tarantino, it's better (well maybe not, but it's brilliant). It's not as rich as his dialogue,... Read more

  • by

    mediaguy

    Tue Mar 24 2009

    American Beauty (1999) Lester and Carolyn Burnham seem to have it all: a nice house, two well-paid jobs, a couple of expensive cars, and a beautiful daughter. But as is so often true in these modern times, a lot of dysfunction hides behind the mask of happy normalcy. In truth, Lester (Kevin Spacey) is going middle age crazy, pining for his carefree youth and making goo-goo eyes at his daughter's Lolita-like best friend. Carolyn (Annette Bening) has discovered that "having it all" isn't nearly enough; she throws herself into her real estate job to try to compensate. And the daughter is going through that economy sized variety pack of teen angst, ranging from insecurity to parent loathing. Add in a set of new next door neighbors with their own problems (Dad's a bigoted ex-Marine; Mom's a zoned out space case, and son is a fairly creepy video voyeur); stir them all together well, and you have the perfect recipe for suburban disaster. Director Sam Mendes, writer Alan Bell, and es... Read more

  • by

    fb549726214

    Sat Sep 20 2008

    Tampoco fue para tanto, no? y haber visto a Anita Obregón copiando la imagen de las flores.... me da escalofríos de sólo pensarlo

  • by

    jamie_finn

    Wed Sep 10 2008

    love the messed up family

  • by

    spike65

    Fri Jul 25 2008

    A very well made film about some mostly un-lovable people. Spacey and Bening are marvelous as the suburban couple who seem to have it made but in fact have almost nothing in common anymore. This picture took me a couple of viewings to get through it all due to my squeamishness about the impending tryst between Spacey's character and his daughter's friend. I won't spoil the ending for you but I recommend you hang in there and see the whole thing.

  • by

    3_leana

    Tue Jul 22 2008

    american what?

  • by

    i_use_weapons_hooka

    Wed Jun 25 2008

    My all-time favorite movie.

  • by

    oo_michelle_oo

    Thu Jun 19 2008

    Strange and captivating.

  • by

    liz7b74b

    Wed Jun 11 2008

    this is a good movie and had many twists and turns and wasn't expecting the ending at all

  • by

    myspace_365158273

    Wed Jun 04 2008

    It is ok....what's the deal with the plastic bag????

  • by

    maz95458

    Wed Jun 04 2008

    i love kevin!

  • by

    jamieswtgrl

    Sat Apr 12 2008

    This movie is very good, but you have to monitor who watches it. American Beauty is an adult movie, so this is not for the kids. The story is something young adults can relate to and it is a movie people of the same age group will enjoy watching together. Quality entertainment and a timeless classic.

  • by

    fb527418657

    Sat Mar 22 2008

    This was fitted perfectly with how I was feeling at that time.

  • by

    genghisthehun

    Tue Mar 18 2008

    Ho hum. This trendy bucket of tripe hit all the right notes in the late nineties to give all the critics and others of that ilk the vapors as to how great this was. I know, I know, it won an Oscar and blah, blah, blah. I give it a three since I hit the three by accident and I was too lazy to reduce it down to a two.

  • by

    czechmate

    Mon Mar 17 2008

    A pretty good movie, but believe it was overrated too.

  • by

    trebon1038

    Fri Mar 14 2008

    I loved this movie...Im not even sure why other than Kevin Spacey smoken pot and just throwing himself OUT of the rat race was cool. There were some very strange people in that movie!

  • by

    twansalem

    Fri Mar 14 2008

    I guess it was a well made movie, because I couldn't stop watching it , but I don't know, it was just weird.

  • by

    irishgit

    Fri Jul 20 2007

    It has its moments, and Spacey, as always is very strong. I think its very good, but a long way short of great.

  • by

    frankswildyear_s

    Fri Jun 22 2007

    I thought it was dull and laden down with stereotypes and clichés.  It was well produced and featured great acting but the overall effect was a long quiet scream of cynicism about middle class life.  Ya, ya, ya the American dream is a hollow sham and we all live lives of quiet desparation, or so Hollywood has been telling me for the last 40 years.  Everyone has their moments of doubt and even depression, but if we were all as moribund as the characters in this film and I mean every single character, there would be piles of dead suburbanites strewn around vats of purple kool-aid every weekend.Now don't get me started on The English Patient.

  • by

    leftfinger

    Wed Apr 26 2006

    I seriously doubt that this reflects suburban life.

  • by

    orangestar

    Sun Jan 01 2006

    The more I watch it, the less I like it.....but I still do like it a lot. The first time it was really amazing, but I mostly love Kevin Spacey's performance.

  • by

    canadasucks

    Mon Jul 11 2005

    The film is a cheap-shot at American suburbia culture. I didn't think it was as groundbreaking or having 'chic social commentary' as most others did. . .but the film was raunchy, funny, and had good performances. And Sam Mendes can sure shoot a good-looking movie. (He also directed the underrated and superior film Road to Perdition)

  • by

    findlaydog

    Wed Feb 16 2005

    I've always like Kevin Spacey...so I'm giving it 2 stars...but the film itself was disappointing and deserves a 1. I know it was trendy to like it...but really...what new ground did this film cover? It tried to take a darkly funny yet hurtful view of the American family...great. It's been done to death. We KNOW life isn't like Leave It To Beaver. And I felt like the pervy aspect was graphically displayed-- not for the sake of the film plot-- but to titilate the audience. In the end, this film lacks integrity, but somehow people have bought into the hype. I don't think the makers were trying to make a higher point at all. I think they were trying to win awards and cash their checks. If it had taken us to some new place-- then I would respect it. But it didn't. BOO!

  • by

    buckscounty

    Sun Jan 23 2005

    A movie that has no respect for the middle class. The scene in which Mena Suvari could have been shot in from the side and suggested nudity, but Director Mendes has no respect for Suvari and exposes her. You can see her discomfort. Truly and ugly and hateful film.

  • by

    bugahane

    Fri Dec 17 2004

    A bizarre, beautifully filmed and wonderfully acted movie. You are glued to the screen watching these dysfunctional people descend into suburban madness.

  • by

    empireofthesun

    Fri Oct 15 2004

    Never in all my life has one movie had such an effect on me and my mentality. American Beauty is not an action film. It will not dazzle you with visual effects, hunky leading men, or a thrilling plot. But what it will dazzle you with is its poetic and thought provoking dialogue, its perfectly depicted story of suburban life, its subtle but brilliant music score composed by Thomas Newman, and most of all, its very impressive acting. This film achieves what many directors often fail to do. It manages to be a perfect combination of humour, drama, romance and a reminder of how we can take the most beautiful things on Earth for granted sometimes. In the words of Lester Burnham (Spacey), You have no idea what I'm talking about I'm sure. But don't worry, you will someday.

  • by

    frogger20190

    Thu Jul 22 2004

    Masterpiece. I can't think of another character I can identify more with, from '90s cinema, than Lester Burnham. I can't remember how I got to be this....sedated.

  • by

    ladyshark4534

    Wed Apr 21 2004

    I remember my grandmother buying this. We watched it and we couldn't stop laughing at Kevin Spacey's character and his antics. Wes Bentley plays a bizarre neighbor. Mena Suvari clearly is beautiful and the scene with rose petals is symbolic of her amazing temptation. It has a interesting story with a twist in the ending!

  • by

    teaseress

    Thu Apr 08 2004

    I think some people may have missed out on the main theme of the story... American Beauty shows you both how shallow people can be with having affairs, pretending that you have had sex when you are a teenager, hating gays and hating your job. But then it delves deeper than that - but this tends to happen with small parts where the characters aren't talking. His wife who ends up having an affair shows her fragilty when she tries to sell the house and at the end bursts into tears and hates herself for doing it and takes out her unhappiness on her husband. The teenage friend who boasts about all the sex she has had - where we find out later on that she is in fact a virgin, shows her fragilty when she is wiping her tears away and looks at herself in the bathroom, as well as when her friends boyfriend tells her exactly what she is. Sad and lonely.. And the main character finally sees that his life isn't as bad as what he thought it was, he has a beautiful wife and daughter. He realises that... Read more

  • by

    forgotten_hero

    Tue Dec 16 2003

    It was a movie about a middle-aged man having a mid-life crisis. He later gets tired of people controlling him or shoving him into the background and decides to take his life back. At some point in our lives we try to regain control of ourselves and do something that makes us happy.

  • by

    kolby1973

    Tue Dec 16 2003

    Once again Andrew Scott has blown me away with a great movie review and it even convinced me to change my review a little bit on this particular movie. I still do not care for the movie, and I still wouldn't recommend it to children or maybe not even most teenagers, but after reading Andrew's thoughtful review on this movie, I don't any longer consider it to be about straight couples not being able to live in love and harmony. I do still feel the movie has too much hate and violence in trying to make its point about beauty, but maybe that is the only way some people can find love...I don't know. I just don't care for this movie, and I will never watch it again. But it isn't near as bad as other movies out there, that is for sure. And as always, Kevin Spacey is an excellent actor and can pull anything off that is put before him.....

  • by

    andrewscott

    Mon Dec 15 2003

    Theme is about how everyone has their own sense of what finding beauty in life entails. The film illustrates that the traditional model of American beauty -- a nice home with your family in the suburbs -- can be a shallow facade and not as fulfilling as it appears. The theme suggests that deviating from glorified suburban ideals (by taking a fast food job, dating someone younger, befriending a misfit, being mistaken as gay, etc.) will bring you fierce recrimination, yet may be the only way for some to discover true happiness in life. The movie wasn't designed to be an uplifting crowd pleaser, as much as one that provokes with its message. While I was uncomfortable watching the movie at times, it was intriguing and affecting enough for me to want to view many key scenes a second time immediately afterward. As the movie states, where some might just see an empty bag floating in the wind, another might see beauty.

  • by

    classictvfan47

    Sun Dec 14 2003

    The movie to see of the year, at least, according to the critics who didn't pan this movie. The movie follows around a pervert of a man, his premiscious daughter and her friend that is the same way, his wife in an affair, a racist neighbor and his ditsy wife, this one has no one with any sense of morals anywhere in it! The film is laced with graphic descriptions of sexual activity, profanity, nudity, drug use, amoral attitdues, and tons of other stuff that shouldn't be in any movie. Don't even accept this one for cash--unless you tape something over it like I Love Lucy, Andy Griffith Show or a movie like Gus or Emperor's New Groove.

  • by

    missmellie

    Sun Dec 14 2003

    Most overrated, overhyped piece of boring crap I have ever had the misfortune to TRY and watch. The WORST.

  • by

    ponerse

    Mon Jun 02 2003

    I have mixed feelings as to how this movie should rank against the greatest movies of all time. I mean, I love it, but that's because I can relate to Lester in many ways. It's hard for me to see how a woman would relate to wanting to be with 17 year old cheerleaders, but it's still high on the list on this site.

  • by

    redoedo

    Sat May 24 2003

    "American Beauty" was a very good movie, but considering all the hype that was surrounding its release, it was a bit disappointing. I might have even given it five stars had it not been for the total commercialization of this film and how it was shoved down our throats before it even came on the big screen. It's a great story of life, death and everything in between. I thought that Kevin Spacey was phenominal as Lester, whose character truly evolves in this film. In the beginning it seems that Lester is chained down by some unknown force, and as the film progresses, we see him emerge and celebrate his newfound "freedom". I also thought that the insights of Ricky (Wes Bentley) were very inspirational and worded perfectly. Everyone involved made this film great, and it was capitalized with a phenominally emotional ending, which has someone already wrote, successfully punctuates a story of glory rather than demise.

  • by

    jakey333

    Sun Jan 05 2003

    This is the greatest movie ever made!

  • by

    zuchinibut

    Mon Dec 09 2002

    Entirely entertaining. Callmetootie is my nemesis.

  • by

    psycho_mom

    Sat Nov 16 2002

    There are only a few movies that have affected me like this one. I had to sit for an hour afterwards just to ponder what I had just seen. Amazing movie!!

  • by

    topher

    Sun Sep 22 2002

    This movie is so amazing it should be deemed illegal. It shows that the family living suburbia with the mercedes benz and the nice house and the lovely rose garden still isn't perfect inside. This movie takes it all to another level and makes the family so abnormal that it makes the Aadams family look like the Waltons. The catch phrase means more than what you are watching in the movie (the catch phrase is "look closer" for those of you who don't know). It means when you go home, when you out, when you somebody, something, look closer. There is probably more to them than meets the eye. This movie is a remarkable achievement, and I am happy that so many people saw the beauty in it that i did. To enjoy the movie more, try watching it really late at night. It becomes so much more over whelming. I recomend this movie to every one. If you don't like it, it's still entertaining in it's own twisted way.

  • by

    antondatree

    Sat May 11 2002

    Man was this a good movie. Sam Mendes - first time director - he is the big thing for the future. He directed this marvelously, and came up with a well-crafted, brilliant, sad, movie. It's music is perfect, it's acting is perfect, it's script is absolutely brilliant, and Sam Mendes' directing is great. It thoroughly deserved its Oscars, and will prove to be a classic in 10 years time, most likely making it onto top 100 film lists all around the world, I would say it will be on AFIs. I bought in on VHS, you should too. See it. I found nearly NO flaws in it. Almost perfect. I watched this with an audience, and they laughed, they were shocked, this is such a great movie. Summary: PERFECT AND BRILLIANT. WILL BECOME A CLASSIC.

  • by

    irene_lvs_ep_1_3

    Sun Feb 10 2002

    Its a good movie it was once my favorite.The movie really touched me in several ways.Theres something you can't describle about the movie that really hits you I mean it tells of an american family with problems which is like real life!