DoubleDutch

DoubleDutch is a location based game for the iPhone that that helps you stay connected with your real ...
Read More
Added on 04/07/2010
RSS Icon

8 Reviews

abichara
07/16/2012

DoubleDutch 3

DoubleDutch apparently raised over $2 million in fresh venture capital about 3 months ago...some significant names in their sector are behind it.

http://pevc.dowjones.com/article?an=DJFVW0002012042 3e84nalr85&from=alert&pid=32&ReturnUrl= http%3a%2f%2fpevc.dowjones.com%3a80%2farticle%3fan% 3dDJFVW00020120423e84nalr85%26from%3dalert%26pid%3d 32

They also raised over $1 million last year.

http://techcrunch.com/2011/04/22/lightbank-leads-1-2-million-round-in-enterprise-mobile-startup-doubledutch/

Add your Vote:

Votes on this review: 3 Helpful / 0 Funny / 0 Agree / 0 Disagree
DoubleDutch 1

UPDATE: Note to Guy-d; yeah, just what I want. Aryan Damn's rants on my cell phone 24/7.

Poor Lawrence. When he started RIA in 1999, the internet bubble was growing. Yahoo had just bought Geocities for 3.6 billion. Other websites were being bought up for ridiculous sums of money. The biggest sale was AOL's purchase of Time Warner for over $150 billion in stock. Well, we all know what happened after that. The bubble popped, and AOL/Time Warner lost over $50 billion. Oops.
Apparently Lawrence thought he could put together a website that he could sell to make him a multi-millionaire. Well, do to various reasons, he fucked it up, and RIA is now about as valuable as Geocities. What an Emorrhoid.
Now Lawrence is putting his money on iphone apps and other electronic crap gadgets. This venture is also doomed; you might want to read about Dr. Richard C. Duncan's Oduvai theory: http://dieoff.org/page224.htm
Even if Dr. Duncan is off the mark a bit, it won't be by much. Peak Oil is going to throttle any kind of economic "recovery" the politicians and economists have been lying to the public about. It won't be long before people will stop wanting the latest electronic gadgets--they will be more concerned with more practical matters, such as where their next meal is coming from.

Add your Vote:

Votes on this review: 0 Helpful / 0 Funny / 0 Agree / 0 Disagree

Guy D
10/08/2011

DoubleDutch 2

4/2010: Now I can receive disagrees wherever I am at!

Thanks Rateitall!

Update: Here are some top location based Apps:


Foursquare

Gowalla

Yelp

Urbanspoon

Whrrl

Facebook

Buzzd

Gypsii

There are dozens more, and Doubledutch wasn't listed anywhere.

The Yelp app works well for me. Another app I use a lot was already installed on my iphone when I bought it, it's the Google map app. Search for whatever, and it pegs a good amount of results.

Add your Vote:

Votes on this review: 4 Helpful / 7 Funny / 1 Agree / 0 Disagree

twansalem
02/28/2011

DoubleDutch 2

Apparently this is where the money is these days. Unfortunately, it seems like the vast majority of resources are going towards developing DoubleDutch while RateItAll.com seems to be almost abandoned. I tried playing around with DoubleDutch a while back, and while I wasn't impressed, I figured that it just needed some developing. Today I tried it out again since RIA seemed to be experiencing technical difficulties. Unfortunately I didn't see much improvement. The interface just seems clunky and inefficient. All RateItAll reviews seem to be available through DoubleDutch, but you can't really search for anything. Also, while DoubleDutch is clearly focused on being able to check in and rate/review your current location (store, restaurant, etc.), it is possible to "check in" at non locations. For example, earlier today I checked in at "Clubbing seals", which is an item on the Politically Incorrect Things to Do in Your Spare Time list. So if you can manage to navigate your way to an item (not necessarily easy if it's not a location, but certainly possible), you can check in at anything. It's kind of bizarre.

Add your Vote:

Votes on this review: 3 Helpful / 1 Funny / 1 Agree / 1 Disagree

magellan
11/25/2010

DoubleDutch 5

Hi All, we are running a little mini Thanksgiving promotion to get folks to try out our location based mobile app, DoubleDutch.

Here's how it works - you get points for "checking in," taking photos, writing reviews, etc. You can login with your RateItAll account.

If you have an iPhone, you can try it out here:

http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/doubledutch/id336955 484?mt=8

If you want to try it on your computer, Android, or BlackBerry Torch, you can try it here:

http://app.doubledutch.me

Top three on the leaderboard at the end of the week get iTunes gift certificates.





Original Review: OK, today we are officially unveiling our super secret project that has been consuming us for the last few months.

It's an iPhone app.

It's called DoubleDutch.

It syncs with your RateItAll account, and allows you to rate the things that are around you - bars, restaurants, parks, schools, bus stops, hiking trails - anything at all.

It's RateItAll for the real world.

Flip it on, anywhere in the world, and it will show you a list of places around you.

In addition to the rating component, it's an easy way to tell your friends where you are.

AND, it's a game. You can earn points, stickers, rockstar status for doing things like "checking in," posting a review, taking a photo, etc. Have an iPhone? Take DoubleDutch for a whirl:


http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/doubledutch/id336955 484?mt=8

Image

Add your Vote:

Votes on this review: 20 Helpful / 1 Funny / 5 Agree / 1 Disagree

cimbrel30
09/14/2010

DoubleDutch 5

Update 09.15.2010: Now you don't need an iPhone to play DoubleDutch. We are happy to announce that DoubleDutch is available for every smartphone. Type http://app.doubledutch.me in your browser and star playing!


DoubleDutch is a fun geo location app to play and stay connected with your friends.

But it is not only a game. DoubleDutch lets you check in and review your favorite venues instantly. It is very handy for people who like to share their opinion about the corner store, the thai restaurant across the office or the ball park. Your review is instantly published on RateItAll and you can share it on Facebook and twitter (perfect for those writers who like to get the most exposure). This is a screenshot of the review page (the venue I was reviewing is top secret ...ehem Popeyes...ehem).

Share photos on twitter with Twitpic

Other functionality I like is the ability to add picture to your reviews. You can take a picture on the go or pic one from your phone library (screenshot of my review of RateItAll with an image)

Share photos on twitter with Twitpic

There are other features that I like to play with. For example, searching for places around the world (given the great data coverage that DoubleDutch's mother company, RateItAll has gathered over the 10+ years existence).

The gaming piece still has room for improvement but sticker designs incentives me to keep playing with the app (you get stickers for checkins, reviews, uploading pictures...). These are the stickers I have collected so far:

Share photos on twitter with Twitpic

Add your Vote:

Votes on this review: 7 Helpful / 0 Funny / 2 Agree / 0 Disagree

jedi58
04/08/2010

DoubleDutch 5

Quite a cool application in the same vein as other geolocation-based social networking applications such as Gowalla and Foursquare though with this one it has the added advantage of being able to read and write reviews about the places you check in to which means you can see what a place is like before you decide to "check in".

It's a nice and easy application to use and I'm sure I'll have more to say about it as the weeks go on.

Add your Vote:

Votes on this review: 5 Helpful / 0 Funny / 3 Agree / 0 Disagree

NicktheQuick
04/06/2010

DoubleDutch 4

As far as the location-based check in apps go, I think DoubleDutch is one of the few on the right track. It provides/allows ratings and reviews of venues, and focuses more on providing value through its rich database than imaginary ownership (I can't think of much more pathetic whining then people getting angry over losing their Starbucks mayorship). It still provides gaming elements, so it will appeal to this crowd, but it also provides real value in the form of user reviews and photos of venues, not just a game based around checking in at multiple bars in one night so you can earn the next badge.

The white label aspect is also a game-changer. Once people get tired of seeing users check in at every possible location (from the hotel to the cab to the restaurant to the movie theater to the bar to the hotel again) in the desperate attempt to climb the leaderboard, they will look for value. This will come in the form of user reviews and more private social sharing, which DoubleDutch allows groups, organizations, and companies to have.

Add your Vote:

Votes on this review: 3 Helpful / 0 Funny / 2 Agree / 0 Disagree

8 reviews!     « Previous  |  Page    of  1  |  Next »

view stats
3.56
average based on 9 ratings